If You Loved These Novels, Read These Fascinating Nonfiction Books

January 8 2019

Whenever I read novels, I’m always fascinated by the ties the fictional stories have to the real world. When I read historical fiction, I want to know more about that period in history. When I read dystopian novels, I want to know if anything similar has already happened. If your curiosity is also easily piqued by fiction, then I highly recommend picking up these nine works of nonfiction, especially if you loved these other novels.


Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-post.php on line 18
<br />
<b>Notice</b>:  Trying to get property 'post_title' of non-object in <b>/home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-post.php</b> on line <b>27</b><br />

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-post.php on line 29
|+| Add to Your Shelf

Notice: Trying to get property 'post_title' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-post.php on line 33
by
Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-post.php on line 34

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-post.php on line 46


Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 802

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 803

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 804

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 805

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 806

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 807

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 808

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 809

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 810

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 811

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 813

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 814

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 815

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-modal.php on line 16


Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-modal.php on line 32
|+| Add to Your Shelf

Notice: Trying to get property 'post_title' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-modal.php on line 38


Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-modal.php on line 40


Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-modal.php on line 44


Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 802

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 803

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 804

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 805

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 806

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 807

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 808

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 809

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 810

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 811

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 813

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 814

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /wordpress/plugins/bookmanager/post-types/bookmanager_template.php on line 815

MENTIONED IN:

9 Amazing #OwnVoices Books by BIPOC Authors to Read Now

By Sienna Farris | January 25, 2021

How I Read 100+ Books a Year

By Courtney Smith | January 22, 2021

5 World War II-Era Novels Featuring Brave Women Who Persevere

By Abby Zidle | January 21, 2021

10 Books about Iconic Women We’re Reading to Celebrate the First Female VP

By Maddie Ehrenreich | January 20, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your Favorite Reads of 2020 (and What to Read Next)

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 19, 2021

Book Club Favorites: 6 Books We Can’t Wait to Talk about This Year

By Holly Claytor | January 18, 2021

Close
Redemption
by Stacey Lannert

If you loved THE MARS ROOM by Rachel Kushner

After having read THE MARS ROOM, you might be interested to know how accurately the book portrays life in a women’s prison. REDEMPTION is a memoir by Stacy Lannert, who, after years of abuse by her father, shot and killed him and was sentenced to life in prison without parole. This is the story of Stacy’s life leading up to her sentencing, her time in prison, and her release after her sentence was commuted in 2009.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Redemption
Stacey Lannert

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Amazing #OwnVoices Books by BIPOC Authors to Read Now

By Sienna Farris | January 25, 2021

How I Read 100+ Books a Year

By Courtney Smith | January 22, 2021

5 World War II-Era Novels Featuring Brave Women Who Persevere

By Abby Zidle | January 21, 2021

10 Books about Iconic Women We’re Reading to Celebrate the First Female VP

By Maddie Ehrenreich | January 20, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your Favorite Reads of 2020 (and What to Read Next)

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 19, 2021

Book Club Favorites: 6 Books We Can’t Wait to Talk about This Year

By Holly Claytor | January 18, 2021

Close
Escape from Camp 14
by Blaine Harden

If you loved THE ORPHAN MASTER’S SON by Adam Johnson

THE ORPHAN MASTER’S SON was the first novel I read that really exposed me to life under North Korea’s totalitarian regime. It is a riveting book, and I immediately wanted to learn more. That’s how I came across ESCAPE FROM CAMP 14, a true story from the only known person to have been born inside a North Korean prison camp and who managed to escape.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Escape from Camp 14
Blaine Harden

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Amazing #OwnVoices Books by BIPOC Authors to Read Now

By Sienna Farris | January 25, 2021

How I Read 100+ Books a Year

By Courtney Smith | January 22, 2021

5 World War II-Era Novels Featuring Brave Women Who Persevere

By Abby Zidle | January 21, 2021

10 Books about Iconic Women We’re Reading to Celebrate the First Female VP

By Maddie Ehrenreich | January 20, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your Favorite Reads of 2020 (and What to Read Next)

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 19, 2021

Book Club Favorites: 6 Books We Can’t Wait to Talk about This Year

By Holly Claytor | January 18, 2021

Close
A Stolen Life
by Jaycee Dugard

If you loved ROOM by Emma Donoghue

ROOM is one of my favorite novels, and while it is a completely fictional account of a woman being kidnapped, held hostage, and forced to conceive a child, it is also a story that reflects several true accounts. Jaycee Dugard’s memoir is the harrowing account of her kidnapping in 1991 and the eighteen years of captivity that followed.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
A Stolen Life
Jaycee Dugard

A STOLEN LIFE is Jaycee Dugard’s raw and powerful memoir about being kidnapped in 1991, when she was 11 years old, and held captive for more than 18 years.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Amazing #OwnVoices Books by BIPOC Authors to Read Now

By Sienna Farris | January 25, 2021

How I Read 100+ Books a Year

By Courtney Smith | January 22, 2021

5 World War II-Era Novels Featuring Brave Women Who Persevere

By Abby Zidle | January 21, 2021

10 Books about Iconic Women We’re Reading to Celebrate the First Female VP

By Maddie Ehrenreich | January 20, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your Favorite Reads of 2020 (and What to Read Next)

