5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

March 14 2018
Share 5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

It’s been almost three years since we first met Jessica Jones (played by Krysten Ritter)—a liquor-guzzling private investigator from Hell’s Kitchen with super-human strength and a mean streak that would put the fear of God into some of the toughest gangsters of New York City’s streets. Since the first season of Marvel’s Jessica Jones, Jones appeared in The Defenders and joined a vigilante team of her supernaturally-gifted ilk—including a blind ninja with heightened senses, a bulletproof bartender with a calling for activism, and an NYC heir with an iron fist.

We’re so excited to meet up with Jessica Jones for the second season of the Netflix series, but her life has completely changed! After the catastrophic events of The Defenders, the loss of a dear friend, and a new worldview, Jones is attempting to get back to her PI business, which she may find difficult. Because Jones is one of my favorite TV PIs, I’d like to offer her some inspiration from my very own bookshelf. Here are my favorite literary sleuths of whom Jessica Jones would certainly approve.

Bonfire
by Krysten Ritter

As the star of Jessica Jones, Krysten Ritter knows a thing or two about sleuthing. In Ritter’s debut thriller BONFIRE, Abby Williams has detective skills that would certainly impress Jessica. Abby returns to the small town life she left behind years ago to investigate Optimal Plastics, the town’s most high-profile company and economic heart. When she begins to find strange connections to her hometown’s biggest scandal from more than a decade ago, Abby is swept up into a mess of a mystery—unearthing secrets, reliving troubling memories, and exposing a darkness that may consume her.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Bonfire
Krysten Ritter

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

5 Perfect Summer Book Club Reads By Jennifer Weiner

By Holly Claytor | April 20, 2021

8 Books About Books for Booklovers

By Alexandra Boelsterli | April 19, 2021

My Bridgerton TBR List: 7 Tantalizing Historical Love Stories

By Saimah Haque | April 16, 2021

8 Cathartic Books That Had Us Crying By Chapter One

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2021

If You Love Kristin Hannah, Read These 6 Books Next

By Heather Waters | April 14, 2021

5 Dynamic Book Club Picks Recommended by Author Tif Marcelo

By Tif Marcelo | April 13, 2021

Close
Land of Shadows
by Rachel Howzell Hall

Like Jessica, Detective Elouise “Lou” Norton is the kind of detective whose relentless pursuit of the truth often lands in her in a heap of trouble. In the first of the Detective Elouise Norton series, Lou is not buying the suspicious suicide of a 17-year-old girl and suspects foul play. Things get personal when Lou thinks the man who may have murdered her missing sister, Tori, 30 years ago, is at it again. Finding undeniable links between the two cases, Lou is gets closer and closer to uncovering the truth…and becoming the next victim.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Land of Shadows
Rachel Howzell Hall

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

5 Perfect Summer Book Club Reads By Jennifer Weiner

By Holly Claytor | April 20, 2021

8 Books About Books for Booklovers

By Alexandra Boelsterli | April 19, 2021

My Bridgerton TBR List: 7 Tantalizing Historical Love Stories

By Saimah Haque | April 16, 2021

8 Cathartic Books That Had Us Crying By Chapter One

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2021

If You Love Kristin Hannah, Read These 6 Books Next

By Heather Waters | April 14, 2021

5 Dynamic Book Club Picks Recommended by Author Tif Marcelo

By Tif Marcelo | April 13, 2021

Close
Are You Sleeping
by Kathleen Barber

Jessica’s best friend Trish Walker, former child star turned successful radio talk show host, finds herself in danger due to the controversial things she says on air. For fans of Trish, ARE YOU SLEEPING is the perfect mystery to dive into. This Serial-esque novel centers on Josie Burhman, whose quiet life is turned upside down when a wildly popular podcast reopens the long-closed case of Josie’s father’s murder. Reunited with her estranged twin sister, and once again swept up in the lies and terrors of her past, Josie finds herself at the center of a national obsession.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Are You Sleeping
Kathleen Barber

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

5 Perfect Summer Book Club Reads By Jennifer Weiner

By Holly Claytor | April 20, 2021

8 Books About Books for Booklovers

By Alexandra Boelsterli | April 19, 2021

My Bridgerton TBR List: 7 Tantalizing Historical Love Stories

By Saimah Haque | April 16, 2021

8 Cathartic Books That Had Us Crying By Chapter One

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2021

If You Love Kristin Hannah, Read These 6 Books Next

By Heather Waters | April 14, 2021

5 Dynamic Book Club Picks Recommended by Author Tif Marcelo

By Tif Marcelo | April 13, 2021

Close
Charm City
by Laura Lippman

When a reputation-damaging story on a business tycoon leaks at the “Baltimore Beacon-Light,” PI Tess Monaghan is called to investigate but soon, a possible murder is on the table. The business tycoon, Wink, is found dead of apparent suicide and Tess is convinced that someone with an axe to grind wanted him gone. Can Tess get to the bottom of this mystery before the killer comes for her? CHARM CITY is the perfect read for fans who love the noir-ish cityscape atmosphere of Jessica Jones.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Charm City
Laura Lippman

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

5 Perfect Summer Book Club Reads By Jennifer Weiner

By Holly Claytor | April 20, 2021

8 Books About Books for Booklovers

By Alexandra Boelsterli | April 19, 2021

My Bridgerton TBR List: 7 Tantalizing Historical Love Stories

By Saimah Haque | April 16, 2021

8 Cathartic Books That Had Us Crying By Chapter One

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2021

If You Love Kristin Hannah, Read These 6 Books Next

By Heather Waters | April 14, 2021

5 Dynamic Book Club Picks Recommended by Author Tif Marcelo

By Tif Marcelo | April 13, 2021

Close
A Study In Scarlet Women
by Sherry Thomas

Jessica Jones and Charlotte Holmes are both no-nonsense heroines hardened by the mean streets—Jessica in Hell’s Kitchen, Charlotte in Victorian-era London. Also like Jessica, Charlotte is a social pariah who can’t be bothered with the demureness expected of the “fairer sex.” When the city is struck by a trio of unexpected deaths and suspicion falls on her father and sister, Charlotte is desperate to find the true culprits and clear the family name. It will be up to her, under the assumed name Sherlock Holmes, to challenge society’s expectations and match wits against an unseen mastermind.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
A Study In Scarlet Women
Sherry Thomas

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

5 Perfect Summer Book Club Reads By Jennifer Weiner

By Holly Claytor | April 20, 2021

8 Books About Books for Booklovers

By Alexandra Boelsterli | April 19, 2021

My Bridgerton TBR List: 7 Tantalizing Historical Love Stories

By Saimah Haque | April 16, 2021

8 Cathartic Books That Had Us Crying By Chapter One

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2021

If You Love Kristin Hannah, Read These 6 Books Next

By Heather Waters | April 14, 2021

5 Dynamic Book Club Picks Recommended by Author Tif Marcelo

By Tif Marcelo | April 13, 2021

Close

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.