Share 8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

Julianna Haubner is an associate editor at the Simon & Schuster imprint, which she joined in September 2014 after completing the Columbia Publishing Course. She graduated from Colby College with a B.A. in English and history, and happily lives her life according to the three B’s: Books, Baking, and Bravo. A lifelong reader, Julianna is a compulsive borrower, buyer, and collector of literary and historical fiction, biographies, and cultural history. She’s on Twitter @jhaubner2, and is behind your favorite bookstagrams @offtheshelfofficial.  

We’re all thinking it. Nowadays, things are pretty exhausting. Whether it’s turning on your television, scrolling through Facebook or Twitter, or even just catching up with friends, news headlines seem to dominate every conversation. Sometimes that even extends to our bookshelves. And, while it’s important to stay informed and read books that help us reflect on what’s happening in the world, sometimes you just need a little break. So, here is a list of smart and relevant must-reads that are party and policy free, with just the right amount of (good) drama.


Beautiful Ruins
by Jess Walter
A great read for any time of year, Jess Walter's bestselling novel is one of our favorites. It's centered around an almost-love affair in 1960s Italy on the set of the epic film Cleopatra, the implications of which surface in Hollywood almost 40 years later. It's a sweeping tale, moving between those locations and times (with some other stops in between), and introducing us to a wide range of unforgettable characters, from Richard Burton to a Cinque Terre innkeeper. If you find yourself needing an escape, BEAUTIFUL RUINS should be your next pick.

Read the full review of BEAUTIFUL RUINS.
Beautiful Ruins
Jess Walter

Hailed by critics, loved by readers of literary and historical fiction, and featuring what is arguably one of the most iconic covers of recent years, Beautiful Ruins is the story of an almost-love affair that begins on a rocky patch of the sun-drenched Italian coastline in 1962. Funny and romantic, the beauty and wisdom of Jess Walter’s writing in the last chapter alone will leave musical lines of prose engraved in your memory.

MENTIONED IN:

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

12 Authors I Desperately Need New Books From

By Taylor Noel | April 16, 2018

How to Pack for the Perfect Bookish Vacation

By Taylor Noel | October 19, 2017

12 Books to Cozy Up With This Fall

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 20, 2015

Beautiful Ruins: A Wildly Imaginative Work of Art

By John Lescroart | July 15, 2015

10 Beachy Reads to Fight the Winter Blues

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 19, 2015

Close

Laura & Emma
by Kate Greathead
A great mother-daughter duo read with a Gilmore Girls and Lady Bird vibe, Kate Greathead's debut novel begins on the Upper East Side of the 1980s, where Laura, aimlessly drifting into her early thirties, has a brief affair with a stranger. That union results in Emma, a sweet and sassy child whose antics become the center of her mother and grandparents' world as they grow, change, and learn how to understand the choices they've made.
Laura & Emma
Kate Greathead

MENTIONED IN:

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

6 Books to Read If You Loved “Lady Bird”

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 28, 2018

Close

Bream Gives Me Hiccups
by Jesse Eisenberg
Though he may be more familiar to some on the big screen (The Social Network, Adventureland), Jesse Eisenberg is also a talented author and playwright. His short story collection, BREAM GIVES ME HICCUPS, moves hilariously from contemporary Los Angeles and college dorm rooms to ancient Pompeii and the World Wide Web, exploring the modern world in all of its absurdity. If the news has you needing a laugh, this one's for you.
Bream Gives Me Hiccups
Jesse Eisenberg

MENTIONED IN:

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

Close

The Last Equation of Isaac Severy
by Nova Jacobs
Perfect for fans of MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE, Nova Jacobs's charming debut follows Hazel, a young bookstore owner who receives a letter from her adopted grandfather. The catch? He's dead. But, it seems the once-famous mathematician has one final equation to share with her—if only she can figure out where it's hidden. Told in clues, this novel is witty, fun, and has the perfect amount of suspense to keep you turning the pages.
The Last Equation of Isaac Severy
Nova Jacobs