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 19, 2021

Book Club Favorites: 6 Books We Can’t Wait to Talk about This Year

By Holly Claytor | January 18, 2021

Close
Lost Names
by Richard E. Kim

If you loved PACHINKO by Min Jin Lee

PACHINKO is an epic historical novel that follows four generations of a Korean family through the Japanese occupation of Korea, World War II, and the Korean War. PACHINKO mainly takes place in Japan, but if you want to learn more about the experiences of people in Korea during this period, LOST NAMES is the book you need to read. Originally published in 1970, this memoir depicts a character whose boyhood and early adolescence were spent in Korea during the height of the Japanese occupation.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Lost Names
Richard E. Kim

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Amazing #OwnVoices Books by BIPOC Authors to Read Now

By Sienna Farris | January 25, 2021

How I Read 100+ Books a Year

By Courtney Smith | January 22, 2021

5 World War II-Era Novels Featuring Brave Women Who Persevere

By Abby Zidle | January 21, 2021

10 Books about Iconic Women We’re Reading to Celebrate the First Female VP

By Maddie Ehrenreich | January 20, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your Favorite Reads of 2020 (and What to Read Next)

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 19, 2021

Book Club Favorites: 6 Books We Can’t Wait to Talk about This Year

By Holly Claytor | January 18, 2021

Close
Orphan Trains
by Stephen O'Connor

If you loved ORPHAN TRAIN by Christina Baker Kline

The first time you heard about orphan trains may have been when you read ORPHAN TRAIN, but there is so much more information available about this time in American history. O’Connor’s ORPHAN TRAINS is part biography of the man who proposed the orphan train solution to an overpopulation of orphans in eastern cities and part firsthand accounts from the orphans themselves.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Orphan Trains
Stephen O'Connor

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Amazing #OwnVoices Books by BIPOC Authors to Read Now

By Sienna Farris | January 25, 2021

How I Read 100+ Books a Year

By Courtney Smith | January 22, 2021

5 World War II-Era Novels Featuring Brave Women Who Persevere

By Abby Zidle | January 21, 2021

10 Books about Iconic Women We’re Reading to Celebrate the First Female VP

By Maddie Ehrenreich | January 20, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your Favorite Reads of 2020 (and What to Read Next)

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 19, 2021

Book Club Favorites: 6 Books We Can’t Wait to Talk about This Year

By Holly Claytor | January 18, 2021

Close
The Faithful Executioner
by Joel F. Harrington

If you loved A GAME OF THRONES by George R. R. Martin

Maybe after watching or reading A GAME OF THRONES, you were inspired to learn more about chopping off heads and torture. We understand and have the perfect book for you. THE FAITHFUL EXECUTIONER is based on a rare journal kept by a sixteenth-century executioner. It tells the story of Meister Frantz Schmidt, the original owner of the journal, an outcast who sought to prove himself worthy of honor and free his children from the stigma set by his profession.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Faithful Executioner
Joel F. Harrington

A fascinating, unique, and intimate view of crime during the Renaissance in Germany from the perspective of the man whose job it was to violently punish lawbreakers. Based on an executioner’s actual journal, you can discover how crime and punishment were carried out and consider how far we’ve come (or how little we’ve changed).

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Amazing #OwnVoices Books by BIPOC Authors to Read Now

By Sienna Farris | January 25, 2021

How I Read 100+ Books a Year

By Courtney Smith | January 22, 2021

5 World War II-Era Novels Featuring Brave Women Who Persevere

By Abby Zidle | January 21, 2021

10 Books about Iconic Women We’re Reading to Celebrate the First Female VP

By Maddie Ehrenreich | January 20, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your Favorite Reads of 2020 (and What to Read Next)

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 19, 2021

Book Club Favorites: 6 Books We Can’t Wait to Talk about This Year

By Holly Claytor | January 18, 2021

Close
The Great Influenza
by John M. Barry

If you loved STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel

After reading STATION ELEVEN, you may have wondered if it’s really possible for such a pandemic to prevail against modern medicine. To learn more about the possibility of such a dystopian future, we must look to the past, specifically to the deadliest pandemic in history, which occurred much more recently than one would think. In 1918, a lethal influenza virus appeared in an army camp in Kansas; over the next two years, it killed more than 100 million people. THE GREAT INFLUENZA is the gripping account of how mankind barely survived.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Great Influenza
John M. Barry

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Amazing #OwnVoices Books by BIPOC Authors to Read Now

By Sienna Farris | January 25, 2021

How I Read 100+ Books a Year

By Courtney Smith | January 22, 2021

5 World War II-Era Novels Featuring Brave Women Who Persevere

By Abby Zidle | January 21, 2021

10 Books about Iconic Women We’re Reading to Celebrate the First Female VP

By Maddie Ehrenreich | January 20, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your Favorite Reads of 2020 (and What to Read Next)

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 19, 2021

Book Club Favorites: 6 Books We Can’t Wait to Talk about This Year

By Holly Claytor | January 18, 2021

Close
The Dressmaker of Khair Khana
by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon

If you loved A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS by Khaled Hosseini

A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS is no doubt the novel to read about Afghan history and family. Following the reading of this incredible chronicle, we recommend you pick up Lemmon’s THE DRESSMAKER OF KHAIR KHANA, the true story of a young female entrepreneur who brought hope to dozens of women in war-torn Kabul in the wake of the Taliban’s rise to power.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Dressmaker of Khair Khana
Gayle Tzemach Lemmon

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

If You Loved These Novels, Read These Fascinating Nonfiction Books

By Erin Madison | January 8, 2019

Close

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.