Share 13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

Taylor Noel is a corporate marketing manager at Simon and Schuster. She loves literary fiction and memoirs, but will read any book put in her hands. Taylor shares her book obsessions on Instagram @books_with_taylor.

I’ve been on something of a memoir kick recently. I’m usually a fiend for fiction and rarely pick up books in the nonfiction section of bookstores. But I thought I’d try something different, and I happily discovered the power of memoir in forging human connection and recounting remarkable life stories. Here are 13 of the most powerful, inspiring, and touching memoirs I’ve ever read.


Educated
by Tara Westover
Everyone has been raving about this memoir-and for good reason. Astounding and incredibly moving, EDUCATED is Tara Westover's story of growing up in the mountains of Idaho with her survivalist Mormon family and leaving them behind in search of an education and a new life. It's a powerful tale of fierce family loyalty and the paralyzing grief that comes from severing one's closest ties.

MENTIONED IN:

What Book Should You Read Based on Your Zodiac Sign?

By Lara Blackman | October 1, 2018

Obama’s Latest Summer Reading Recommendations

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 22, 2018

Summer Reading Recommendations from Off the Shelf

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 21, 2018

9 Books That Completely Blew Our Minds

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 19, 2018

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

Close

A Long Way Gone
by Ishmael Beah
In his memoir of being a child soldier in Sierra Leone's civil war, Ishmael Beah describes how, at the age of only 12, he fled attacking rebels and wandered a land that was marred by violence. By age 13, Beah was picked up by the government army and turned into a killer armed with an AK-47. Told with heartbreaking honesty, A LONG WAY GONE is a rare and mesmerizing account of how one person went through hell and survived.
A Long Way Gone
Ishmael Beah

What is war like through the eyes of a child soldier? How does one become a killer? How does one stop? Never before has there been a first-person account from someone who went through this hell and survived. In A LONG WAY GONE, Ishmael Beah recounts his story with heartbreaking honesty: how at the age of 12, he fled attacking rebels and wandered a land rendered unrecognizable by violence. By 13, he’d been picked up by the government army and found that he was capable of truly terrible acts. This is a rare and mesmerizing account, told with urgent importance and literary force.

MENTIONED IN:

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

8 Favorite Memoirs from Instagram’s @BooksandPolkaDots’s Bookshelf

By Megan Gardner | January 6, 2017

Nine Books Mark Zuckerberg Should Choose for His Book Club

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 3, 2015

Close

I Am, I Am, I Am
by Maggie O'Farrell
As someone severely afraid of dying, I was a little nervous to read Maggie O'Farrell's memoir about the 17 near-death experiences that punctuated her life. But I ended this book feeling oddly hopeful and grateful to be alive. This one's perfect for fans of WILD by Cheryl Strayed or THE YEAR OF MAGICAL THINKING by Joan Didion.
I Am, I Am, I Am
Maggie O'Farrell

MENTIONED IN:

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

Close

The Choice
by Dr. Edith Eva Eger
Edith Eger is one of the few living Holocaust survivors to remember the horrors of the camps. She was 16 when the Nazis came to her hometown in Hungary and took her Jewish family to an internment center and then to Auschwitz. Though she says without pause "it was hell," she has chosen not to remain a victim and to find joy in her life every day. Eger's message is powerful and important: Your pain matters, but you can choose to be free.
The Choice
Dr. Edith Eva Eger

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This September

By Meagan Harris | September 18, 2018

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

Close

The Rules Do Not Apply
by Ariel Levy
New Yorker writer Ariel Levy thought she had life figured out at age 38. She was married, pregnant, finally secure, and successful. A month later, none of that was true. Levy hurls readers through her story of building this life and watching it all fall apart with debilitating speed. THE RULES DO NOT APPLY is brutal and revelatory and unflinching and deeply intimate.
The Rules Do Not Apply
Ariel Levy

MENTIONED IN:

12 Sarah Jessica Parker-Approved Books You Don’t Want to Miss

By Julianna Haubner | June 12, 2018

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

Close

The Color of Water
by James McBride
I decided to read THE COLOR OF WATER after Ann Patchett recommended it during an interview with Reese Witherspoon. To be fair, I'd buy almost anything if Patchett and Witherspoon told me to-but this book is truly exceptional. James McBride writes about his mother's remarkable life, as well as his own upbringing as a mixed-race child of poverty. THE COLOR OF WATER is a vivid portrait of growing up, a haunting meditation on race, and a love letter from a son to his mother.
The Color of Water
James McBride

As a young man, James McBride saw his mother as a source of embarrassment, worry, and confusion—and reached thirty before he began to discover the truth about her early life and long-buried pain. Here, he retraces his mother’s story and her searing, spirited voice.

