Share Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

Many of our longtime Off the Shelf subscribers have already discovered “Your Shelf” on our website. If you’re new here, you can create your own reading list from books you find on OfftheShelf.com with our “Your Shelf” feature.

To start building “Your Shelf,” simply sign up for an Off the Shelf account. Then, when you see a book you want to add to your reading list, click “Add to Your Shelf” below the book cover, and we’ll save your favorites for you.

These are the 10 “most shelved” books on Off the Shelf right now.


Ohio
by Stephen Markley

Stephen Markley’s debut explores in lyrical prose many of our hot-button topics: financial recession, the opioid crisis, wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, climate change, and increasingly tense racial and political dynamics. One night in summer 2013, four former classmates find themselves together again in their small Ohio town, each haunted and harrowed by the reality of life in our day and age. Murder, drugs, depression, love, and loss will keep you turning the pages of this not-to-miss novel.

Is this debut the next great American novel?

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Ohio
Stephen Markley

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 28, 2019

This Debut Gets My Vote for the Next Great American Novel

By Ana Perez | June 18, 2019

6 Must-Read Novels New in Paperback This June

By Kay Cosgrove | June 10, 2019

Close

The Woman in Cabin 10
by Ruth Ware

A travel writer assigned to review a luxury cruise vacation witnesses a terrifying murder. But all the passengers remain accounted for—and as the ship sails on, she must attempt to convince the other passengers that something has gone terribly, terribly wrong.

These novels will make you rethink your vacation plans.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

The Lost Queen
by Signe Pike

A splendid mix of THE MISTS OF AVALON and your favorite Philippa Gregory novel, THE LOST QUEEN has it all: romance, bloodshed, and betrayal. This thrilling read reveals the untold story of Languoreth—a forgotten queen of sixth-century Scotland and the twin sister of the man who inspired the legend of Merlin.

These book club reads perfect for a day at the beach.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Lost Queen
Signe Pike

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

12 Bonnie Novels That Will Make You Fall in Love with Scotland

By Hannah Schaffer | September 4, 2019

From Ruth Ware to the Hottest Debuts—Here’s What We’re Reading This Summer

By Tolani Osan | July 25, 2019

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 28, 2019

9 Book Club Picks to Enjoy at the Beach This Summer

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 21, 2019

6 Must-Read Novels New in Paperback This June

By Kay Cosgrove | June 10, 2019

Close

The Map of Salt and Stars
by Zeyn Joukhadar

This rich, moving, and lyrical debut novel is the story of two girls living 800 years apart—a modern-day Syrian refugee seeking safety and a medieval adventurer apprenticed to a legendary mapmaker. Placing today's headlines in the sweep of history, where the pain of exile and the triumph of courage echo again and again, THE MAP OF SALT AND STARS is an epic story of one girl telling herself the legend of another and learning that, if you listen to your own voice, some things can never be lost.

This novel is perfect for fans of THE KITE RUNNER.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Map of Salt and Stars
Zeyn Joukhadar

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

14 Bold Novels About Women Everyone Should Read

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 26, 2019

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 28, 2019

Loved THE KITE RUNNER? Read This Timely and Moving Debut

By Ana Perez | June 14, 2019

Close

The Passenger
by Lisa Lutz

With its white-knuckle plot and unforeseeable twists, it’s no wonder Off the Shelf readers consider THE PASSENGER a must-read. After leaving her husband’s body at the base of the stairs, Tanya flees town and meets an ally, Blue, along the way. From heart-stopping escapes to devious deceptions, readers are left to wonder: Can she possibly outrun her past?

Love Megan Miranda? You’ll love these riveting summer thrillers.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Passenger
Lisa Lutz

With its white-knuckled plot and unforeseeable twists, it’s no wonder Off the Shelf readers consider this Lisa Lutz thriller a must-read. After leaving her husband’s body at the base of the stairs, Tanya flees town and meets an ally, Blue, along the way. From heart-stopping escapes and devious deceptions, readers are left to wonder: can she possibly outrun her past?

