Share Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

What an exciting month full of books it has been! We wrapped our summer reading lists, reminisced about our favorite Booker-nominated novels, and even got an early start on our Award season reading. We saw your comments, your likes and shares, and clicks. And now it’s time to look back on all of the books we’ve collected this month and give you a rundown of the best of the best. In case you missed it, here were the most popular books featured on Off the Shelf in September—according to you!


A Sudden Light
by Garth Stein

A follow-up to the beloved THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN, SUDDEN LIGHT is a coming-of-age tale with a magical twist. Twenty-three years after a pivotal summer vacation, Trevor Ridell looks back on his first visit to the infamous family estate—the Ridell House—where he set out to save the crumbling mansion from a steely plan to sell it for profit.

Add this must-read follow-up to THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN to your shelf today!

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
A Sudden Light
Garth Stein

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

11 Autumnal Book Covers to Fall in Love With

By Sarah Woodruff | October 3, 2019

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

A Must-Read Follow-up to THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 23, 2019

Close

The Library Book
by Susan Orlean

On the morning of April 29, 1986, the stacks at the Los Angeles Public Library were consumed by flames. The fire was disastrous: it reached 2000 degrees and burned for more than seven hours. Weaving her lifelong love of books and reading into an investigation of the fire, Susan Orlean delivers a mesmerizing and uniquely compelling book that manages to tell the broader story of libraries and librarians in a way that has never been done before.

These books would make great additions to your home library.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Library Book
Susan Orlean

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in November

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 29, 2019

The Book Lover’s Book You Need to Check Out Today

By Ana Perez | October 22, 2019

6 Must-Read Books New in Paperback This October

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 14, 2019

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

Close

The Dearly Beloved
by Cara Wall

This debut of love, friendship, and faith follows two couples over decades as the two husbands copastor a church against the backdrop of societal upheaval and change.

Check out the best books we read over the summer.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Dearly Beloved
Cara Wall

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Books That Will Make You Feel At Home, No Matter Where You Are

By Alice Martin | November 20, 2019

11 Autumnal Book Covers to Fall in Love With

By Sarah Woodruff | October 3, 2019

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

The 5 Best Books I Read This Month

By Elizabeth Breeden | August 19, 2019

Close

I Am Pilgrim
by Terry Hayes

In this gripping political thriller, CIA ghost Pilgrim comes out of retirement to help foil the plot of a notorious bio-terrorist.

Five years after it’s inception, this electrifying thriller still holds up!

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
I Am Pilgrim
Terry Hayes

“For me, I AM PILGRIM was a game changer. It raised the bar for international spy thrillers and became the benchmark for all future reads. It’s rich in detail and character, full of heart-racing action, and terrifying in its plausibility. It has heart and has you questioning your own beliefs.”

Read David Brown’s review here.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

An Electrifying Novel That Will Keep You Up Reading All Night

By Mike Zeko | September 13, 2019

23 Thrilling Novels from the Bookshelf of Linwood Barclay

By Linwood Barclay | December 29, 2016

It’s Our Birthday!

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 22, 2016

The Addictive Thriller That Has Everyone Talking

By David Brown | May 27, 2015

Close

The Slap
by Christos Tsiolkas

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Ian McEwan, THE SLAP by Christos Tsiolkas takes an insider’s look at the dark underbelly of contemporary domestic life, marriage, and parenthood. At a friendly neighborhood barbeque, one man slaps another couple’s child. Like ripples in a pond, the single act disrupts the placidity of their suburban lives in unpredictable and terrifying ways. Told from the perspectives of eight witnesses to the crime, this novel explores the prejudice, betrayal, and possessiveness that define our private lives.

Get into these Booker nominated reads!

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo Indiebound logo
The Slap
Christos Tsiolkas

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

13 Man Booker Nominated Novels You Need to Read Before You Die

By Alice Martin | September 3, 2019

Close

A Room with a View
by E. M. Forster

E. M. Forster's enduring classic is a story of innocence and simple pleasures. Part forbidden love story, part comedy, Forster tackles values, class, and cultural points of view making this novel an ever-relevant read.

This refreshing classic novel will always be relevant.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo Indiebound logo
A Room with a View
E. M. Forster

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

Why This Novel of Refreshing Innocence and Simple Pleasures Will Always Be Relevant

By Susan Rebecca White | September 5, 2019

Close

The Great Alone
by Kristin Hannah

THE GREAT ALONE, Kristin Hannah’s follow-up to THE NIGHTINGALE, tracks Ernt Allbright, a Vietnam vet desperate to rekindle his family life. In an attempt to start fresh, Ernt moves his wife, Cora, and daughter, Leni, to the depths of the Alaskan wildness, where the landscape is as beautiful as it is brutal. Soon, however, Ernt becomes increasingly unhinged, leaving Leni and Cora to fend for themselves. Cinematic and emotionally wrought, THE GREAT ALONE delves deep into an exploration of the strength of family bonds, the human soul, and the pioneering spirit.

Rejoice! These books are now available in paperback.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Great Alone
Kristin Hannah

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This September

By Alice Martin | September 16, 2019

Close

The Highland Witch
by Susan Fletcher

Young Jesse Marley is run down by a motorbike and placed in the hospital. She’s unable to speak and unable to write with her dominant hand. But her weaker hand suddenly seems to have a mind of its own, and she starts to draw castles and warriors she’s never seen before. Her neurologist is intrigued—and so begins an epic journey to discover an old Norse warlord’s stronghold. She might not know it, but she has the key to the legend behind it.

Get transported to the rolling hills of Scotland with these novels.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Highland Witch
Susan Fletcher

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

12 Bonnie Novels That Will Make You Fall in Love with Scotland

By Hannah Schaffer | September 4, 2019

Close

The Round House
by Louise Erdrich

THE ROUND HOUSE transports readers to the Ojibwe reservation in North Dakota as a boy on the cusp of manhood seeks justice and understanding in the wake of a terrible crime that upends his family. This greatly beloved novel is a powerful coming-of-age story, a mystery, and a tender novel of family, history, and culture.  

Roxane Gay-approved books for your reading pleasure.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Round House
Louise Erdrich

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

Roxane Gay Recommends: 10 Books Straight Off Her Shelf

By Tolani Osan | August 20, 2019

11 National Book Award-Winning Novels to Read Before You Die

By Taylor Noel | November 15, 2017

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.