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in October

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 26, 2018

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win the Ultimate Book Lovers Prize Pack

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 10, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

12 Tips for How to Read as Many Books as Possible

By Taylor Noel | April 5, 2018

Close

Another Side of Paradise
by Sally Koslow
Set in Hollywood during the 1930s and 1940s, ANOTHER SIDE OF PARADISE recounts the sweeping, epic, and dysfunctional long-term love affair of successful gossip columnist Sheilah Graham and Lost Generation icon F. Scott Fitzgerald. When the two meet, it's instant chemistry. But, as they deal with Sheilah's fame, Scott's drinking, and both of their secrets, things tragically unravel. If you loved THE PARIS WIFE, Z: A NOVEL OF ZELDA FITZGERALD, and other books that put you inside the hearts and minds of famous figures, Sally Koslow's latest is a great addition to your to-read list.
Another Side of Paradise
Sally Koslow

MENTIONED IN:

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

Close

Hello, Sunshine
by Laura Dave
With a line of bestselling cookbooks, a devoted architect husband, and countless fans, chef-turned-social-media star Sunshine Mackenzie has her dream life. She also has a big secret that, if revealed, could result in a catastrophic fall from grace. And, when it comes out, she's forced to move back home to the sister—and life—she's worked hard to escape. Laura Dave's novel is smart, fun, and a total page-turner that will keep you reading for an entire afternoon.

Read the full review of HELLO SUNSHINE.
Hello, Sunshine
Laura Dave

MENTIONED IN:

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

Summer Reading Recommendations from Off the Shelf

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 21, 2018

Readers’ Choice: October’s 10 Most Shelved Books on Off the Shelf

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 27, 2017

Join Our Book Club and You Could Win 14 of Our Favorite Reads

By Something to Read About | September 5, 2017

When One of Your Favorites Does It Again

By Elizabeth Breeden | August 30, 2017

12 Books to Celebrate the Solar Eclipse

By Erin Flaaen | August 21, 2017

Close

The Impossible Fortress
by Jason Rekulak
All 14-year-old Billy Marvin needs in life is his computer. That is, until he meets Mary Zelinksy. If your happy place is a rom-com or mixtape of your old-school favorites, THE IMPOSSIBLE FORTRESS will fill your heart and soul to the brim.

Read the full review of THE IMPOSSIBLE FORTRESS.
The Impossible Fortress
Jason Rekulak

If your favorite character is Steve Harrington

If you liked the era cameos in the Duffer Brothers’ ode to the 80s (from D&D games to Steve Harrington’s hair) you’ll love the mentions of Commodore 64s, early Springsteen & Jolt cola in the love letter to the 80s which is THE IMPOSSIBLE FORTRESS. It follows Billy Marvin and his friends as they hatch a madcap scheme which leads Billy to falsely befriend a loner girl who happens to be a computer whiz. But just as Steve seems like a jerk initially, his heartfelt feelings towards another bad-ass female character (Go Nancy!) mimics how Billy’s feelings also lead him down the right path.  

MENTIONED IN:

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

15 Favorites Your Book Club Must Read This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2017

The Best Book About First Love Since ELEANOR & PARK

By Julianna Haubner | December 7, 2017

11 Books You Should Read Based On Your Favorite “Stranger Things” Character

By Glommable | May 29, 2017

Close

The Accident
by Chris Pavone
Conspiracy and espionage are the cornerstones of any good thriller, but Chris Pavone takes a unique and exciting approach with THE ACCIDENT by placing his action not in the halls of Congress or our most influential institutions, but instead in the literary world. Make no mistake though: the stakes in this one are high. The novel follows a literary agent, an author, and the veteran CIA operative trying to stop the publication of a book that could have explosive consequences. If you're at the end of your politics sabbatical and need something to help you ease your way back in, this one is for you.
The Accident
Chris Pavone

MENTIONED IN:

Double Your Dose of Literary Happiness with These 10 Books About Books

By Sarah Woodruff | October 24, 2018

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.