Share 12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

Taylor Noel is a corporate marketing manager at Simon and Schuster. She loves literary fiction and memoirs, but will read any book put in her hands. Taylor shares her book obsessions on Instagram @books_with_taylor.

As much as I love a fun trip somewhere, sometimes all I want to do is hole up at home with a good book. If you’re spending your vacation at home this summer, you’ll need a great read (or 12!) to keep you company. After all, the best part of staycationing is that you don’t have to pack light.


The Perfect Nanny
by Leila Slimani
What parents—especially when kids are home all summer long—haven't dreamed of having the perfect nanny? But this nanny is too good to be true, and when this couple and Louise become increasingly dependent on one another, their idyllic illusion is shattered by rising jealousy, resentment, and suspicions. THE PERFECT NANNY is a smart, compulsive read that you don't want to miss.
The Perfect Nanny
Leila Slimani

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

Dear Mrs. Bird
by AJ Pearce
If you're staycationing alone and looking for some company, I highly recommend Emmy. She's an adventurous young woman living in London during WWII who becomes a secret advice columnist. You'll fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, in this plucky tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.
Dear Mrs. Bird
AJ Pearce

MENTIONED IN:

8 Books to Read If You Love THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY

By Taylor Noel | August 13, 2018

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

Startup
by Doree Shafrir
Keep thoughts of work at bay with this delightful debut novel about a $600 million-dollar app idea and the three people who get caught in the cross fires as things don't go as planned. STARTUP is a highly entertaining novel about youth, ambition, money, and technology's inability to hack human nature.

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

The Debut
by Anita Brookner
I've been saving this book for my staycation since I read an ode to Anita Brookner in the New York Times back in March. THE DEBUT is a flawless novel about a quiet scholar who, at 40 years old, is convinced that literature has ruined her life and that she needs to make a fresh start. Wry, funny, and elegant, this novel is a must-read.
The Debut
Anita Brookner

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

That Kind of Mother
by Rumaan Alam
Oddly enough, Rumaan Alam is the writer of the New York Times piece about Anita Brookner. He's also an incredible novelist with a rare talent for expertly depicting female perspectives. THAT KIND OF MOTHER is a heartfelt and thought-provoking novel about the families we fight to build and those we fight to create.
That Kind of Mother
Rumaan Alam

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

Do Not Become Alarmed
by Maile Meloy
Upset you couldn't make it out of town on your own vacation this summer? Well, you can take comfort in the disaster that is this holiday cruise gone horribly wrong. When two families go ashore for an adventure in Central America, their four children suddenly disappear. DO NOT BECOME ALARMED is a gripping thriller you won't want to put down. Just make sure the kids are somewhere safe before you start reading . . .
Do Not Become Alarmed
Maile Meloy

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in March

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 30, 2018

10 Reese Witherspoon–Approved Books for You and Your Book Club

By Tolani Osan | January 25, 2018

Close

The Gravity of Birds
by Tracy Guzeman
You could (and should) read this book anytime, it doesn't have to be a staycation read. Just make sure you read it, because it's absolutely fantastic. In THE GRAVITY OF BIRDS, an art authenticator and art historian are employed by a reclusive American painter to sell a never-before-seen masterpiece, leading them to discover the devastating secrets left in the wake of a forbidden love affair.
The Gravity of Birds
Tracy Guzeman

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

When Life Gives You Lululemons
by Lauren Weisberger
This is the ultimate staycation read. From New York Times bestselling author of THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA, Lauren Weisberger is back with another dishy, daring novel about three worldly women who trade in their Manolo Blahniks for Birkenstocks in the wealthy New York City suburb of Westport.
When Life Gives You Lululemons
Lauren Weisberger

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Summer Reading Recommendations from Off the Shelf

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 21, 2018

Close

The Dry
by Jane Harper
This is one of the best police procedurals I've ever read. About a small town hiding big secrets, THE DRY follows Federal Agent Aaron Falk as he returns home for the first time in decades to attend his best friend's funeral. But his homecoming only spurs Falk to question what really happened to Luke, and what really happened 20 years ago when Falk himself was accused of murder.

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

12 Tips for How to Read as Many Books as Possible

By Taylor Noel | April 5, 2018

Close

Hot Milk
by Deborah Levy
Sofia, a young anthropologist, has spent much of her life trying to solve the mystery of her mother's unexplainable illness and in a last-ditch effort, takes her mother to the southern coast of Spain to see a famous doctor. But the treatment methods seem to have little to do with traditional medicine, and Sofia's mother's illness becomes increasingly baffling. HOT MILK is gorgeous, profound, vivid, and totally transfixing.

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

A Theory of Love
by Margaret Bradham Thornton
Treat yourself to a beautiful love story during your staycation. Helen and Christopher meet on an island on the west coast of Mexico and are instantly drawn to each other. From their first encounter in Bermeja to marriage in London and travels to places like Saint-Tropez, Tangier, and Santa Clara, Helen and Christopher must decide how much they exist for themselves and how much they exist for each other.
A Theory of Love
Margaret Bradham Thornton

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

Marriage Vacation
by Pauline Brooks
Ever have the desire to just run away from your life? Kate Carmichael has. When Kate attends a wedding and reconnects with successful former graduate school classmates, she suddenly sees her life in a different light. And when the wedding ends, instead of heading home to her husband and family, Kate gets on a plane and flies halfway around the world to clear her head and find herself again. This provocative and gripping novel is perfect for fans of WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE.
Marriage Vacation
Pauline Brooks

MENTIONED IN:

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

A Bookish Guide to the Must-See TV Shows of the Summer

By Tolani Osan | June 26, 2018

10 Books You Should Read if You Love the TV Show “Younger”

By Julianna Haubner | June 5, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.