Share [CLOSED]Enter for a Chance to Win These Poolside Reading Essentials

[CLOSED]Enter for a Chance to Win These Poolside Reading Essentials

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

June is full of BBQs and graduations. August is for family vacations and reunions. But July is for no one but you and your summer reading list. We can think of no better reading spot than right beside the pool (and occasionally in it). Which is why we’re offering one lucky winner the perfect summer reading oasis. Enjoy some quiet “you time” by your pool with these essentials.

You could win:

iPad Mini (64GB) 

Canopy Island Inflatable Lounge

Warby Parker Sunglasses

Acqua Reader

Book Pattern Flip-Flops 

$50 American Express Gift Card

12 Perfect Summer Reads Below…

Fill out my online form.

Stay Up with Hugo Best
by Erin Somers

Hilarious, poignant, and terrifically propulsive, STAY UP WITH HUGO BEST follows June Bloom, an almost-thirty late-night talk show writers’ assistant. When beloved host (and known womanizer) Hugo Best retires, suddenly June is without a job and must return to the unforgiving comedian lifestyle. Desperate for work, June hesitantly takes Hugo up on an invitation to his Greenwich mansion for the long Memorial Day weekend. As the weekend unfolds and the enigmatic Hugo gradually reveals himself, their dynamic proves to be much more complicated and less predictable than she expected.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Stay Up with Hugo Best
Erin Somers

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

[CLOSED]Enter for a Chance to Win These Poolside Reading Essentials

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 9, 2019

Close

When Life Gives You Lululemons
by Lauren Weisberger

WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU LULULEMONS by Lauren Weisberger For fans of the THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA and its cult classic film counterpart, WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU LULULEMONS features Emily Charlton—Miranda Priestly’s first assistant—in the spotlight. In classic Lauren Weisberger style, this daring novel follows three worldly women who trade in their Manolo Blahniks for Birkenstocks in the wealthy New York City suburb of Westport, Connecticut. Read the full review of WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU LULULEMONS.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
When Life Gives You Lululemons
Lauren Weisberger

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close

The Southern Side of Paradise
by Kristy Woodson Harvey

Told with Kristy Woodson Harvey’s signature wit and Southern charm, the newest Peachtree Bluff novel has all the necessary ingredients for a perfect summer read: family secrets and mother-daughter relationships. Perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, this is one novel that should be read poolside with sweet tea in hand.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Southern Side of Paradise
Kristy Woodson Harvey

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

5 Summery Reads to Pick Up When You’re Sick Of Winter

By Carrie Cabral | March 12, 2020

[CLOSED]Enter for a Chance to Win These Poolside Reading Essentials

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 9, 2019

Close

Marriage Vacation
by Pauline Brooks

Written by the estranged wife of the Empirical Press publisher, Charles Brooks, in the hit television show Younger, MARRIAGE VACATION is a revealing and provocative novel about Kate Carmichael, who reconnects with a now successful grad school classmate and decides to take a vacation from marriage to find herself. The definition of an escapist summer read.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Marriage Vacation
Pauline Brooks

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close

I Miss You When I Blink
by Mary Laura Philpott

Mary Laura Philpott ticked all the boxes for a perfect life: job, spouse, house, kids. But instead of feeling content with her happy life, she felt anxious. In I MISS YOU WHEN I BLINK, Philpott examines her work, home, and creative life and the conflicting pressures of adulthood. A charmingly relatable memoir in essays that’ll make see your day-to-day in a new light.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
I Miss You When I Blink
Mary Laura Philpott

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Books to Give to Important Women in Your Life

