Share Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

Many of our longtime Off the Shelf subscribers have already discovered “Your Shelf” on our website. If you’re new here, you can create your own reading list from books you find on OfftheShelf.com with our “Your Shelf” feature.

To start building “Your Shelf,” simply sign up for an Off the Shelf account. Then, when you see a book you want to add to your reading list, click “Add to Your Shelf” below the book cover, and we’ll save your favorites for you.

These are the 10 “most shelved” books on Off the Shelf right now.


Are You Sleeping
by Kathleen Barber
You won’t be getting much sleep after reading this twisty psychological thriller in the vein of Serial and Ruth Ware's IN A DARK, DARK WOOD. A reporter’s wildly popular podcast reopens a murder case, threatening to expose the secrets the victim’s daughter has hidden beneath the surface of her new life. Reunited with her estranged twin sister, and once again swept up in the lies and terrors of her past, Josie Burhman finds herself at the center of a national obsession.
Are You Sleeping
Kathleen Barber

MENTIONED IN:

5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

By Tolani Osan | March 14, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

10 Reese Witherspoon–Approved Books for You and Your Book Club

By Tolani Osan | January 25, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win a Year’s Worth of Book Club Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 16, 2018

The 5 Best Books I’ve Read This Month

By Meagan Harris | November 8, 2017

Close

The Bookman's Tale
by Charlie Lovett
After the death of his beloved wife, Amanda, Peter Byerly relocates from North Carolina to the English countryside, hoping to outrun his grief and rediscover the joy he once took in collecting and restoring rare books. But upon opening an eighteenth-century study of Shakespeare forgeries, he discovers a Victorian watercolor of a woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Amanda. THE BOOKMAN’S TALE is a delightful exploration of one of literature’s most tantalizing mysteries.
The Bookman's Tale
Charlie Lovett

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

12 More Books About Books for Big Book Nerds

By Taylor Noel | January 22, 2018

Close

Everything You Want Me to Be
by Mindy Mejia

Full of twists and turns, EVERYTHING YOU WANT ME TO BE reconstructs a year in the life of a dangerously mesmerizing young woman, during which a small town’s darkest secrets come to the forefront . . . and she inches closer and closer to her death.

Read the full review of EVERYTHING YOU WANT ME TO BE.

Everything You Want Me to Be
Mindy Mejia

Full of twists and turns, EVERYTHING YOU WANT ME TO BE reconstructs a year in the life of a dangerously mesmerizing young woman, during which a small town’s darkest secrets come to the forefront . . . and she inches closer and closer to her death.

Read our review of EVERYTHING YOU WANT ME TO BE here.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 25 Shelved Books of 2017

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 29, 2017

The 10 Most Popular Reviews on Off the Shelf in 2017

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 18, 2017

Readers’ Choice: The 13 Best Books on Off the Shelf in 2017 (So Far)

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 31, 2017

Happy Birthday to Us, Happy Reading to You: 13 Books We’re Giving Away

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 20, 2017

A Gripping Read That Brings New Meaning to the Word “Unputdownable”

By David Brown | January 25, 2017

Close

In the Midst of Winter
by Isabel Allende
IN THE MIDST OF WINTER begins with a minor traffic accident, which becomes the catalyst for an unexpected and moving love story between two people who thought they were deep into the winter of their lives. Exploring the timely issues of human rights and the plight of immigrants and refugees, this emotional novel recalls Allende’s landmark novel THE HOUSE OF THE SPIRITS.
In the Midst of Winter
Isabel Allende

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win a Year’s Worth of Book Club Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 16, 2018

15 Favorites Your Book Club Must Read This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2017

Close

The Antiques
by Kris D'Agostino

A family reunites after the death of its patriarch just as a hurricane tears through town in Kris D’Agostino’s second novel, THE ANTIQUES. D’Agostino has a gift for making family drama compelling on the page, and the Westfalls are no strangers to dysfunction. Complete with an irresistible plot and deeply flawed, affectionately rendered characters, THE ANTIQUES is a laugh-out-loud funny send-up of modern family life.

Read the full review of THE ANTIQUES.

The Antiques
Kris D'Agostino

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

15 Favorites Your Book Club Must Read This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2017

The Laugh-Out-Loud Funny Family Drama I Can Give to Any Reader

By Taylor Noel | December 14, 2017

Close

The Bright Hour
by Nina Riggs

Brilliantly written, disarmingly funny, and deeply moving, this exquisite memoir by a woman who was diagnosed with breast cancer when she was 37 is a gentle reminder how to live and love every day.

Read the full review of THE BRIGHT HOUR.

The Bright Hour
Nina Riggs

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

An Emotional Memoir That Will Make You Less Afraid of Dying

By Taylor Noel | February 6, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win a Year’s Worth of Book Club Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 16, 2018

The 10 Best Books We Read in 2017

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 5, 2018

In Memoriam: 14 Authors We Lost Too Soon in 2017

By Sarah Jane Abbott | December 28, 2017

Holiday Gift Ideas and Book Recommendations from Off the Shelf

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 2, 2017

Close

The Scribe of Siena
by Melodie Winawer

Accomplished neurosurgeon Beatrice Trovato has always been fascinated by medieval Siena—but she never imagined she could literally find herself there. A perfect read for long winter nights, THE SCRIBE OF SIENA is an unexpected, dangerous love story that fans of OUTLANDER and THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE will devour.

Read the full review of SCRIBE OF SIENA.

The Scribe of Siena
Melodie Winawer

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

Fall in Love with the Past in this Novel Perfect for OUTLANDER Fans

By Julianna Haubner | January 30, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win a Year’s Worth of Book Club Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 16, 2018

Close

The Bookshop on the Corner
by Jenny Colgan
Nina is an excellent librarian and literary matchmaker. Or she was before she lost her job. Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van, transforms it into a bookmobile, and drives it from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling. Nina discovers there’s plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that’s beginning to feel like home . . . a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending
The Bookshop on the Corner
Jenny Colgan

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

12 More Books About Books for Big Book Nerds

By Taylor Noel | January 22, 2018

18 Striking First Lines to Start 2018

By Kerry Fiallo | January 1, 2018

Close

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
by Gail Honeyman
Meet Eleanor Oliphant: She struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she’s thinking. Everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the bumbling and deeply unhygienic IT guy from her office. Smart, warm, uplifting, this is the story of an out-of-the-ordinary heroine who realizes the only way to survive is to open your heart.
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
Gail Honeyman

Close

The Portable Veblen
by Elizabeth McKenzie
This quirky, often hilarious novel offers romantic comedy and critique of contemporary American society. Veblen and her fiancé, Paul, must come to terms with their complicated relationships with their families, Veblen’s affinity for a particularly expressive squirrel who takes residence in her attic, and their own differing hopes for the future.
The Portable Veblen
Elizabeth McKenzie

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

6 Recommended Reads from a Small Town Library

By Allison Tyler | January 24, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.