Share Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

Many of our longtime Off the Shelf subscribers have already discovered “Your Shelf” on our website. If you’re new here, you can create your own reading list from books you find on OfftheShelf.com with our “Your Shelf” feature.

To start building “Your Shelf,” simply sign up for an Off the Shelf account. Then, when you see a book you want to add to your reading list, click “Add to Your Shelf” below the book cover, and we’ll save your favorites for you.

These are the 10 “most shelved” books on Off the Shelf right now.


Dear Mrs. Bird
by AJ Pearce
A charming, irresistible debut set in London during World War II, DEAR MRS. BIRD is the story of plucky Emmy Lake, who dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent but fumbles her way into a job as an assistant to a ferocious advice columnist instead. Her boss is very clear—any letters containing Unpleasantness must go straight to the trash bin—but Emmy is unable to resist responding.

Check out more books for fans of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY & POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY.

Dear Mrs. Bird
AJ Pearce

MENTIONED IN:

Enter for a Chance to Win the Ultimate Book Lovers Prize Pack

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 10, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

8 Books to Read If You Love THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY

By Taylor Noel | August 13, 2018

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

Mrs.
by Caitlin Macy
Coolly elegant Philippa has somehow married the scion of the last family-held investment bank in New York City. Then her childhood friend Gwen Hogan uncovers an explosive secret about Philippa’s single days. When Gwen’s husband, a heavy-drinking obsessive prosecutor in the US Attorney’s Office, stumbles over the connection between Philippa’s past and the criminal investigation he is pursuing at all costs, this insulated society is forced to confront the rot at its core and the price it has paid to survive.

Obsessed with BIG LITTLE LIES? Add these to Your Shelf today!

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

15 Books to Read if You’re Obsessed with BIG LITTLE LIES

By Taylor Noel | February 5, 2018

Close

Why We Came to the City
by Kristopher Jansma
Five years after their college graduation, five friends are just as close as ever while navigating their ever-shifting relationships with each other and the city they live in. But when a devastating revelation blows their realities apart, they are forced to reexamine their lives, aspirations, and paths and do the unthinkable—grow up.

Learn how to book club and get some awesome recommendations.

Why We Came to the City
Kristopher Jansma

I’m a huge fan of what I call “group novels”—books that focus on a few people, usually friends, in a specific place and over a specific period of time. Mary McCarthy, Meg Wolitzer, and Kathleen Alcott are among my favorites, and this past year, Kristopher Jansma joined the fray. Set in New York in the early years of the financial crisis, WHY WE CAME TO THE CITY follows a group of college friends after graduation, and presents some of the most honest and beautiful portraits of relationships I’ve ever read (just read the first chapter—it’s insane). This novel is an unflinching, heartbreaking, and somehow uplifting story about how people change your life as everything else changes around you, and about how a place can do the same. —Julianna

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

How to Pick the Perfect Book Club Book in 7 Steps

By Julianna Haubner | July 30, 2018

We’ll Always Have Brooklyn: 13 Books to Get You Through Your Post-“Girls” Funk

By Julianna Haubner | June 13, 2017

10 Books We Can’t (and Won’t) Stop Talking About

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 4, 2017

Close

Big Magic
by Elizabeth Gilbert
In BIG MAGIC, Elizabeth Gilbert shares her wisdom and unique perspective about creativity. With profound empathy and radiant generosity, she offers potent insights into the mysterious nature of inspiration and how to live our most creative lives.

Read these books to calm down and decompress.

Big Magic
Elizabeth Gilbert

On Wendy’s wish list

I would like to start my new year with a shot of creativity and write more than email in 2017. Elizabeth Gilbert’s curious and compassionate exploration of creativity is just the inspiration I’m looking for.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

The 5 Best Books to Help You Calm Down and Decompress

By Stu Smith | August 8, 2018

12 Books on Our Literary Wish Lists This Year

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 19, 2016

11 Books to Read While You Wait for Oprah’s Memoir

By Erica Nelson | April 5, 2016

7 Books to Help You Reorganize, Reinvent, and Rejuvenate

By Emma Volk | October 6, 2015

Close

The Incendiaries
by R. O. Kwon
THE INCENDIARIES is a brilliant, utterly captivating novel about a glamorous young woman, who secretly blames herself for her mother’s death, and the young man who falls in love with her. When Phoebe is vulnerable, she is drawn into a religious group and extremist cult, while Will struggles to confront the beliefs he’s tried to escape and the obsession consuming the person he loves.

