Share 5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

Tolani Osan is a Marketing Associate at Simon & Schuster.  A daughter of Nigerian immigrants, Tolani enjoys literary fiction about the tensions between cultures and classes. Her favorite book is Khaled Hosseini’s “A Thousand Splendid Suns,” which she’s made a pact with herself to revisit every three years. She also founded and runs her own blog, TolanisLifeLessons.com. You can enjoy her musings about pop culture, fashion, and literature on Twitter @TolaniHerself.  

It’s been almost three years since we first met Jessica Jones (played by Krysten Ritter)—a liquor-guzzling private investigator from Hell’s Kitchen with super-human strength and a mean streak that would put the fear of God into some of the toughest gangsters of New York City’s streets. Since the first season of Marvel’s Jessica Jones, Jones appeared in The Defenders and joined a vigilante team of her supernaturally-gifted ilk—including a blind ninja with heightened senses, a bulletproof bartender with a calling for activism, and an NYC heir with an iron fist.

We’re so excited to meet up with Jessica Jones for the second season of the Netflix series, but her life has completely changed! After the catastrophic events of The Defenders, the loss of a dear friend, and a new worldview, Jones is attempting to get back to her PI business, which she may find difficult. Because Jones is one of my favorite TV PIs, I’d like to offer her some inspiration from my very own bookshelf. Here are my favorite literary sleuths of whom Jessica Jones would certainly approve.


Bonfire
by Krysten Ritter
As the star of Jessica Jones, Krysten Ritter knows a thing or two about sleuthing. In Ritter’s debut thriller BONFIRE, Abby Williams has detective skills that would certainly impress Jessica. Abby returns to the small town life she left behind years ago to investigate Optimal Plastics, the town’s most high-profile company and economic heart. When she begins to find strange connections to her hometown’s biggest scandal from more than a decade ago, Abby is swept up into a mess of a mystery—unearthing secrets, reliving troubling memories, and exposing a darkness that may consume her.

MENTIONED IN:

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

By Tolani Osan | March 14, 2018

Close

Land of Shadows
by Rachel Howzell Hall
Like Jessica, Detective Elouise “Lou” Norton is the kind of detective whose relentless pursuit of the truth often lands in her in a heap of trouble. In the first of the Detective Elouise Norton series, Lou is not buying the suspicious suicide of a 17-year-old girl and suspects foul play. Things get personal when Lou thinks the man who may have murdered her missing sister, Tori, 30 years ago, is at it again. Finding undeniable links between the two cases, Lou is gets closer and closer to uncovering the truth…and becoming the next victim.
Land of Shadows
Rachel Howzell Hall

MENTIONED IN:

5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

By Tolani Osan | March 14, 2018

Close

Are You Sleeping
by Kathleen Barber
Jessica’s best friend Trish Walker, former child star turned successful radio talk show host, finds herself in danger due to the controversial things she says on air. For fans of Trish, ARE YOU SLEEPING is the perfect mystery to dive into. This Serial-esque novel centers on Josie Burhman, whose quiet life is turned upside down when a wildly popular podcast reopens the long-closed case of Josie’s father’s murder. Reunited with her estranged twin sister, and once again swept up in the lies and terrors of her past, Josie finds herself at the center of a national obsession.
Are You Sleeping
Kathleen Barber

MENTIONED IN:

5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

By Tolani Osan | March 14, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

10 Reese Witherspoon–Approved Books for You and Your Book Club

By Tolani Osan | January 25, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win a Year’s Worth of Book Club Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 16, 2018

The 5 Best Books I’ve Read This Month

By Meagan Harris | November 8, 2017

Close

Charm City
by Laura Lippman
When a reputation-damaging story on a business tycoon leaks at the “Baltimore Beacon-Light,” PI Tess Monaghan is called to investigate but soon, a possible murder is on the table. The business tycoon, Wink, is found dead of apparent suicide and Tess is convinced that someone with an axe to grind wanted him gone. Can Tess get to the bottom of this mystery before the killer comes for her? CHARM CITY is the perfect read for fans who love the noir-ish cityscape atmosphere of Jessica Jones.
Charm City
Laura Lippman

MENTIONED IN:

5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

By Tolani Osan | March 14, 2018

Close

A Study In Scarlet Women
by Sherry Thomas
Jessica Jones and Charlotte Holmes are both no-nonsense heroines hardened by the mean streets—Jessica in Hell’s Kitchen, Charlotte in Victorian-era London. Also like Jessica, Charlotte is a social pariah who can’t be bothered with the demureness expected of the “fairer sex.” When the city is struck by a trio of unexpected deaths and suspicion falls on her father and sister, Charlotte is desperate to find the true culprits and clear the family name. It will be up to her, under the assumed name Sherlock Holmes, to challenge society’s expectations and match wits against an unseen mastermind.
A Study In Scarlet Women
Sherry Thomas

MENTIONED IN:

5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

By Tolani Osan | March 14, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.