Share 5 Books to Die For: A Reading List for Fans of “The Good Place”

5 Books to Die For: A Reading List for Fans of “The Good Place”

Lara Blackman is an assistant editor at Touchstone. She graduated from New York University and shares her favorite books on Instagram at @larabee_reads.

What happens after you die? Do you wake up in a waiting room, walk into Ted Danson’s office and learn that all your good deeds on earth earned you a spot in an everlasting utopia? Probably not, but this premise of NBC’s The Good Place sets up a thoughtful and hilarious journey through an imagined version of heaven. The brilliance of the show is that it takes a topic—the afterlife—that’s usually so warped by fear and divisive religious rhetoric, but presents it in an approachable, totally charming way. Here are five books that do the same.


The Immortalists
by Chloe Benjamin
If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life? In the first scene of this novel, four siblings in New York City visit an elusive psychic who tells them the exact dates they will die. The novel's four sections follow each of them later in their lives as they react to this information in radically different ways and exposes all the complicated ways our mortality affects our beliefs, our ambitions, and our relationships with the people we love. The unique structure and lovable characters will stay with you.
The Immortalists
Chloe Benjamin

MENTIONED IN:

5 Books to Die For: A Reading List for Fans of “The Good Place”

By Lara Blackman | August 14, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in July

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 27, 2018

6 of Alice Hoffman’s Favorite Books of the Year

By Alice Hoffman | July 3, 2018

9 Books That Completely Blew Our Minds

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 19, 2018

Close

The Afterlives
by Thomas Pierce
After a heart attack, Jim Byrd is declared clinically dead. Five minutes later, he wakes up, deeply unsettled by how unremarkable the whole occasion was: no white light, no angels, no "good place" or "bad place" to be found. Could it be that this is all there is on the other side—a never-ending, dreamless sleep? Jim's life goes on, but gets weirder and weirder as he continues to grapple with this question. Through the course of this entertaining and beautifully written novel, we encounter ghosts, holograms, mediums, and a machine that may or may not connect the living to the dead. THE AFTERLIVES is so much fun that you may not even notice your ideas about loss, love, and mortality being challenged with every passing scene.
The Afterlives
Thomas Pierce

MENTIONED IN:

5 Books to Die For: A Reading List for Fans of “The Good Place”

By Lara Blackman | August 14, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in July

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 27, 2018

9 Books That Completely Blew Our Minds

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 19, 2018

Close

Spook
by Mary Roach
Mary Roach brings her astute reporting skills and snarky sense of humor to the topic of death in SPOOK. She admits right away that she's attempting a scientific deep dive into a phenomenon that's virtually impossible to prove: "This is a book for people who would like very much to believe in a soul and in an afterlife for it to hang around in, but who have trouble accepting these things on faith. It's a giggly, random, utterly earthbound assault on our most ponderous unanswered question." But even so, Roach's stories of scientists, mediums, philosophers, and others all trying to prove (or disprove) the existence of an afterlife make for a charming and thought-provoking book.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

5 Books to Die For: A Reading List for Fans of “The Good Place”

By Lara Blackman | August 14, 2018

18 Striking First Lines to Start 2018

By Kerry Fiallo | January 1, 2018

Close

Playing Dead
by Elizabeth Greenwood
PLAYING DEAD is a brand-new take on "escapist" reading. Elizabeth Greenwood, facing six figures of student loan debt, investigates what it would take to escape once and for all by faking her own death. This eye-opening read is full of bizarre stories of "pseudocide" gone awry, consultants who specialize in making people disappear, and conspiracy theorists who swear that Michael Jackson is still alive. By investigating this phenomenon, Greenwood shines a light on some of those weird, death-related thoughts that lurk in the dark corners of our minds (who'd show up at my funeral?) with wit and creativity, just like The Good Place does.

Read the full review of PLAYING DEAD.
Playing Dead
Elizabeth Greenwood

MENTIONED IN:

5 Books to Die For: A Reading List for Fans of “The Good Place”

By Lara Blackman | August 14, 2018

An Addictive, Insightful Book About How to Fake Your Own Death

By Lara Blackman | May 18, 2018

14 Back-to-School Reads for Life-Long Learners

By Kerry Fiallo | September 14, 2017

Close

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
by Caitlin Doughty
Like Elizabeth Greenwood, Caitlin Doughty takes her morbid curiosity to the next level when in her midtwenties she starts working at a crematorium. SMOKE GETS IN YOUR EYES details her journey through the little-known world of the death industry, and it's completely fascinating—a must read for anyone who's ever wondered how many dead bodies you could fit in a Dodge van. But Doughty isn't satisfied with a simple show-and-tell of her unusual profession: she makes a strong case for discussing death openly and honestly, for not letting our fear of the end of our lives so deeply and adversely affect our time living them.
Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
Caitlin Doughty

Why would anyone choose to become a mortician? Caitlin Doughty explains in her hands-on, candid, often-humorous romp through her employment in a crematorium. If you’ve wondered what happens when a body is cremated, Caitlin will set you straight, and also give you myriad macabre conversation-starters for your next cocktail party.

MENTIONED IN:

5 Books to Die For: A Reading List for Fans of “The Good Place”

By Lara Blackman | August 14, 2018

5 Books to Read if You’re a Murderino Who Loves All Things True Crime

By Elizabeth Breeden | July 5, 2018

18 Striking First Lines to Start 2018

By Kerry Fiallo | January 1, 2018

11 Fascinating Books to Help Us Talk About Death and Dying

By Allison Tyler | October 22, 2015

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.