By Carrie Cabral | December 10, 2019

Books We Like to Give: 10 Reads We’re Excited to Gift This Year

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 2, 2019

11 Breathtaking Quotes in Literature That Will Inspire Your Writing

By Tolani Osan | November 15, 2019

8 Books I Will Never Forget

By Hannah Schaffer | July 18, 2019

[CLOSED]Enter for a Chance to Win These Poolside Reading Essentials

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 9, 2019

10 Books You Can Swap with Mom This Mother’s Day

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 6, 2019

Close

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl
by Issa Rae

Sadly, we will not be enjoying a new season of Insecure this summer. Thankfully, we have Issa Rae’s hilarious memoir in essays to read and reread. In THE MISADVENTURES OF AWKWARD BLACK GIRL, Rae waxes humorously on what it’s like to be unabashedly awkward in a world that regards introverts as hapless misfits and black as cool. Read the full review of THE MISADVENTURES OF AWKWARD BLACK GIRL.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl
Issa Rae

For fans of “Insecure”

Issa Rae is awkward . . . and black, which is, in the opinion of her peers, a very unfortunate combination. This is made plain in her new TV show “Insecure ” and her New York Times bestseller THE MISADVENTURES OF AWKWARD BLACK GIRL. In this memoir-guide hybrid, Issa humorously illuminates what it’s like to be unabashedly awkward in a world that regards introverts as hapless misfits and black as cool.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

The Best Memoirs We’ve Ever Read

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 29, 2019

[CLOSED]Enter for a Chance to Win These Poolside Reading Essentials

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 9, 2019

8 Laugh-Out-Loud Reads to Keep Your Spirits High

By Heather Waters | June 7, 2019

15 Favorites Your Book Club Must Read This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2017

14 Book Recommendations Based On Your Favorite TV Shows

By Tolani Osan | October 24, 2016

Enter for Your Chance to Win 15 Favorite Books from Off the Shelf & Delicious Zabar’s Treats

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 17, 2016

Close

The Night Olivia Fell
by Christina McDonald

When Abi Knight gets a call that her teenaged daughter, Olivia, has fallen off a bridge, she never expects to learn her daughter is brain dead and pregnant. Then she sees the bruises on her daughter’s wrists and is left with even more questions: Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or is there something more sinister at play?

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Night Olivia Fell
Christina McDonald

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in July

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 26, 2019

[CLOSED]Enter for a Chance to Win These Poolside Reading Essentials

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 9, 2019

8 Vacation Reads We’re Digging Into This Summer

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 30, 2019

Close

The Turn of the Key
by Ruth Ware

We would never recommend you go through the summer without a Ruth Ware book, which is why we’re so excited about THE TURN OF THE KEY, Ware’s fifth novel. In this Black Mirror–esque novel, Rowan takes a job as a live-in nanny. When she arrives at Heatherbrae House, she’s initially smitten with the technologically advanced house, but soon the surveillance makes her feel uneasy. Things take an unexpected turn for the worst when one of the children in her care dies and she ends up in prison. The problem is Rowan is innocent, which could only mean the culprit—the murderer—is still out there.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Turn of the Key
Ruth Ware

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close

My Squirrel Days
by Ellie Kemper

As fellow The Office alum and comedian Mindy Kaling says (and we agree): “Ellie is a hilarious and talented writer, although we’ll never know how much of this book the squirrel wrote.” In her collection of essays, Ellie Kemper gives us a behind-the-scenes peek at our favorite shows, like The Office and Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, and shares hilarious anecdotes, like the time she accidentally fell on Doris Kearns Goodwin. This book that will make you fall over with laughter, so you might not want to read it in the pool.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
My Squirrel Days
Ellie Kemper

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

[CLOSED]Enter for a Chance to Win These Poolside Reading Essentials

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 9, 2019

Close

The Outsider
by Stephen King

One of Stephen King’s most propulsive and unsettling stories, THE OUTSIDER follows the investigation of a stranger who becomes another person’s double—and commits horrific acts. If you can’t read through your sunglasses, this audiobook will keep you on the edge of your pool float for hours and hours. Read by Will Patton

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo
The Outsider
Stephen King

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo

MENTIONED IN:

[CLOSED]Enter for a Chance to Win These Poolside Reading Essentials

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 9, 2019

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.