Share Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

Many of our longtime Off the Shelf subscribers have already discovered “Your Shelf” on our website. If you’re new here, you can create your own reading list from books you find on OfftheShelf.com with our “Your Shelf” feature.

To start building “Your Shelf,” simply sign up for an Off the Shelf account. Then, when you see a book you want to add to your reading list, click “Add to Your Shelf” below the book cover, and we’ll save your favorites for you.

These are the 10 “most shelved” books on Off the Shelf right now.


The Last Equation of Isaac Severy
by Nova Jacobs

Just days after mathematician and family patriarch Isaac Severy dies of an apparent suicide, his adopted granddaughter Hazel, owner of a struggling Seattle bookstore, receives a letter from him by mail. In it, Isaac alludes to a secretive organization that is after his final bombshell equation, and he charges Hazel with safely delivering it to a trusted colleague. But first, she must find where the equation is hidden.

Learn how to read as many books as possible.

The Last Equation of Isaac Severy
Nova Jacobs

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in October

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 26, 2018

8 Great Books to Read When You Need a Break From Politics

By Julianna Haubner | October 16, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win the Ultimate Book Lovers Prize Pack

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 10, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

12 Tips for How to Read as Many Books as Possible

By Taylor Noel | April 5, 2018

Close

Another Brooklyn
by Jacqueline Woodson
Jacqueline Woodson’s acclaimed novel ANOTHER BROOKLYN heartbreakingly illuminates the promise and peril of growing up. Running into a long-ago friend sets into motion memories from the 1970s for August, transporting her to a time and a place where friendship was everything—until it wasn’t.
Another Brooklyn
Jacqueline Woodson

MENTIONED IN:

10 Books That Are Small But Mighty

By Sarah Jane Abbott | September 21, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

12 Tips for How to Read as Many Books as Possible

By Taylor Noel | April 5, 2018

Close

In the Woods
by Tana French

As dusk approaches a small Dublin suburb in the summer of 1984, three children enter the woods and do not return. When the police arrive, they find only one, Rob Ryan. Twenty years later, Rob is a detective on the Dublin Murder Squad and finds himself investigating a twelve-year-old girl’s murder in the same woods.

Read the full review of IN THE WOODS.

In the Woods
Tana French

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

The Amazing Crime Novelist You Don’t Want to Miss

By Nova Jacobs | March 7, 2018

15 Books to Read Around the Campfire

By Christine Carbo | June 19, 2017

13 Irish Writers to Read this St. Patrick’s Day

By Sarah Jane Abbott | March 15, 2016

Gone Girl Withdrawal: 11 Books to Read If You Love Gillian Flynn

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 2, 2014

Close

The Other Side of Everything
by Lauren Doyle Owens

Fans of mysteries and crime novels from Laura Lippman and Megan Abbott will love this debut. Bernard White is a curmudgeonly widower who has lived in Seven Springs, Florida, for decades and has kept to himself since his wife passed. When his neighbor is murdered, he emerges from his solitude to reconnect with his fellow octogenarians. These connections become a literal lifeline as a second, and then a third, elderly woman is murdered, and “the originals,” as they call themselves, realize that they are being targeted.

Here are more book club favorites you must read this spring.

The Other Side of Everything
Lauren Doyle Owens

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

8 Favorites Your Book Club Must Read This Spring

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 20, 2018

Close

The Star Side of Bird Hill
by Naomi Jackson
Naomi Jackson’s lyrical debut novel about community, betrayal, and love centers on two sisters who are exiled from Brooklyn to Bird Hill in Barbados after their mother can no longer care for them. In the summer of 1989, the young Phaedra and her older sister, Dionne, go to live with their grandmother Hyacinth. The story builds to a crisis when the father they barely know comes to Bird Hill to reclaim his daughters, and the girls must choose between the Brooklyn they once knew and loved or the Barbados of their family.
The Star Side of Bird Hill
Naomi Jackson

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

8 Favorites Your Book Club Must Read This Spring

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 20, 2018

Close

The Tumbling Turner Sisters
by Juliette Fay

Set in the world of American vaudeville, this novel follows Nell, a widow, and her three teenage daughters as they set out on the vaudeville circuit to support themselves. Among an array of diverse performers, the four women find a new sense of freedom, but they also must face the seedy and dangerous side of early-twentieth-century American theater.

Check out more books for fans of Louisa May Alcott’s LITTLE WOMEN.

The Tumbling Turner Sisters
Juliette Fay

Read with a Whiskey Sour

Pour yourself a whiskey sour and dive into the world of this compelling historical novel set against the turbulent backdrop of American vaudeville. In THE TUMBLING TURNER SISTERS, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure in the company of traveling vaudeville acts in a last-ditch effort to rescue their family financially.

Close

Fitness Junkie
by Lucy Sykes & Jo Piazza

FITNESS JUNKIE follows Janey Sweet, a recently ousted CEO of a wedding dress company, who throws herself into the world of expensive fitness classes, juice cleanses, and exclusive getaway retreats. While Janey’s situation is an extreme absurdity, there’s not much of a gap between her world and ours, where people pay thousands of dollars a year to sit on a stationary bike or eat clay instead of carbs.

Here are more books you may have missed in 2017.

Fitness Junkie
Lucy Sykes & Jo Piazza

Close

The Untethered Soul
by Michael A. Singer

Whether this is your first exploration of inner space, or you’ve devoted your life to the inward journey, this book will transform your relationship with yourself and the world around you. You’ll discover what you can do to put an end to the habitual thoughts and emotions that limit your consciousness. EVERY NOTE PLAYED author Lisa Genova says “This gem of a book was transformational for me.”

See more of Lisa Genova’s favorite books.

The Untethered Soul
Michael A. Singer

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

8 Favorite Books on Bestselling Author Lisa Genova’s Bookshelf

By Lisa Genova | March 22, 2018

Close

Three Wishes
by Liane Moriarty

Liane Moriarty’s novel about female triplets is the perfect read for fans of This Is Us. Lyn, Cat, and Gemma Kettle, like Kate, Kevin, and Randall, share an unbreakable bond despite their differences and the directions their lives take. The novels follow the ups, downs, and fantastic frustrations of being a trio through their 33rd year with lots of laughter and tears.

Discover more books for fans of This Is Us.

Three Wishes
Liane Moriarty

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

Love “This Is Us?” Here Are the 11 Books You Need to Read

By Julianna Haubner | January 3, 2018

Close

Love and Other Consolation Prizes
by Jamie Ford

Ernest Young, a 12-year-old half-Chinese orphan, finds himself up for auction “to a good home” at the 1909 Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition in Seattle, where the winning ticket belongs to the madam of a high-class brothel. Deftly navigating past and present, Ernest tries to hide his complicated past from his adult daughters.

Discover more historical novels to add to Your Shelf.

Love and Other Consolation Prizes
Jamie Ford

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

9 Historical Novels That Offer New Perspectives of Our World

By Erin Flaaen | April 2, 2018

The 10 Best Books We Read in 2017

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 5, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.