Share 5 Out-of-This-World Books for Fans of “First Man”

5 Out-of-This-World Books for Fans of “First Man”

Ana Perez is an Associate Marketing Manager for Education & Library at Simon & Schuster. Her love affair with literature officially began in fifth grade after reading The Giver by Lois Lowry, and has not stopped since. Her favorite books include Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins, and anything by Margaret Atwood. Aside from reading, she adores baking, birding, astronomy, and hiking. Follow her adventures on Instagram: @motjustes.

 

Space and astronauts have long captivated the imaginations of many—including myself. The men and women who risk their lives in the name of science have been a perennial source of interest, and to read biographies and autobiographies recounting their ascent to the heavens (or assist from the ground—looking at you, Gene Kranz) puts into focus their dedication and sacrifice. After you’ve watched Ryan Gosling shoot for the moon in First Man, open any one of these books and continue that sense of exploration.


First Man
by James R. Hansen
FIRST MAN is an examination of Neil Armstrong’s life and is a stellar addition to the canon not only of biographies, but of investigative and journalistic writing as well. Laced with great anecdotes about Armstrong’s childhood love of model airplanes, his naval assignment in Korea, becoming a test pilot, and his stints in the Gemini and Apollo space programs, Hansen gives us the trajectory of an ambitious man. And, after propelling human progress moonward, Neil’s legacy, which straddles two universes, civilian and astronaut, was forever altered after one eclipsed the other.
First Man
James R. Hansen

MENTIONED IN:

5 Out-of-This-World Books for Fans of “First Man”

By Ana Perez | December 6, 2018

The Intriguing Story of the Down-to-Earth Man Who Was First on the Moon

By James R. Hansen | July 16, 2014

Close

Failure Is Not an Option
by Gene Kranz
Gene Kranz’s memoir is a genuine tale of patriotism and heroism. This veteran NASA flight director recounts his life with deftness and charm, and provides practical advice on leadership and teamwork. As an integral part of the manned space program, Kranz delivers behind-the-scenes stories of some of the nation’s most historic events. If you’ve ever seen Apollo 13, Gene is played by Ed Harris, who dons Gene’s signature vest during his time in Mission Control. This is essential reading for anyone interested in space flight, as it gives a fascinating look at the entire process from the teams on the ground.
Failure Is Not an Option
Gene Kranz

This memoir of a veteran NASA flight director tells riveting stories from the early days of the Mercury program through Apollo 11 (the moon landing) and Apollo 13, for both of which Kranz was flight director.

MENTIONED IN:

5 Out-of-This-World Books for Fans of “First Man”

By Ana Perez | December 6, 2018

9 Fantastic Feats of Engineering

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 7, 2014

Out of This World: 7 Books to Help If You Are Lost In Space

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 17, 2014

To Infinity and Beyond: The Thrilling Story of How We Put a Man on the Moon

By Etinosa Agbonlahor | July 14, 2014

Close

Sally Ride
by Lynn Sherr
Told with great intimacy, the biography of Sally Ride is one of the best profiles of human greatness. Sally Ride was the first woman in space, and in this engaging book you’ll learn she was so much more. Through her dedication to excellence she constantly defied expectations to break into several male-dominated fields. Her life demonstrates how far females have come in this field, but also how far we have yet to go. She is a true feminist pioneer and forever altered the space agency’s culture.
Sally Ride
Lynn Sherr

Sally Ride made history as the first American woman in space, breaking through a quarter century of white male fighter jocks when NASA chose her for the seventh shuttle mission. Written by the ABC reporter who covered NASA during its transformation from a test-pilot boys’ club to a more inclusive elite, Sally Ride is the definitive biography of the bold and talented woman who cracked the celestial ceiling and inspired several generations of women.

MENTIONED IN:

5 Out-of-This-World Books for Fans of “First Man”

By Ana Perez | December 6, 2018

12 Inspiring Books About Women Who Changed the World

By Erica Nelson | March 8, 2017

The XY Factor: 13 True Tales of Women Who Changed Science

By Julianna Haubner | January 5, 2017

11 Essential Reads for Women’s History Month

By Caitlin Kleinschmidt | March 10, 2015

Out of This World: 7 Books to Help If You Are Lost In Space

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 17, 2014

Close

Chasing Space
by Leland Melvin
Leland Melvin’s life is the textbook definition of grit. In his memoir he explores the challenges he had to overcome in order to become an astronaut. He dealt with many difficulties (including loss of his hearing during astronaut training) and, throughout every setback, exemplified perseverance at its finest. Not only does he reveal wisdom about self-determination, but he also promotes the importance of communities as personality builders. As the only person to catch a pass both in the NFL and in space, Melvin’s story is truly amazing and inspiring. His infectious brand of optimism radiates from these pages and will make you feel that anything is possible.
Chasing Space
Leland Melvin

MENTIONED IN:

5 Out-of-This-World Books for Fans of “First Man”

By Ana Perez | December 6, 2018

Close

Packing for Mars
by Mary Roach
While this is not an astronaut biography, it is a fascinating adventure told through the science of space travel. Conveyed in the lighthearted and accessible manner only Mary Roach can provide, this is a hilarious and educational exploration of what occurs to the human body (and brain!) up in space. It contains stories and facts that illuminate a reality only a few of us can truly experience, but all of us can be familiar with and astounded by. This book is not only for space-obsessed earth dwellers, but will also appeal to anyone who enjoys popular science and trivia.

Read the full review of PACKING FOR MARS.
Packing for Mars
Mary Roach

For space geeks

Take an entertaining trip into the science of life in space. The brilliant and hilarious science writer Mary Roach paints an intricate portrait of how things actually work when human beings go into space, from the mundane—attending to basic human needs such as air and water—to the luxuries of beer and privacy.

MENTIONED IN:

5 Out-of-This-World Books for Fans of “First Man”

By Ana Perez | December 6, 2018

10 Books on Astrophysics That Will Make You Neil deGrasse Tyson-Smart

By Sarah Jane Abbott | April 14, 2017

15 Books for Literally Every Reader in Your Life

By Erica Nelson | November 28, 2016

What Really Happens When We Go Into Space

By Brady Clemens | April 29, 2016

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.