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 28, 2019

5 Riveting Summer Thrillers for Fans of Megan Miranda

By Elizabeth Breeden | June 17, 2019

We All Go a Little Mad Sometimes: 11 White-Knuckling Hitchockian Reads

By Sarah Jane Abbott | January 3, 2019

Readers’ Choice: The Top 25 Shelved Books of 2017

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 29, 2017

Join Our Book Club and You Could Win 14 of Our Favorite Reads

By Something to Read About | September 5, 2017

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Books on Off the Shelf Right Now

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 16, 2017

Close

The Parting Glass
by Gina Marie Guadagnino

Mary Ballard is Charlotte Walden’s maid—whom she loves with an obsessive passion that goes beyond any servant’s devotion. But Mary’s secrets could ruin her relationship with Charlotte—one of the most sought-after debutantes in nineteenth-century New York. The secrets don’t stop with Mary however, because Charlotte has a secret of her own.

Discover New York City’s past through these historical novels.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Parting Glass
Gina Marie Guadagnino

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

The Downton Abbey TBR: 11 Novels for Aspiring Aristocrats

By Alexandra Carley | September 9, 2019

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 28, 2019

New York, New York!: 10 Historical Novels Set in the Big Apple

By Hannah Schaffer | May 29, 2019

9 Book Club Picks You Must Read This Spring

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 20, 2019

Close

The Never List
by Koethi Zan

Ten years after accepting a cab ride with grave and everlasting consequences, Sarah is still struggling to resume a normal life. When her abductor is up for parole, she decides to confront her phobias. If you love haunted but determined female protagonists, you'll love Koethi Zan's tale of a kidnap survivor unraveling the mystery of her horrifying past.

You won’t see the twists coming in these psychological novels!

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Never List
Koethi Zan

Ten years after accepting a cab ride with grave and everlasting consequences, Sarah is still struggling to resume a normal life. When her abductor is up for parole, she decides to confront her phobias. If you love haunted but determined female protagonists, you'll love Koethi Zan's tale of a kidnap survivor unraveling the mystery of her horrifying past.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 28, 2019

8 Psychological Thrillers With Twists You Won’t See Coming

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 28, 2019

Off the Shelf Turns 5: The Top 10 Reviews of All Time

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 18, 2019

An Up-All-Night Thriller That Holds You Captive

By Sarah Jane Abbott | July 17, 2015

Gone Girl Withdrawal: 11 Books to Read If You Love Gillian Flynn

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 2, 2014

Close

News of the World
by Paulette Jiles

In the aftermath of the Civil War, Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd is offered a 50-dollar gold piece to deliver Johanna, a 10-year-old orphan, to her relatives in San Antonio. In the four years since her parents were killed by a band of Kiowa raiders, Johanna has come to call the Kiowa her family. Arriving in San Antonio after a 400-mile journey back to relatives Johanna doesn't remember, Captain Kidd is forced to make a choice: abandon the girl to her fate or become a kidnapper himself.

This gritty novel about the wild west has lots of heart.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
News of the World
Paulette Jiles

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 28, 2019

A Gritty Novel About the Wild West with Lots of Heart

By Melanie Benjamin | June 5, 2019

Close

Olive Kitteridge
by Elizabeth Strout

At times stern, at times patient, at other times in sad denial, Olive Kitteridge is one of literature’s most complex characters in recent years. This Pulitzer Prize–winning novel offers profound insight into the human condition—its conflicts, its tragedies and joys, and the endurance it requires.

These novels will transport you to the scenic coasts of New England.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Olive Kitteridge
Elizabeth Strout

At times stern, at other times patient, at other times in sad denial, Olive Kitteridge is one of literature’s most complex characters in recent years. This Pulitzer Prize–winning novel offers profound insights into the human condition—its conflicts, its tragedies and joys, and the endurance it requires.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 28, 2019

6 Novels That Perfectly Capture New England

By Lisa Duffy | June 11, 2019

14 Favorite Books on Bestselling Author Jenna Blum’s Bookshelf

By Jenna Blum | June 27, 2018

7 Authors Who Know Life Ain’t No Fairy Tale

By Dr. Michael Bennett and Sarah Bennett | April 20, 2017

Celebrating 100 Years of Pulitzer Prize-Winning Fiction

By Erin Madison | April 12, 2016

Brevity Has Its Advantages: 9 Astounding Short Story Collections

By Susan Perabo | March 7, 2016

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.