Share 7 Books About Princesses to Read While You Wait for Season 4 of The Crown

7 Books About Princesses to Read While You Wait for Season 4 of The Crown

Season four of The Crown is right around the corner, and we know we’re not the only ones on the edges of our seats with remote in hand, awaiting its air date. The Netflix series chronicles Queen Elizabeth II’s reign, from the 1940s to modern day. With this new season, we can expect Emma Corrin to join the cast as Princess Diana – one of the most iconic women in the royal family. If you too are entranced by British history surrounding this royal family, then these seven books will be the perfect additions to your shelf.   


The Constant Princess
by Philippa Gregory

Katherine, daughter of Queen Isabella and King Ferdinand of Spain, has been betrothed to Prince Arthur of England since childhood. Although arranged, the match becomes wildly passionate. But tragically, at the age of just fifteen, Arthur falls fatally ill. Before slipping away, he makes his bride promise to marry his brother Henry to fulfill their familys dreams of ruling. Katherine must then convince both her family and the entirety of England that her marriage with Arthur was never consummated and she should be permitted to marry Henry. While enduring loneliness, despair, spies, and poverty, she awaits her time to step into the queenship role that she has prepared her whole life to take on.  

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Constant Princess
Philippa Gregory

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close

The Other Windsor Girl
by Georgie Blalock

In this story, the dazzling socialite Princess Margaret captivates everyone with her upscale fashion sense and posh ways. But this outrageous lifestyle deeply conflicts with her place as Queen Elizabeths younger sister. When Vera Strathmore comes into the picture, she entertains the princess with whatever she wants and thrusts herself into the center of Margarets complicated life. When things begin to get out of hand, and Vera wants the freedom to fulfill her own dreams, she is left with Margarets secrets and a duty to uphold.  

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo
The Other Windsor Girl
Georgie Blalock

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books About Princesses to Read While You Wait for Season 4 of The Crown

By Holly Claytor | October 6, 2020

Close

Diana
by Andrew Morton

This New York Times bestselling biography has become a literary classic. With Princess Dianas intimate and raw involvement in the telling of her story, readers are given an inside look into her unhappy marriage, her relationship with the queen, and the British monarchy as a whole. With this groundbreaking biography, Princess Dianas legacy lives on. 

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Diana
Andrew Morton

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books About Princesses to Read While You Wait for Season 4 of The Crown

By Holly Claytor | October 6, 2020

Our Gift to You: 13 of Off the Shelf’s Favorite Book Recommendations

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 25, 2017

Bop It, Pull It, Read It: 9 Essential Books on the ‘90s

By Julianna Haubner | October 5, 2017

Remembering the People’s Princess

By Elizabeth Breeden | August 31, 2017

Close

The Royal Runaway
by Lindsay Emory

Princess Theodora Isabella Victoria is back on her princess duties after getting stood up at her wedding. And she is so over it. So when she gets the chance to sneak out of the palace and meet a sexy Scot named Nick in a local bar, she takes it. But just as Thea begins to think she could lead a normal life with her new Prince Charming for the night, she realizes that Nick has other intentions. He reveals that he is the brother of her former fiancé, a British spy, and hes not above blackmail. As Thea reluctantly joins forces with Nick to find out what happened the day her fiancé disappeared, together they discover a secret that could destroy a centuries-old monarchy. 

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Royal Runaway
Lindsay Emory

For fans of The Princess Diaries and The Royal We comes a fun and daring novel about a modern-day princess who teams up with a spy to find out what happened to the fiancé who left her at the altar—and who just might get her own fairytale in the process.

Princess Theodora Isabella Victoria of Drieden of the Royal House Laurent is so over this princess thing.

After her fiancé jilted her on their wedding day, she’s finally back home after spending four months in exile—aka it’s back to press conferences, public appearances, and putting on a show for the Driedish nation as the perfect princess they expect her to be. But Thea’s sick of duty. After all, that’s what got her into this mess in the first place.

So when she sneaks out of the palace and meets a sexy Scot named Nick in a local bar, she relishes the chance to be a normal woman for a change. But just as she thinks she’s found her Prince Charming for the night, he reveals his intentions are less than honorable: he’s the brother of her former fiancé, a British spy, and he’s not above blackmail. As Thea reluctantly joins forces with Nick to find out what happened the day her fiancé disappeared, together they discover a secret that could destroy a centuries-old monarchy and change life as they know it.

Funny, fast-paced, and full of more twists and turns than the castle Thea lives in, The Royal Runaway is a fresh romantic comedy that will leave you cheering for the modern-day royal who chucks the rulebook aside to create her own happily-ever-after.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close

The Royal We
by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan

When American Bex Porter is admitted to Oxford University, she soon realizes she is living just down the hall from Prince Nicholas, the future king of Britain. Despite her resistance to love and fairy tales, Bex cant help but fall for Nick. This love story propels her into a life completely unimaginable to her. Between ritzy dinners and fabulous vacations, Bex must also navigate pesky tabloids, beautiful ex-girlfriends, and royal family drama. As the relationship grows stronger, Bex grows more and more wary. Can she reconcile the man she loves with the monarch hes fated to become? 

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo
The Royal We
Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books About Princesses to Read While You Wait for Season 4 of The Crown

By Holly Claytor | October 6, 2020

Close

American Princess
by Leslie Carroll

This biography chronicles the romance between Meghan Markle and Prince Harry, son of Princess Diana. In this irresistible story for any royal fan, readers are led through centuries of Britains rule-breaking royal marriages, as well as the love matches that were never permitted to make it to the altar. Anyone who knows and loves this public and adored couple will want to have this book in their collection.  

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo
American Princess
Leslie Carroll

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books About Princesses to Read While You Wait for Season 4 of The Crown

By Holly Claytor | October 6, 2020

Close

The Duchess
by Penny Junor

Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall, is the infamous other woman who complicated the marriage of Prince Charles and Princess Diana. British author and journalist Penny Junor writes extensively about the royal family, and in this biography, she explores the life of one of the most controversial people in British royal history. For a deep dive into this royal relationship, be sure to pick up THE DUCHESS. From game-playing and lies to insight on an incredibly difficult life, this book is packed with drama. 

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo
The Duchess
Penny Junor

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books About Princesses to Read While You Wait for Season 4 of The Crown

By Holly Claytor | October 6, 2020

Close

Photo Credit: tomertu/iStock

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.