Share Marshmallows, Take Note: 5 Books for Fans of Veronica Mars

Marshmallows, Take Note: 5 Books for Fans of Veronica Mars

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

You watched all three seasons of the series (possibly multiple times), you backed the Kickstarter campaign and then you waited, for a year, in eager anticipation of the long overdue Veronica Mars movie. The wait is over, but so is the movie—so we put together a list of books with enough murder mystery, girl power, class warfare, and quippy one-liners to fill that Veronica-sized void in your life. Also, did you guys know that before Rob Thomas created Veronica Mars he wrote several popular YA novels? We’ve got one of those in here too.


The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, "The Hunger Games," a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed.

The Hunger Games
Suzanne Collins

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, "The Hunger Games," a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed.

MENTIONED IN:

10 Favorites from the Founder of PopSugar

By Lisa Sugar | October 3, 2016

Marshmallows, Take Note: 5 Books for Fans of Veronica Mars

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 18, 2014

Close

Modesty Blaise
by Peter O'Donnell

In her first adventure for British Intelligence Modesty Blaise with her loyal lieutenant, Willie Garvin, must foil a multi-million pound diamond heist. They travel from London to the South of France, across the Mediterranean to Cairo before battling, against impossible odds, a private army of professional killers.

Modesty Blaise
Peter O'Donnell

In her first adventure for British Intelligence Modesty Blaise with her loyal lieutenant, Willie Garvin, must foil a multi-million pound diamond heist. They travel from London to the South of France, across the Mediterranean to Cairo before battling, against impossible odds, a private army of professional killers.

MENTIONED IN:

Marshmallows, Take Note: 5 Books for Fans of Veronica Mars

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 18, 2014

Close

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
by Stieg Larsson
This is the first of the 3 novels by author Stieg Larsson. Now after over 40 years of being missing, a prominent member of one of Swedens wealthiest families who disappeared is now being sought. The missing lady is the focal point of her aged uncle and he hires a crusading journalist to investigate.
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Stieg Larsson

Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist, and tattooed punk prodigy Lisbeth Salander team up to investigate the 40 year disappearance of Harriet Vanger, a scion of one of Sweden's wealthiest families. Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo combines murder mystery, family saga, love story, and financial intrigue into one satisfyingly complex and entertainingly atmospheric novel.

MENTIONED IN:

Best Beach Reads: 14 (Extra) Long Books for (Extra) Long Days at the Beach

By Kerry Fiallo | July 3, 2017

11 Authors Whose Legacies Live On

By Amy Hendricks | May 19, 2016

Girl Crazy: 15 Literary Ladies You’ll Want to Know

By Aimee Boyer | March 29, 2016

11 Binge-Worthy Literary Series

By Emma Volk | August 27, 2015

Piper’s Prison Book Club: 10 Books from Orange Is the New Black

By Hilary Krutt | July 28, 2015

Gone Girl Withdrawal: 11 Books to Read If You Love Gillian Flynn

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 2, 2014

Close

Speak
by Laurie Halse Anderson

In Laurie Halse Anderson's powerful novel, an utterly believable heroine with a bitterly ironic voice delivers a blow to the hypocritical world of high school. She speaks for many a disenfranchised teenager while demonstrating the importance of speaking up for oneself.

Speak
Laurie Halse Anderson

In Laurie Halse Anderson's powerful novel, an utterly believable heroine with a bitterly ironic voice delivers a blow to the hypocritical world of high school. She speaks for many a disenfranchised teenager while demonstrating the importance of speaking up for oneself.

MENTIONED IN:

15 Books from Ann Patchett’s Very Long List of Favorites

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 4, 2016

13 Important Stories to Celebrate Banned Books Week

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 1, 2015

Marshmallows, Take Note: 5 Books for Fans of Veronica Mars

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 18, 2014

Close

Rats Saw God
by Rob Thomas

By his senior year, Steve York has come through the worst two years of his life. His parents have divorced, and his girlfriend has betrayed him. Worse yet, after running away to live with his mother in San Diego, forays into the drug culture have turned his A-average into a thing of the past. Steve's only hope to graduate on time and avoid summer school is to write a 100-page paper for his guidance counselor. Unfortunately, he has to write about something he knows, and all he knows well are the last two years of his life. Will his assignment help Steve pull his life back together - or cast him adrift for good?

Rats Saw God
Rob Thomas

By his senior year, Steve York has come through the worst two years of his life. His parents have divorced, and his girlfriend has betrayed him. Worse yet, after running away to live with his mother in San Diego, forays into the drug culture have turned his A-average into a thing of the past. Steve's only hope to graduate on time and avoid summer school is to write a 100-page paper for his guidance counselor. Unfortunately, he has to write about something he knows, and all he knows well are the last two years of his life. Will his assignment help Steve pull his life back together - or cast him adrift for good?

MENTIONED IN:

Marshmallows, Take Note: 5 Books for Fans of Veronica Mars

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 18, 2014

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create and Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.