These books explore the enigma of cult life.

The Incendiaries
R. O. Kwon

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

10 Books About Life in a Cult

By Taylor Noel | August 9, 2018

Close

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls
by David Sedaris
David Sedaris is the master of layering tiny details and hilarious turns of phrase into his true tales, which means no matter how often you read them, something new will always catch your eye. How many times would you have to read one of his collections before there’s nothing left to discover?

Get more book recommendations from author and bookseller, Mary Laura Philpott.

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls
David Sedaris

When a bedbug scare leads to a mass burning of the prison library’s books, the inmates memorialize the lost tomes. These include, in Poussey’s words, “All the David Sedarises.” His newest laugh-out-loud funny book is sure to be missed.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

A Bookseller Recommends 6 Books You’ll Want to Read Again and Again

By Mary Laura Philpott | August 20, 2018

Piper’s Prison Book Club: 10 Books from Orange Is the New Black

By Hilary Krutt | July 28, 2015

Close

Spook
by Mary Roach
Mary Roach brings her astute reporting skills and snarky sense of humor to the topic of death in SPOOK. Although, she admits right away that she's attempting a scientific deep dive into a phenomenon that's virtually impossible to prove, Roach's stories of scientists, mediums, philosophers, and others all trying to prove (or disprove) the existence of an afterlife make for a charming and thought-provoking book.

Holy forking shirt balls! This reading list for The Good Place fans is to die for.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

5 Books to Die For: A Reading List for Fans of “The Good Place”

By Lara Blackman | August 14, 2018

18 Striking First Lines to Start 2018

By Kerry Fiallo | January 1, 2018

Close

Where Are the Children?
by Mary Higgins Clark
Nancy Harmon fled the heartbreak of her first marriage when she was accused of murdering her two children. She changed her name, dyed her hair, and fled to Cape Cod to begin a new life. Her heart is finally beginning to mend with the help of her new husband and beloved son and daughter. But the shadowy presence of her past refuses to let go, and one morning Nancy discovers the nightmare beginning again.

Discover more must-read novels from The Queen of Suspense, Mary Higgins Clark.

Where Are the Children?
Mary Higgins Clark

“My grandmother read every one of Clark’s novels, but I could see why she kept WHERE ARE THE CHILDREN? It is classic spine-tingling suspense; even David Foster Wallace kept a copy in his personal library and taught it in fiction classes at Illinois State University.”

Read Elizabeth Breeden’s review here.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

10 Mary Higgins Clark Suspense Novels You Cannot Miss

By Elizabeth Breeden | December 22, 2017

It’s Our Birthday!

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 22, 2016

The Best Books Are Meant to Be Shared

By Elizabeth Breeden | November 16, 2015

Close

Code Girls
by Liza Mundy
Discover the overlooked heroines of World War II with this fun and addictive exploration of the thousands of women who worked as codebreakers. With their crucial efforts, the war was shortened and countless lives saved, but the intense secrecy of their work prevented them from getting their due—until now. CODE GIRLS is a vivid and inspirational work that can inspire a new generation of young women in the intelligence field.

Head back to school with these books that will open your mind.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

Head Back to School with These 10 Books That Will Open Your Mind

By Kerry Fiallo | August 6, 2018

Close

Etta and Otto and Russell and James
by Emma Hooper
This quiet novel moves from the hot and dry present of a quiet Canadian farm to a dusty, burnt past of hunger, war, and passion; from trying to remember to trying to forget. It is an astounding literary debut of unlikely heroes, lifelong promises, and last great adventures.

Fan of A MAN CALLED OVE? Read these books next.

Etta and Otto and Russell and James
Emma Hooper

This quiet novel moves from the hot and dry present of a quiet Canadian farm to a dusty, burnt past of hunger, war, and passion; from trying to remember to trying to forget. It is an astounding literary debut of unlikely heroes, lifelong promises, and last great adventures.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

You Have to Read This Transporting and Vivid Novel

By Elizabeth Breeden | August 7, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win 15 Vacation Reads and Summer Essentials to Kick Off the Season!

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 24, 2018

13 Books to Read After A MAN CALLED OVE

By Arielle Kane | November 25, 2016

11 Unconventional Love Stories to Set Your Heart Pitter-Pattering

By Erica Nelson | February 11, 2016

Enter to Win These 12 Fall Book Club Favorites

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 29, 2015

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.