Share 6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

Meagan Harris is the assistant director of publicity for the Gallery Books and Scout Press imprints of Simon & Schuster. Transplanted from the west coast in 2011, she always has a book in her bag and prefers reading in an armchair with her dog Pepper at her feet. Or on a beach in the sun. Or in the park. It doesn’t really matter where, actually.

Summer often feels like the beginning of reading season. I find I get asked for book recommendations more during these fleeting months than during the rest of the year. Everyone seems eager to add a paperback to their packing list for vacations, weekend trips, or nice days in the park. This month has a plethora of fantastic new paperback releases, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.


My Absolute Darling
by Gabriel Tallent
This debut novel is a profoundly moving story told with extraordinary language. Turtle Alveston is a survivor. At 14, she lives an isolated life with her tortured and charismatic father. Since the death of her mother, her social existence is limited to her school and her father. When Turtle meets Jacob, a young boy who is enthralled with her, she starts to imagine a life beyond her confines. Readers will watch as this teenage girl fights to become her own hero. With a backdrop of the northern California coast, this urgently told novel is extraordinary.
My Absolute Darling
Gabriel Tallent

Close

The Visitors
by Catherine Burns
If you're looking for a dark, twisty, atmospheric novel this summer, look no further than Catherine Burns' debut THE VISITORS. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware, this is the story of Marion Zetland. Marion lives with her domineering older brother John in a decaying Georgian townhouse, and does her best to shut out the shocking secret he keeps in the cellar. When John suddenly has a heart attack, Marion is forced to go down to the cellar herself and face the gruesome truth that her brother has kept hidden. This novel is haunting and sinister, with a twist you won't see coming.
The Visitors
Catherine Burns

MENTIONED IN:

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

10 Spooky Literary Locations to Spend Your Halloween

By Kerry Fiallo | October 31, 2017

Close

Manhattan Beach
by Jennifer Egan
MANHATTAN BEACH is Jennifer Egan's first historical fiction, but you wouldn't know it from reading these dazzling, propulsive pages. When Anna Kerrigan is 12 years old, she accompanies her father to visit Dexter Styles, and notices some charged mystery between the two men. Years pass, her father has disappeared, and the country is at war. Anna becomes one of the first women to work at the Brooklyn Naval Yard, where women are allowed to hold jobs that once belonged to men, now that they're all fighting in Europe and the Pacific. When she unexpectedly meets Dexter Styles again, she begins to understand the complexity of her father's life and the reasons he might have vanished. This is a magnificent exploration of a transformative moment in America's history.

Read the full review of MANHATTAN BEACH.

Manhattan Beach
Jennifer Egan

MENTIONED IN:

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

Summer Reading Recommendations from Off the Shelf

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 21, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win 15 Vacation Reads and Summer Essentials to Kick Off the Season!

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 24, 2018

When One of Your Favorite Authors Tries Something New

By Ashley Gilliam | April 9, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in January

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 26, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win a Year’s Worth of Book Club Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 16, 2018

Close

The Rules of Magic
by Alice Hoffman
For anyone who, like me, was completely hooked by the book (and film) PRACTICAL MAGIC, Alice Hoffman's latest novel is a must-read. THE RULES OF MAGIC is the prequel to PRACTICAL MAGIC, and takes us back to when Franny and Jet were children growing up in 1960s New York with a love curse looming over them. In this illuminating prequel we watch Franny, Jet and Vincent grow up, at first forbidden from magic, and then embracing it after a stay with their Aunt Isabelle in that infamous house in the small Massachusetts town. The two beautiful sisters will grow up to be the memorable aunts in PRACTICAL MAGIC, while Vincent, their beloved brother, will leave an unexpected legacy. This is ultimately a thrilling, irresistible story about being true to oneself.
The Rules of Magic
Alice Hoffman

MENTIONED IN:

10 of the Best Books We’ve Read So Far This Year

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 16, 2018

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

10 Reese Witherspoon–Approved Books for You and Your Book Club

By Tolani Osan | January 25, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win a Year’s Worth of Book Club Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 16, 2018

24 Books for the Hard-to-Shop-For Person on Your List

By Aimee Boyer | December 11, 2017

Holiday Gift Ideas and Book Recommendations from Off the Shelf

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 2, 2017

Close

Bonfire
by Krysten Ritter
Abby Williams leaves her small town of Barrens, Indiana and never thinks she'll go back. Working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has the life she thought she wanted. But when a case takes her back home, Abby's investigation turns up strange links to Barrens' biggest scandal from years ago—involving her close friends and the popular Kaycee Mitchell—just before Kaycee disappeared for good. BONFIRE is full of slow-burning suspense, and Krysten Ritter writes Barrens as a perfectly claustrophobic small town that keeps getting smaller.

MENTIONED IN:

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

By Tolani Osan | March 14, 2018

Close

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
by Gail Honeyman
If you follow Reese Witherspoon's book club picks, you likely saw this humorous novel on her list when it came out in hardcover. Eleanor Oliphant is fine, and she never thought life should be anything other than just that: fine. She struggles with social skills and has carefully structured her life in a way so as to avoid social interactions. When a chance encounter with Raymond, the bumbling IT tech from her office sets her world spinning, they rescue one another from their own isolated lives. This is a smartly-written, deadpan-funny, irresistibly warm novel.
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
Gail Honeyman

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.