Share 9 Books for Fans of “Twin Peaks”

9 Books for Fans of “Twin Peaks”

Kerry Fiallo is a New York native and copywriter at Simon & Schuster. A lifelong voracious reader, she has a particular fondness for ghost stories, history, and anything to do with Mary Shelley, Ada Lovelace, and the Brontë sisters. The only thing she may love more than books is black tea, but they do often go well together. You can find her as she navigates through literature and history on Twitter @ReadingInNYC and on Tumblr.

Fans have been waiting more than a quarter of a century to return to Twin Peaks and discover what has happened to Special Agent Dale Cooper, Audrey, and our other favorite characters from the cult TV series.  We’re now in the home stretch before the new show airs on Showtime. There’s just enough time for you to read these fascinating and eerie titles, all inspired by or derived directly from the “Twin Peaks” story line.


The Secret History of Twin Peaks
by Mark Frost
With journal entries, newspaper clippings, and photographs, this uniquely compelling novel explores the dark and otherworldly history of the famous fictional town of Twin Peaks. Written by Mark Frost, one of the co-creators of the series, THE SECRET HISTORY OF TWIN PEAKS is the perfect companion for fans who long to visit the mysterious and uncanny town.

The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer
by Jennifer Lynch
Written by the daughter of David Lynch (a “Twin Peaks” co-creator), THE SECRET DIARY OF LAURA PALMER is comprised of the haunting, fictional diary entries of the teenager whose murder opened the television series. Deliciously creepy and filled with melancholy suspense, it delves deep into one of the most famous characters of the 1990s.

The Leftovers
by Tom Perrotta
In a small town, suddenly and without warning, dozens of residents vanish. Those left behind are traumatized and struggling to both understand and heal. A stunning and provocative novel, THE LEFTOVERS uses extraordinary circumstances to explore the tensions and fears within ordinary lives. Bonus: there’s a great HBO series adaptation of this one that you should watch after “Twin Peaks.”

The Girls in the Garden
by Lisa Jewell
A suspenseful and twist-filled domestic thriller, Lisa Jewell expertly weaves strands of fear and paranoia in this scenic suburban community. When a young girl is found beaten unconscious during a party, neighbors begin to view one another with deep distrust and unease.

David Lynch: The Man from Another Place
by Dennis Lim
This is a concise yet comprehensive study of the life and career of the iconic and multifaceted American filmmaker. More than a biography, it explores David Lynch’s fascinating body of work in a way as surreal and evocative as its subject matter.

Odd Thomas
by Dean Koontz
Thomas is a fry cook who has an interesting talent: communicating with the dead. He reluctantly gets swept up in a race to stop a colossal calamity that could affect the living and the dead, the past and the future. Clever and clear-eyed, ODD THOMAS is an eerie and breathless page-turner with an unforgettable hero.

Needful Things
by Stephen King
When an odd curio shop opens up in a small Maine town, the residents have no idea that everything is for sale at a frighteningly steep price. Atmospheric with strikingly evocative prose, NEEDFUL THINGS is King’s classic warning to be careful what you wish for.

Coyote Blue
by Christopher Moore
Christopher Moore brings his irreverent humor to this tale of an insurance salesman encountering the ancient trickster god Coyote. Of course, having a trickster god in your life is going to throw everything—including your love life—into chaos. This is a hilariously moving adventure filled with magic and redemption.

Mostly Void, Partially Stars: Welcome to Night Vale Episodes
by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor
Travel to Night Vale—a mysterious yet inviting small town—with this collection of the beloved podcast’s episode transcripts. Along with exclusive commentaries, introductions by the series’s creators, actors, and fans, and gorgeous illustrations, this is the perfect companion for new and longtime fans of the “Welcome to Night Vale” podcast.

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create and Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.