Marshmallows, Take Note: 5 Books for Fans of Veronica Mars

March 18 2014
Share Marshmallows, Take Note: 5 Books for Fans of Veronica Mars

You watched all three seasons of the series (possibly multiple times), you backed the Kickstarter campaign and then you waited, for a year, in eager anticipation of the long overdue Veronica Mars movie. The wait is over, but so is the movie—so we put together a list of books with enough murder mystery, girl power, class warfare, and quippy one-liners to fill that Veronica-sized void in your life. Also, did you guys know that before Rob Thomas created Veronica Mars he wrote several popular YA novels? We’ve got one of those in here too.

The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, "The Hunger Games," a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Hunger Games
Suzanne Collins

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, "The Hunger Games," a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Lush, Lively Books to Remind You Spring’s Just Around the Corner

By Jennifer Proffitt | March 5, 2021

Masterful Storytelling: 10 Novels Worth Savoring

By Alice Martin | March 4, 2021

10 Absorbing Reads That Bring Real Women of History Back to Life

By Emily Lewis | March 3, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your 9 Favorite Classics and What to Read Next

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 2, 2021

March eBook Deals: 10 Enthralling Reads to Add to Your Digital Library

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 1, 2021

The 10 Most Popular Books of February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 26, 2021

Close
Modesty Blaise
by Peter O'Donnell

In her first adventure for British Intelligence Modesty Blaise with her loyal lieutenant, Willie Garvin, must foil a multi-million pound diamond heist. They travel from London to the South of France, across the Mediterranean to Cairo before battling, against impossible odds, a private army of professional killers.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Indiebound logo
Modesty Blaise
Peter O'Donnell

In her first adventure for British Intelligence Modesty Blaise with her loyal lieutenant, Willie Garvin, must foil a multi-million pound diamond heist. They travel from London to the South of France, across the Mediterranean to Cairo before battling, against impossible odds, a private army of professional killers.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Lush, Lively Books to Remind You Spring’s Just Around the Corner

By Jennifer Proffitt | March 5, 2021

Masterful Storytelling: 10 Novels Worth Savoring

By Alice Martin | March 4, 2021

10 Absorbing Reads That Bring Real Women of History Back to Life

By Emily Lewis | March 3, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your 9 Favorite Classics and What to Read Next

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 2, 2021

March eBook Deals: 10 Enthralling Reads to Add to Your Digital Library

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 1, 2021

The 10 Most Popular Books of February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 26, 2021

Close
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
by Stieg Larsson

This is the first of the 3 novels by author Stieg Larsson. Now after over 40 years of being missing, a prominent member of one of Swedens wealthiest families who disappeared is now being sought. The missing lady is the focal point of her aged uncle and he hires a crusading journalist to investigate.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Stieg Larsson

Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist, and tattooed punk prodigy Lisbeth Salander team up to investigate the 40 year disappearance of Harriet Vanger, a scion of one of Sweden's wealthiest families. Stieg Larsson's THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO combines murder mystery, family saga, love story, and financial intrigue into one satisfyingly complex and entertainingly atmospheric novel.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Lush, Lively Books to Remind You Spring’s Just Around the Corner

By Jennifer Proffitt | March 5, 2021

Masterful Storytelling: 10 Novels Worth Savoring

By Alice Martin | March 4, 2021

10 Absorbing Reads That Bring Real Women of History Back to Life

By Emily Lewis | March 3, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your 9 Favorite Classics and What to Read Next

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 2, 2021

March eBook Deals: 10 Enthralling Reads to Add to Your Digital Library

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 1, 2021

The 10 Most Popular Books of February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 26, 2021

Close
Speak
by Laurie Halse Anderson

In Laurie Halse Anderson's powerful novel, an utterly believable heroine with a bitterly ironic voice delivers a blow to the hypocritical world of high school. She speaks for many a disenfranchised teenager while demonstrating the importance of speaking up for oneself.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Speak
Laurie Halse Anderson

In Laurie Halse Anderson's powerful novel, an utterly believable heroine with a bitterly ironic voice delivers a blow to the hypocritical world of high school. She speaks for many a disenfranchised teenager while demonstrating the importance of speaking up for oneself.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

Creativity Chronicles: 7 Books About Art and Artists

By Holly Claytor | March 26, 2020

15 Books from Ann Patchett’s Very Long List of Favorites

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 4, 2016

13 Important Stories to Celebrate Banned Books Week

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 1, 2015

Marshmallows, Take Note: 5 Books for Fans of Veronica Mars

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 18, 2014

Close
Rats Saw God
by Rob Thomas

By his senior year, Steve York has come through the worst two years of his life. His parents have divorced, and his girlfriend has betrayed him. Worse yet, after running away to live with his mother in San Diego, forays into the drug culture have turned his A-average into a thing of the past. Steve's only hope to graduate on time and avoid summer school is to write a 100-page paper for his guidance counselor. Unfortunately, he has to write about something he knows, and all he knows well are the last two years of his life. Will his assignment help Steve pull his life back together - or cast him adrift for good?

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Rats Saw God
Rob Thomas

By his senior year, Steve York has come through the worst two years of his life. His parents have divorced, and his girlfriend has betrayed him. Worse yet, after running away to live with his mother in San Diego, forays into the drug culture have turned his A-average into a thing of the past. Steve's only hope to graduate on time and avoid summer school is to write a 100-page paper for his guidance counselor. Unfortunately, he has to write about something he knows, and all he knows well are the last two years of his life. Will his assignment help Steve pull his life back together - or cast him adrift for good?

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

10 Lush, Lively Books to Remind You Spring’s Just Around the Corner

By Jennifer Proffitt | March 5, 2021

Masterful Storytelling: 10 Novels Worth Savoring

By Alice Martin | March 4, 2021

10 Absorbing Reads That Bring Real Women of History Back to Life

By Emily Lewis | March 3, 2021

Readers’ Choice: Your 9 Favorite Classics and What to Read Next

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 2, 2021

March eBook Deals: 10 Enthralling Reads to Add to Your Digital Library

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 1, 2021

The 10 Most Popular Books of February

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 26, 2021

Close

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.