Share 5 Riveting Summer Thrillers for Fans of Megan Miranda

5 Riveting Summer Thrillers for Fans of Megan Miranda

Raised in London, Elizabeth graduated with a degree in English from Smith College in 2013. When not reading six different novels at once she can be found Instagramming artisanal pastries and working in the marketing department of Simon & Schuster. Follow her on Instagram: @eliz_bree.  

Here’s the thing: the sun and I are not friends. I’m a very pale, SPF 100 kind of person, I regularly carry baseball caps around with me, and I am constantly looking for shade. So when summer rolls around and everyone packs up for the beach, baseball games in the park, and long outdoor strolls, I pop a vitamin D supplement and head undercover to enjoy the true perk of summer: time to read. And recently I’ve found the best kinds of distraction during the long summer months are suspense thrillers filled with intrigue, secrets, and puzzle-like plots, such as Megan Miranda’s brilliant mystery-told-in-reverse, ALL THE MISSING GIRLS. But if you’ve already read this page-turner, here are a few more suggestions to keep you out of the sun this summer.


The Passenger
by Lisa Lutz

Hours after discovering her husband’s dead body at the base of their stairs, a woman flees town, dyes her hair, and makes a phone call demanding a new identity. As she travels across the country searching for a new safe haven, her backstory and explanations for such drastic actions gradually come to light before she ultimately realizes the truth: no one can hide from themselves forever.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Passenger
Lisa Lutz

With its white-knuckled plot and unforeseeable twists, it’s no wonder Off the Shelf readers consider this Lisa Lutz thriller a must-read. After leaving her husband’s body at the base of the stairs, Tanya flees town and meets an ally, Blue, along the way. From heart-stopping escapes and devious deceptions, readers are left to wonder: can she possibly outrun her past?

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

7 Gripping Travel Thrillers That Will Make You Happy to Staycation

By Holly Claytor | June 10, 2020

11 Books That Are Guaranteed Page-Turners

By Alice Martin | October 21, 2019

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 28, 2019

5 Riveting Summer Thrillers for Fans of Megan Miranda

By Elizabeth Breeden | June 17, 2019

We All Go a Little Mad Sometimes: 11 White-Knuckling Hitchockian Reads

By Sarah Jane Abbott | January 3, 2019

Readers’ Choice: The Top 25 Shelved Books of 2017

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 29, 2017

Close

Final Girls
by Riley Sager

Quincy goes on a cabin vacation with five friends, but returns alone as the only survivor of a horror-movie-esque maniac’s murderous spree. She also returns an unwilling member of the “final girls” club, a media moniker for female survivors of serial killers. Ten years have gone by with the help of therapy, Xanax, and memory repression, but then a fellow “final girl” is discovered dead and another survivor turns up on Quincy’s doorstep with questions about what truly happened that deadly night at the cabin . . .

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Final Girls
Riley Sager

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

5 Riveting Summer Thrillers for Fans of Megan Miranda

By Elizabeth Breeden | June 17, 2019

Close

The Woman in Cabin 10
by Ruth Ware

When a travel journalist receives the assignment of a lifetime, reviewing a luxury cruise journey into the North Sea, she expects plush cabins, gourmet dining, and mingling with elite guests. She doesn’t expect to witness what can only be understood as murder. In this meticulously plotted locked-room classic reminiscent of Agatha Christie, one woman fights paranoia and fear as she investigates the mysteries going on below deck.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Woman in Cabin 10
Ruth Ware

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

5 Ruth Ware Novels That Still Send Chills Down Our Spines

By Holly Claytor | September 3, 2020

7 Gripping Travel Thrillers That Will Make You Happy to Staycation

By Holly Claytor | June 10, 2020

Influential Fiction: 9 Popular Books Our Readers Can’t Get Enough Of

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 14, 2020

Readers’ Choice: Our Top 25 Most Popular Books of the Year!

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 30, 2019

The Best of 2019: The Top 10 Reviews of the Year

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 24, 2019

12 Addictive Reads You Can Finish in a Single Flight

By Danielle Bucco | November 26, 2019

Close

I Found You
by Lisa Jewell

The only thing worse than your husband going missing might be the authorities learning that the man you married has no official record of existence at all. Then a mysterious man is discovered miles away on a windswept beach with no memory of how he arrived. There’s something unexpected connecting these two strange incidents, a secret stemming from a seaside visit made to the same beach town over twenty years earlier—a secret that will change everyone’s lives forever.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
I Found You
Lisa Jewell

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

5 Summery Reads to Pick Up When You’re Sick Of Winter

By Carrie Cabral | March 12, 2020

Readers’ Choice: Our Top 25 Most Popular Books of the Year!

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 30, 2019

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in November

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 29, 2019

11 Books That Are Guaranteed Page-Turners

By Alice Martin | October 21, 2019

5 Riveting Summer Thrillers for Fans of Megan Miranda

By Elizabeth Breeden | June 17, 2019

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.