Share 6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

Meagan Harris is the assistant director of publicity for the Gallery Books and Scout Press imprints of Simon & Schuster. Transplanted from the west coast in 2011, she always has a book in her bag and prefers reading in an armchair with her dog Pepper at her feet. Or on a beach in the sun. Or in the park. It doesn’t really matter where, actually.

Summer often feels like the beginning of reading season. I find I get asked for book recommendations more during these fleeting months than during the rest of the year. Everyone seems eager to add a paperback to their packing list for vacations, weekend trips, or nice days in the park. This month has a plethora of fantastic new paperback releases, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.


My Absolute Darling
by Gabriel Tallent

This debut novel is a profoundly moving story told with extraordinary language. Turtle Alveston is a survivor. At 14, she lives an isolated life with her tortured and charismatic father. Since the death of her mother, her social existence is limited to her school and her father. When Turtle meets Jacob, a young boy who is enthralled with her, she starts to imagine a life beyond her confines. Readers will watch as this teenage girl fights to become her own hero. With a backdrop of the northern California coast, this urgently told novel is extraordinary.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
My Absolute Darling
Gabriel Tallent

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Close

The Visitors
by Catherine Burns

If you're looking for a dark, twisty, atmospheric novel this summer, look no further than Catherine Burns' debut THE VISITORS. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware, this is the story of Marion Zetland. Marion lives with her domineering older brother John in a decaying Georgian townhouse, and does her best to shut out the shocking secret he keeps in the cellar. When John suddenly has a heart attack, Marion is forced to go down to the cellar herself and face the gruesome truth that her brother has kept hidden. This novel is haunting and sinister, with a twist you won't see coming.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Visitors
Catherine Burns

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

10 Spooky Literary Locations to Spend Your Halloween

By Kerry Fiallo | October 31, 2017

Close

Manhattan Beach
by Jennifer Egan

MANHATTAN BEACH is Jennifer Egan's first historical fiction, but you wouldn't know it from reading these dazzling, propulsive pages. When Anna Kerrigan is 12 years old, she accompanies her father to visit Dexter Styles, and notices some charged mystery between the two men. Years pass, her father has disappeared, and the country is at war. Anna becomes one of the first women to work at the Brooklyn Naval Yard, where women are allowed to hold jobs that once belonged to men, now that they're all fighting in Europe and the Pacific. When she unexpectedly meets Dexter Styles again, she begins to understand the complexity of her father's life and the reasons he might have vanished. This is a magnificent exploration of a transformative moment in America's history.

Read the full review of MANHATTAN BEACH.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Manhattan Beach
Jennifer Egan

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

14 Bold Novels About Women Everyone Should Read

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 26, 2019

New York, New York!: 10 Historical Novels Set in the Big Apple

By Hannah Schaffer | May 29, 2019

9 Groundbreaking Women in Fiction

By Carrie Cabral | March 21, 2019

11 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This Year

By Meagan Harris | December 19, 2018

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

Summer Reading Recommendations from Off the Shelf

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 21, 2018

Close

The Rules of Magic
by Alice Hoffman

For anyone who, like me, was completely hooked by the book (and film) PRACTICAL MAGIC, Alice Hoffman's latest novel is a must-read. THE RULES OF MAGIC is the prequel to PRACTICAL MAGIC, and takes us back to when Franny and Jet were children growing up in 1960s New York with a love curse looming over them. In this illuminating prequel we watch Franny, Jet and Vincent grow up, at first forbidden from magic, and then embracing it after a stay with their Aunt Isabelle in that infamous house in the small Massachusetts town. The two beautiful sisters will grow up to be the memorable aunts in PRACTICAL MAGIC, while Vincent, their beloved brother, will leave an unexpected legacy. This is ultimately a thrilling, irresistible story about being true to oneself.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Rules of Magic
Alice Hoffman

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

11 Feel-Good Novels to Add Some Extra Sunshine to Your Days

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 13, 2019

From Ruth Ware to the Hottest Debuts—Here’s What We’re Reading This Summer

By Tolani Osan | July 25, 2019

Enter for a Chance to Win the Perfect South of France Adventure

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 25, 2019

Enter for a Chance to Win a Luxurious Reading Oasis

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 27, 2018

A Spellbinding Story of Family and Sacrifice

By Taylor Noel | October 17, 2018

What Book Should You Read Based on Your Zodiac Sign?

By Lara Blackman | October 1, 2018

Close

Bonfire
by Krysten Ritter

Abby Williams leaves her small town of Barrens, Indiana and never thinks she'll go back. Working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has the life she thought she wanted. But when a case takes her back home, Abby's investigation turns up strange links to Barrens' biggest scandal from years ago—involving her close friends and the popular Kaycee Mitchell—just before Kaycee disappeared for good. BONFIRE is full of slow-burning suspense, and Krysten Ritter writes Barrens as a perfectly claustrophobic small town that keeps getting smaller.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Bonfire
Krysten Ritter

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

5 Literary Sleuths Jessica Jones Would Approve Of

By Tolani Osan | March 14, 2018

Close

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
by Gail Honeyman

If you follow Reese Witherspoon's book club picks, you likely saw this humorous novel on her list when it came out in hardcover. Eleanor Oliphant is fine, and she never thought life should be anything other than just that: fine. She struggles with social skills and has carefully structured her life in a way so as to avoid social interactions. When a chance encounter with Raymond, the bumbling IT tech from her office sets her world spinning, they rescue one another from their own isolated lives. This is a smartly-written, deadpan-funny, irresistibly warm novel.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
Gail Honeyman

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

14 Books You Wish You Could Read for the First Time Again

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 31, 2019

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

Readers’ Choice: The Top 25 Most Shelved Books of the Year!

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 24, 2018

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

Under Cover with Off the Shelf: A Behind-the-Scenes Look at 14 Beautiful Books

By Taylor Noel | May 7, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.