Share What to Read Based on Your Favorite “Twilight Zone” Episode

What to Read Based on Your Favorite “Twilight Zone” Episode

Kerry Fiallo is a New York native and copywriter at Simon & Schuster. A lifelong voracious reader, she has a particular fondness for ghost stories, history, and anything to do with Mary Shelley, Ada Lovelace, and the Brontë sisters. The only thing she may love more than books is black tea, but they do often go well together. You can find her as she navigates through literature and history on Twitter @ReadingInNYC.

Fans of classic TV, spooky stories, and Jordan Peele have plenty to celebrate this month with the return of The Twilight Zone on CBS All Access. Covering science fiction, horror, and fantasy, this anthology series features remarkable tales that have influenced authors since its inception in the 1950s. To celebrate the show’s latest revival, enter a new dimension with some great novels reminiscent of classic Twilight Zone episodes.


11/22/63
by Stephen King

If you’ve ever fantasized about changing history like in “Back There

When an English teacher discovers that the local diner is host to a time portal, he is enlisted to go back in time and prevent the assassination of President Kennedy. A remarkable and expansive novel by a master storyteller, 11/22/63 investigates the intoxicating and very human desire to change the past and its devastating effects.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
11/22/63
Stephen King

“Regardless of what genre of literature one prefers, 11/22/63 comes down to this: it is a gripping, harrowing, tragic, and beautiful story about love, memory, evil, and how the best of intentions can go awry... This is King for the faint of heart, for the history buff, for the romantic—for everyone.”

Read the full review here.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

On the Road: 5 Books That Took Me Coast to Coast This Summer

By Amy Cardoza | October 8, 2019

11 Groovy Books That Will Transport You Back to the ‘60s

By Hannah Schaffer | August 16, 2019

14 Books You Wish You Could Read for the First Time Again

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 31, 2019

What to Read Based on Your Favorite “Twilight Zone” Episode

By Kerry Fiallo | April 1, 2019

I Have a Theory: Conspiracy Books Are the Best

By Julianna Haubner | August 16, 2018

13 Stephen King Books for Every Kind of Reader

By Sarah Jane Abbott | September 21, 2017

Close

The Obsoletes
by Simeon Mills

If you’ve ever wondered about the convergence of humanity with artificial intelligence like in “The Lateness of the Hour

A coming-of-age novel unlike any other, THE OBSOLETES follows twin brothers who are going through the typical ups and downs of adolescence while hiding a deep secret: they’re actually androids. Can they survive in a world that distrusts robots? A smart, moving, and innovative exploration of what it means to be human, THE OBSOLETES is a compellingly unique work of science fiction.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Obsoletes
Simeon Mills

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

What to Read Based on Your Favorite “Twilight Zone” Episode

By Kerry Fiallo | April 1, 2019

Close

The Status of All Things
by Liz Fenton

If you wish you could write your reality into being like in “A World of His Own

What if you had the ability to change reality with just a couple keystrokes? In THE STATUS OF ALL THINGS, a thirtysomething woman discovers that whatever she posts on Facebook happens in real life. Charming, witty, and whimsical, this is an unputdownable look at how social media affects our lives.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Status of All Things
Liz Fenton

What would you do if you could literally rewrite your fate—on Facebook? This heartwarming and hilarious new novel from the authors of Your Perfect Life follows a woman who discovers she can change her life through online status updates.

Kate is a thirty-five-year-old woman who is obsessed with social media. So when her fiancé, Max, breaks things off at their rehearsal dinner—to be with Kate’s close friend and coworker, no less—she goes straight to Facebook to share it with the world. But something’s changed. Suddenly, Kate’s real life starts to mirror whatever she writes in her Facebook status. With all the power at her fingertips, and heartbroken and confused over why Max left her, Kate goes back in time to rewrite their history.

Kate's two best friends, Jules and Liam, are the only ones who know the truth. In order to convince them she’s really time traveled, Kate offers to use her Facebook status to help improve their lives. But her attempts to help them don’t go exactly as planned, and every effort to get Max back seems to only backfire, causing Kate to wonder if it’s really possible to change her fate.

In The Status of All Things, Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke combine the humor and heart of Sarah Pekkanen and Jennifer Weiner while exploring the pitfalls of posting your entire life on the Internet. They raise the questions: What if you could create your picture-perfect life? Would you be happy? Would you still be you? For anyone who’s ever attempted—or failed—to be their perfect self online, this is a story of wisdom and wit that will leave you with new appreciation for the true status of your life.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

What to Read Based on Your Favorite “Twilight Zone” Episode

By Kerry Fiallo | April 1, 2019

Close

The Martian
by Andy Weir

If you’re fascinated by and frightened of space travel like in “Where Is Everybody?

