Share A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

Carrie Cabral is a Marketing Associate at Simon & Schuster. When she’s not writing, you can find her either at the gym, kickboxing or rereading Harry Potter for the zillionth time. She’s known in her community for being a #1 dog mom of a handsome young man named Buddy. During her commutes to work from Brooklyn, you can find her with the newest fantasy or literary fiction novel!

Everyone is a little different when it comes to vacation reading; some of us prefer more serious, emotional stories, and others want to dive into funny, warm-hearted tales of love and friendship. While we can’t promise a plane ticket or a luxury getaway in the sun, these books will make you feel like you’re in another world, whether you’re cozying up in a ski cabin or hitting the beach. There is something for everyone. So, pack your bags, and don’t forget your books! Or your toothbrush.


Goodbye, Paris
by Anstey Harris

Grace’s life has already fallen apart once, and she’s built it back up quietly, tucked away in an English village with close friends and a long-distance love affair. This novel shows the world she has carefully constructed fall apart a second time, as her married lover’s newfound fame reveals their secrets and Grace has to confront the tragedies that got her there. Surrounded by quirky, loyal friends and her music, this heartfelt novel is a glimpse into a regular life, and how it can often feel extraordinary.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Goodbye, Paris
Anstey Harris

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

11 Favorites Your Book Club Must Read This Fall

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 24, 2018

Close

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
by Gail Honeyman

Like Eleanor, you may be completely fine. That doesn’t mean you couldn’t use a vacation. This sweet, uplifting story about two misfits finding love and learning to open up their hearts and lives is the perfect winter getaway read. It’ll leave you with all the warm fuzzies and get you motivated to put yourself out there and enjoy time with your travel companions.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
Gail Honeyman

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

Readers’ Choice: The Top 25 Most Shelved Books of the Year!

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 24, 2018

6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June

By Meagan Harris | June 25, 2018

Under Cover with Off the Shelf: A Behind-the-Scenes Look at 14 Beautiful Books

By Taylor Noel | May 7, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

Close

Where'd You Go, Bernadette
by Maria Semple

I definitely don’t recommend running away from your family without any indication of where you’re going (or, at the risk of spoilers, going where Bernadette went for her escape). But I can definitely say that WHERE’D YOU GO, BERNADETTE is a hilarious read and a trip all on its own. Quirky and emotionally satisfying, Where’d You Go, Bernadette is the friend you call on for your most adventurous vacations.

Read the full review of WHERE’D YOU GO, BERNADETTE.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Where'd You Go, Bernadette
Maria Semple

Bernadette Fox is a fiercely independent wife and mother, when one day she disappears. It began when her daughter Bee aced her report card and claimed her promised reward: a family trip to Antarctica. But Bernadette's intensifying allergy to Seattle—and people in general—has made her agoraphobic, making a trip to the end of the earth a bit of an issue. To find her mother, Bee compiles email messages, official documents, and secret correspondence.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

Reread a Classic and More Ways to Meet Your 2019 Reading Goals

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 28, 2019

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This January

By Meagan Harris | January 22, 2019

6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 28, 2018

12 Books You Must Read Before Seeing the Movies this Spring

By Tolani Osan | February 1, 2018

10 Great Books for Fans of “Jane the Virgin”

By Tolani Osan | May 23, 2017

Close

The Golden State
by Lydia Kiesling

For a more serious road-trip read, THE GOLDEN STATE is perfect for those who want to leave their own inner narrative and escape into someone else’s story. Daphne, a young single mother, leaves her life in the city and heads to the desert, where she has nothing but time, her baby, and her thoughts. Emotionally exhausting in the best way, THE GOLDEN STATE asks difficult questions of both narrator and reader, and you’ll be thinking about it long after you put it down.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Golden State
Lydia Kiesling

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

Close

An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

This impactful and poignant novel tells the story of a newlywed couple, Roy and Celestial, who are busy planning their future together when Roy is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit. Through their marriage and their separation while Roy is in incarcerated, this powerful novel explores the consequences of injustice, and the meaning of love and family through tragedy and beyond. If you’re looking to read one of the most effective, heart-wrenching novels of the year, this one is for you.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
An American Marriage
Tayari Jones

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

The Best Books We’ve Read So Far This Year

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 16, 2019

6 Striking Quotes from AN AMERICAN MARRIAGE

By Tolani Osan | February 21, 2019

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

The 5 Best Books We Read Last Year

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 16, 2019

Obama’s Latest Summer Reading Recommendations

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 22, 2018

Under Cover with Off the Shelf: A Behind-the-Scenes Look at 14 Beautiful Books

By Taylor Noel | May 7, 2018

Close

The Verdun Affair
by Nick Dybek

There isn’t much you won’t find in THE VERDUN AFFAIR: love, Hollywood, heroism, and tragedy. Tom and Sarah, brought together after World War I by an unidentified soldier with whom they both share a connection, share a story that spans decades, as they attempt to understand the war in the contexts of their lives. Better still, the real romance lies in the relationship between tragedy and victory, and how those lines are often indistinguishable. THE VERDUN AFFAIR is a beautiful love story, and will make a welcome addition to your romantic winter getaway. Extra points if you’re going to Verdun.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Verdun Affair
Nick Dybek

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

Close

Fly Away Home
by Jennifer Weiner

Hopefully, your family vacation is a little less stressful than the Woodruff family’s. When father and senator Richard has an affair that becomes public, his wife heads to her mother’s old vacation house. She is soon followed by the couple’s two daughters, who are each unhappy in their own way. A tale of mending broken hearts and the power of women to heal and hurt those they love, the Woodruff women’s story is not the happiest, but it is definitely satisfying.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Fly Away Home
Jennifer Weiner

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

Close

Bring Me Back
by B. A. Paris

No vacation reading list would be complete without a vacation horror story! Finn and Layla, a young couple traveling together, live their worst nightmare when Layla disappears on their vacation. Ten years later, Finn is engaged to Layla’s sister, Ellen, but knows something isn’t right; it’s made worse when he starts finding clues. Each twist and turn is more frightening than the last. While you should definitely read this unsettling thriller, try not to let it scare you out of your travel plans.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Bring Me Back
B. A. Paris

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 22, 2019

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

Close

The Sun and Other Stars
by Bridgid Paskula

A moving story about a father-son relationship, marred by loss. The Italian Riveria. Soccer (Football?). Endless possibilities. THE SUN AND OTHER STARS, a novel about a young Italian man named Etto who returns to his small town after the loss of his mother and brother, has it all. This touching novel dives headfirst into the complicated condition of two grieving men, and is a riveting read about a community that comes together through complex characters and a lot of heart.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Sun and Other Stars
Bridgid Paskula

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Cozy Winter Getaway: 9 Perfect Novels You Need to Bring

By Carrie Cabral | February 4, 2019

12 Books to Celebrate the Solar Eclipse

By Erin Flaaen | August 21, 2017

For Fans of Beautiful Ruins: A Novel of Hope and Community in an Italian Village

By Etinosa Agbonlahor | May 8, 2015

How Soccer Can Lead to Love

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 30, 2014

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.