Share 6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

Raised in London, Elizabeth graduated with a degree in English from Smith College in 2013. When not reading six different novels at once she can be found Instagramming artisanal pastries and working in the marketing department of Simon & Schuster. Follow her on Instagram: @eliz_bree.  

My mother sent me a one-line text the other night: “I saw Lady Bird.”

A little nervous and not sure what was being implied by her brevity, I immediately called for her take on the film that has been sweeping theaters around the country. Along with the varied themes on class, family, and teenage relationships, this story of a young woman’s coming-of-age seems to have struck a chord for its poignant, funny, and bittersweet depiction of a mother-daughter relationship. While fumbling with my phone I wondered if my own mother had the same reaction I did, that it somehow perfected the odd juxtaposition between parents and children, where you both know everything and nothing about one another, and it sometimes feels as though your whole life is spent evolving in relation to them.

It’s clear why this relationship is mined so often in storytelling, but rarely does a novel or film capture this intersection of individuality, utter dependency, and the indelibly sweet, complex love within families so well. Luckily, there are a few authors who have mastered just that.


Laura & Emma
by Kate Greathead
Laura hails from the Upper East Side, born into old money and drifting aimlessly through 1980s New York. Then, after a romantic weekend with a stranger, Laura realizes she’s pregnant. Enter: Emma. Told in vignettes ranging from profound to mundane, with utterly New York scenes of blue-blood Manhattan society and subway weeping, this tender debut is a celebration of the odd, unexpected, and wonderful path to discovering where we belong.
Laura & Emma
Kate Greathead

MENTIONED IN:

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 28, 2018

Close

Where'd You Go, Bernadette
by Maria Semple
Bernadette Fox is many things depending on who you ask: she’s a type-A genius turned housewife, a revolutionary architect, and a disgrace in the eyes of her fellow parents. When her teenage daughter, Bee, plans a family trip to Antarctica, Bernadette goes missing and Bee must search through emails, letters, and official documents to discover who her mother really is—and where she might have gone. This heartwarming, quirky, and humorous novel highlights the ways in which the bond between a mother and daughter can transcend the chaos around them.

Read the full review of WHERE’D YOU GO, BERNADETTE.

Where'd You Go, Bernadette
Maria Semple

Bernadette Fox is a fiercely independent wife and mother, when one day she disappears. It began when her daughter Bee aced her report card and claimed her promised reward: a family trip to Antarctica. But Bernadette's intensifying allergy to Seattle—and people in general—has made her agoraphobic, making a trip to the end of the earth a bit of an issue. To find her mother, Bee compiles email messages, official documents, and secret correspondence.

MENTIONED IN:

6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 28, 2018

12 Books You Must Read Before Seeing the Movies this Spring

By Tolani Osan | February 1, 2018

9 Great Books for Fans of “Jane the Virgin”

By Tolani Osan | May 23, 2017

13 Books to Read After A MAN CALLED OVE

By Arielle Kane | November 25, 2016

8 Books with Disappearing Protagonists

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 15, 2015

The Book That Takes ‘Laugh-Out-Loud Funny’ to a Whole New Level

By Sarah Jane Abbott | December 1, 2014

Close

Bettyville
by George Hodgman
Most kids swear they’ll never move back in with their parents, preferring instead to dream of running off to Paris to live their dreams. Writer and former Vanity Fair editor George Hodgman did both, although his mother was 91 at the time and the Paris to which he moved was his hometown of Paris, Missouri. During what was to be a quick visit home, Hodgman realized how much his mother was struggling with age and dementia, and the visit soon turned into a permanent stay. A moving portrait of family told with wit and personality, BETTYVILLE is also a lovely portrayal of the changing roles of caregivers and the heart which that change can reveal.
Bettyville
George Hodgman

George Hodgman’s humorous and moving memoir chronicles his struggles to care for his stubborn, aging mother Betty. Will he move her to assisted living? Will she accept that he is gay? Will they have the courage to say what is in their hearts?

MENTIONED IN:

6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 28, 2018

15 Powerful Memoirs By and About Mothers

By Erica Nelson | May 3, 2016

Close

This Is Where I Leave You
by Jonathan Tropper
You know things are bad when you wish you could simply focus on your father’s funeral. But for Judd Foxman, gathering with his eccentric family for the first time in years to sit shiva, there’s also the absence of his wife—whose affair was just made painfully public—and reconnecting with his siblings who are each dysfunctional in their own way. Author Jonathan Tropper is a charming writer who somehow manages to highlight the hilarious pandemonium of family while quietly underscoring the unbreakable ties that bind.

Read the full review of THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU.

This Is Where I Leave You
Jonathan Tropper

Simultaneously mourning the death of his father and the demise of his marriage, Judd joins his dysfunctional family as they reluctantly sit shiva and spend seven days and nights under the same roof. This Is Where I Leave You is a humorous, emotional novel about the ties that bind—whether we like it or not.

MENTIONED IN:

6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 28, 2018

Love “This Is Us?” Here Are the 11 Books You Need to Read

By Julianna Haubner | January 3, 2018

Who Says You Can’t Go Home Again? You Can in These 5 Books

By Stu Smith | November 22, 2017

12 Literary Families to Invite Over for Thanksgiving

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 19, 2015

Piper’s Prison Book Club: 10 Books from Orange Is the New Black

By Hilary Krutt | July 28, 2015

This Book Passed My “David Sedaris Meter” And That’s Why I Love It

By Gail Gonzales | August 26, 2014

Close

Postcards from the Edge
by Carrie Fisher
RIP Queen Carrie Fisher, whose brilliance was revealed in ever-greater quantities towards the end of her life. This autobiographical novel, however, was written only a few years after her scene-stealing role as Princess Leia. POSTCARDS FROM THE EDGE doesn’t take place in a galaxy far far away, but stars a Los Angeles actress who opens the satirical novel by writing letters from rehab. The story follows the highs and lows of attempting to readjust to life after addiction, reconnect with her family, and find love and work in a town that demands women fit into a box.
Postcards from the Edge
Carrie Fisher

In her first novel, Carrie Fisher drew on her own experiences in Hollywood and with addiction to tell the story of Suzanne Vale, a young actress in the harrowing and hilarious throes of drug rehabilitation. A semi-autobiographical novel, POSTCARDS FROM THE EDGE chronicles Suzanne’s vivid, and often funny, experiences inside a drug rehab clinic and takes a revealing look at addiction.

MENTIONED IN:

6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 28, 2018

The 5(ish) Best Books I Read Last Month

By Julianna Haubner | January 10, 2018

Carrie Fisher & Debbie Reynolds: Writers We’ll Miss

By Erin Flaaen | January 26, 2017

Close

The Hand That First Held Mine
by Maggie O'Farrell
This cinematic novel from Irish writer Maggie O’Farrell also features a young heroine with big plans to leave home and take the world by storm. The setting here is not suburban California, but rather the genteel, English countryside–the home from which Lexie Sinclair is bursting to escape. Interwined with Lexie’s post-escape life in London’s swinging sixities is the story of another young woman, Elina, a modern Londoner drifting through the otherworldly experience of new motherhood. The ways in which these two women’s stories knit together across their half-century difference offers a lyrical, unconventional yet ultimately tender exploration into how love can bind people together.
The Hand That First Held Mine
Maggie O'Farrell

This gorgeous and tenderly wrought story is about the ways in which love and beauty bind us together. As the stories of two new mothers unfold, a connection that they share drives the novel toward a tremendous revelation.

MENTIONED IN:

6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 28, 2018

12 Novels That Celebrate the Joys and Challenges of Motherhood

By Erica Nelson | April 28, 2016

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.