We’re all afraid of isolation, and that fear is fully explored in the modern sci-fi classic THE MARTIAN. Astronaut Mark Watney has been stranded on Mars. Now, totally alone and reliant on only himself and his wits, he must not only survive but somehow let Earth know he’s still alive. This is a compelling tale of survival and human ingenuity.

Read the full review of THE MARTIAN.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Martian
Andy Weir

Stuck on Mars after a space mission gone awry, astronaut Mark Watney makes a desperate bid to survive despite near-impossible odds. The adaptation stars Matt Damon, who has some experience with stranded spacemen—he was in Christopher Nolan’s Interstellar just last year. But don’t get the two tales confused: according to Damon himself, The Martian is “totally f****** different.”

Release date: October 2, 2015

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

What to Read Based on Your Favorite “Twilight Zone” Episode

By Kerry Fiallo | April 1, 2019

10 Great American Reads Definitely Worth Your Time

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 3, 2018

The 5 Best Books I’ve Read This Month

By Meagan Harris | November 8, 2017

15 Favorite Novels from 15 Favorite Authors

By Taylor Noel | September 7, 2017

8 Glorious and Triumphant Novels of Scientific Discovery

By A.J. Banner | January 21, 2016

Matt Damon and the Unexpected Pleasure of Science and Space

By Julianna Haubner | September 21, 2015

Close

The Regulars
by Georgia Clark

If you’ve ever worried about impossible beauty standards like in “Number 12 Looks Just Like You

Three friends are struggling through their quarter-life crises when they discover a magical tincture that makes them stunningly gorgeous. But their newfound beauty comes with dangerous consequences in this fascinating, sharply written cautionary tale that warns us to be careful what we wish for.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Regulars
Georgia Clark

-Redbook Best of the Year Pick
-PopSugar’s Best Books of the Year
-Teen Vogue’s Best Books of the Year
-Reading with Robin 2016 Favorite

A fierce, feisty, and “compulsively delicious” (Redbook) debut with a magical twist about three ordinary, regular young women who suddenly have their fantasies come true…or do they?

Best friends Evie, Krista, and Willow are just trying to make it through their mid-twenties in New York. With average looks and typical quarter-life crises, they’re trying to make it up the corporate ladder, make sense of online dating, and make rent.

Until they come across Pretty, a magic tincture that makes them, well...gorgeous. Like, supermodel gorgeous. And it’s certainly not their fault if the sudden gift of beauty causes unexpected doors to open for them.

But there’s a dark side to Pretty, too, and as the gloss fades for these modern-day Cinderellas, there’s just one question left:

What would you sacrifice to be Pretty?

Wildly irreverent, blatantly sexy, and observed with pitch-perfect wit, The Regulars is a fresh, “twisted, modern-day take on Cinderella.” (InStyle), perfect for fans of Jennifer Close and Kevin Kwan.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

What to Read Based on Your Favorite “Twilight Zone” Episode

By Kerry Fiallo | April 1, 2019

Close

Heart-Shaped Box
by Joe Hill

If you’ve ever wondered if the dead stay behind to haunt the living like in “Dead Man’s Shoes

When an aging rock star buys a dead man’s suit for his ghoulishly morbid collection, his entire life is turned upside down. The suit contains the spirit of its previous owner, and this dastardly ghost has deadly plans for the rocker. A fast-paced, thrilling, and thoroughly scary novel, HEART-SHAPED BOX is a delightfully nightmarish ghost story.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Heart-Shaped Box
Joe Hill

Joe Hill’s beautifully textured, deliciously scary debut novel delivers good old-fashioned skin-crawling terror when a jaded rock star is haunted by a ghost he purchased on the internet. (Stephen King fans take note: Joe Hill is one of his sons.)

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

What to Read Based on Your Favorite “Twilight Zone” Episode

By Kerry Fiallo | April 1, 2019

Our 13 Favorite Ghost Stories—Just in Time for Halloween!

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 26, 2017

A Bookish Playlist: 10 Books Inspired By Famous Songs

By Kerry Fiallo | August 2, 2017

10 Frightening Recommendations from a Best-selling Horror Author

By Ania Ahlborn | January 22, 2016

Close

Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.