MENTIONED IN:

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

15 Books from Ann Patchett’s Very Long List of Favorites

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 4, 2016

13 Reasons to Join Our Mothers’ Book Club

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 22, 2015

Close

Boy Erased
by Garrard Conley
As someone who also grew up in a Baptist church in small town, I was immediately intrigued by Garrard Conley's story. BOY ERASED chronicles Conley's struggle to be accepted as a gay man in his community. When outed to his parents at age 19, Conley was given a choice: attend a church-supported conversation therapy program to get "cured" or lose his family, friends, and religion. This is a stunning testament to love that endures despite all odds.
Boy Erased
Garrard Conley

MENTIONED IN:

10 Highly Anticipated Book-to-Film Adaptations to Read This Fall

By Tolani Osan | September 17, 2018

11 LGBTQ Books to Read During Pride Month

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 14, 2018

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

Close

Hunger
by Roxane Gay
You always know you're in for an incredible experience when you read Roxane Gay. In her most vulnerable and candid book yet, Gay explores what it means to be overweight in a world that doesn't accept unruly bodies. She uses her own emotional and psychological struggles to explore our shared anxieties and to examine how a devastating act of physical violence forever altered her life.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in June

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 29, 2018

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

7 Badass Women Writers to Read During Women’s History Month

By Lara Blackman | March 13, 2018

15 Audiobooks Perfect For You and Everyone on Your List

By Tolani Osan | December 15, 2017

Close

I Found My Tribe
by Ruth Fitzmaurice
The Tragic Wives' Swimming Club meets to cope with the extreme challenges of life. Swimming is one of the many ways Ruth Fitzmaurice copes with her husband's ALS diagnosis. As she recounts the story of their marriage and her husband's decline, Fitzmaurice also describes her passion for swimming in the wild Irish Sea. This is a book that beseeched readers to love as hard as they can, and to live even harder.
I Found My Tribe
Ruth Fitzmaurice

MENTIONED IN:

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

Close

Mothers of Sparta
by Dawn Davies
MOTHERS OF SPARTA is not a parenting book and it's not a blow-by-blow of Dawn Davies's life. It's a beautiful reflection on the exquisite, often painful moments of a life. Davies writes about being a young girl who moves every few years-feeling adrift in her twenties and alone in a new city, having difficult pregnancies and postpartum depression, being a divorcée who unexpectedly finds new love. This is a surprisingly funny book about carving out a place for oneself in the world.
Mothers of Sparta
Dawn Davies

MENTIONED IN:

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

Close

H Is for Hawk
by Helen MacDonald
An instant sensation, H IS FOR HAWK is Helen Macdonald's story of adopting and raising a hawk while she deals with immense grief after her father's death. Obsession, madness, memory, myth, and history combine to achieve a distinctive blend of nature writing and memoir from an outstanding literary innovator.

Read the full review of H IS FOR HAWK.
H Is for Hawk
Helen MacDonald

MENTIONED IN:

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

10 Books You Should Read if You Love the TV Show “Younger”

By Julianna Haubner | June 5, 2018

13 Books Bird Lovers Will Flock To

By Amy Hendricks | September 20, 2016

A Beautifully Layered Memoir of Dedication and Loss

By Sheila Curry Oakes | March 9, 2016

Close

The Bright Hour
by Nina Riggs
I know I've already professed my love for THE BRIGHT HOUR many times, but it wouldn't feel right to omit it from this list. Brilliantly written, disarmingly funny, and deeply moving, this exquisite memoir by a woman who was diagnosed with breast cancer when she was 37 is a gentle reminder how to live and love every day.

Read the full review of THE BRIGHT HOUR.
The Bright Hour
Nina Riggs

MENTIONED IN:

10 Recommendations from the Co-Owner of Literati Bookstore

By Hilary Gustafson | July 12, 2018

6 of Alice Hoffman’s Favorite Books of the Year

By Alice Hoffman | July 3, 2018

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 23, 2018

An Emotional Memoir That Will Make You Less Afraid of Dying

By Taylor Noel | February 6, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win a Year’s Worth of Book Club Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 16, 2018

Close

This Is How I Save My Life
by Amy B. Scher
This is the true story of a fiery young woman's heartwarming and hilarious healing journey that takes her from near-death in California to a trip around the world in search of her ultimate salvation. Along the way, she discovers a world of cultural mayhem, radical medical treatment, an unexpected romance, and, most importantly, a piece of her life she never even knew she was missing. This travel memoir is perfect for fans of EAT, PRAY, LOVE.
This Is How I Save My Life
Amy B. Scher

MENTIONED IN:

13 of the Most Powerful Memoirs I’ve Ever Read

By Taylor Noel | June 7, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.