Share 10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

Keturah Jenkins is a marketing professional who has managed campaigns for Pops by Terry Teachout, Ellie Griffith’s The Crossing Places and attended several comic conventions to promote The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien and The Best American Comics. A lifelong reader of speculative fiction and the kind of fangirl who would stand in line for seven hours so Neil Gaiman could sign Sandman Vol 3: Dream Country. One of her favorite novels is It by Stephen King, which she revisits every summer, this last time on audio.

There’s a change happening. The air is starting to feel crisp, and the temperature is slowly dropping. Fall is here, and we thought you would enjoy recommendations for new titles to add to your book club TBR list. Here are ten book club selections: surprise sequels, historical fiction, a timeless classic, and quite a few bestsellers to help you get excited for reading this fall. So, choose which title your club is going to read first, grab your glass of wine, and get ready to discuss! We know you won’t be disappointed with any title on this list; there’s something here for every reader. Cheers.


The Braid
by Laetitia Colombani

Laetitia Colombani's international bestseller, THE BRAID, is the arresting story of three women separated by three continents but bound by their courage in the face of adversity.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Braid
Laetitia Colombani

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

Close

The Light Over London
by Julia Kelly

Julia Kelly's latest novel is a must-read for fans of sweeping historical fiction with an added touch of romance and mystery. THE LIGHT OVER LONDON portrays two exceptional women from different generations who rose to the challenges and discovered an inner strength neither knew they possessed.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Light Over London
Julia Kelly

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This September

By Alice Martin | September 16, 2019

Close

The World That We Knew
by Alice Hoffman

Master storyteller, Alice Hoffman’s latest novel deftly weaves a fantastical tale of good versus evil and asks the question: What wouldn’t a mother do to save her child? THE WORLD THAT WE KNEW follows the heartbreaking journey of three unforgettable young women determined to escape the evils of the Nazi Regime during World War II. Taking place in Berlin and France, this gorgeously written novel is sure to be a book club favorite for fans of historical fiction and magical realism.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The World That We Knew
Alice Hoffman

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Must-Read Novels That Will Add Magic to Your Literary Diet

By Sarah Jane Abbott | October 4, 2019

8 Best Book Club Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

By Hannah Schaffer | October 1, 2019

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

Close

The Library Book
by Susan Orlean

If you love books, and I know that you do, then your next book club read should be THE LIBRARY BOOK, a captivating examination of the unsolved Los Angeles Public Library fire of 1986. Susan Orlean dazzles readers with a deep dive into the facts to discover who was responsible for the fire that burned for seven hours and consumed 400,000 books. Was suspected arsonist and actor Harry Peak the culprit that got away? A Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick that will resonate with anyone who has spent hours nestled in the corner of a library immersed in a book.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Library Book
Susan Orlean

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Must-Read Books New in Paperback This October

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 14, 2019

Readers’ Choice: Our 10 Most Popular Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 27, 2019

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

Close

Ordinary Grace
by William Kent Krueger

From New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger comes the deeply memorable novel ORDINARY GRACE, about the loss of innocence and how the murder of a young woman shifted the foundation of a small town during the eventful summer of 1961. Dennis Lehane calls the novel “Pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative.” Perfect for fans of TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD and PEACE LIKE A RIVER.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Ordinary Grace
William Kent Krueger

When tragedy unexpectedly comes to call on his family, thirteen-year-old Frank Drum finds himself thrust into a world of secrets, adultery, and betrayal. Set in 1961, Ordinary Grace is the story of what a shocking murder does to a boy standing at the door of adulthood and the fabric of a small Minnesota town.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

William Kent Krueger Shares His 10 Favorite Coming-of-Age Tales

By William Kent Krueger | September 25, 2019

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

15 Edgar-Winning Mystery and True Crime Books

By Sarah Jane Abbott | April 27, 2017

12 Literary Families to Invite Over for Thanksgiving

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 19, 2015

Books We Love For Moms We Love: 10 Books for Mother’s Day

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 28, 2015

Close

The Winter Sister
by Megan Collins

How well do you know your family? In this haunting debut mystery, Sylvie returns home after sixteen years to care for her estranged mother during her battle with cancer and is forced to face the painful truth about the disappearance and murder of her sister, Persephone. THE WINTER SISTER is a dark and gripping look at the complex nature of family relationships that will keep you guessing until the end.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Winter Sister
Megan Collins

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

8 Books for Grownups Who Love Fairytales and Folklore

By Hannah Schaffer | August 28, 2019

Close

Another Brooklyn
by Jacqueline Woodson

Thirty-five-year-old August, now a successful anthropologist, returns home to attend the funeral of her father and runs into an old childhood friend. This unexpected encounter shakes loose bittersweet memories of her youth spent growing up in Brooklyn during the 1970s. For fans of female friendships and coming-of-age stories, ANOTHER BROOKLYN is Jacqueline Woodson’s declaration of love to black girlhood and the friends who made that time seem like it would last forever.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Another Brooklyn
Jacqueline Woodson

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

Readers’ Choice: The Top 25 Most Shelved Books of the Year!

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 24, 2018

10 Books That Are Small But Mighty

By Sarah Jane Abbott | September 21, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 27, 2018

12 Tips for How to Read as Many Books as Possible

By Taylor Noel | April 5, 2018

Close

The Testaments
by Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood delivers the highly anticipated sequel to THE HANDMAID’S TALE. THE TESTAMENTS takes place fifteen years after Offred enters the van unsure of her future and introduces three female narrators from Gilead. Directly from Atwood: “Dear reader: Everything you've ever asked me about Gilead and its inner workings is the inspiration for this book.”

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Testaments
Margaret Atwood

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

Close

Here Comes the Sun
by Nicole Dennis-Benn

In HERE COMES THE SUN, award-winning author Nicole Dennis-Benn deftly explores Jamaican culture through the lens of race, poverty, the working class, religion, homophobia, and the darker side of tourism unseen by the tourist.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Here Comes the Sun
Nicole Dennis-Benn

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

Close

The Bluest Eye
by Toni Morrison

The tragedy of Pecola Breedlove was the first story Toni Morrison gifted to us—an enduring classic from the recently departed Nobel and Pulitzer Prize–winning author. THE BLUEST EYE is a searing exploration of race, racism, and a child’s blinding desire to belong. My all-time favorite Toni Morrison novel, as relevant a read today as it was when it was first published more than forty years ago.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Bluest Eye
Toni Morrison

Pecola Breedlove is a young black girl who prays every day for the blonde hair and blue eyes that she believes will allow her to fit in with her peers. This novel is a powerful examination of beauty, conformity, race, class, and gender from the legendary Toni Morrison.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up to This Fall

By Keturah Jenkins | September 24, 2019

9 Remarkable Stories You Need to Read During Banned Books Week

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 23, 2019

13 Banned Books That Will Always Have a Place on Our Shelves

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 29, 2016

13 Significant Books on Civil Rights for Martin Luther King Jr. Day

By Hilary Krutt | January 14, 2016

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.