Share 6 Fantastic Novels New in Paperback This April

6 Fantastic Novels New in Paperback This April

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

April showers bring new paperback releases, and we’re particularly excited about this bunch. This star-studded list features many of our favorite authors from the Agatha Christie of our time, Ruth Ware, to the legend behind the heart-pounding Cork O’Connor mysteries, William Kent Krueger, to an award-winning writer of the beloved novel THE ENGLISH PATIENT, Michael Ondaatje, and a few more you cannot afford to miss.


The Favorite Sister
by Jessica Knoll

This month’s Book Club Favorite’s pick is by the author of LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE, Jessica Knoll. Her timely second novel follows sisters who join the cast of a reality TV series along with three other hyper-successful women. But no one ever expected the season to end in murder…A blisteringly paced thriller, THE FAVORITE SISTER explores the invisible barriers that prevent women from rising in the ranks in today’s America and offers a scathing take on the relentless pressure to stay young, relevant, and salable.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Simon & Shuster logo
The Favorite Sister
Jessica Knoll

* * * NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * * *

“Engrossing…Deliciously savage and wildly entertaining.”—People Magazine (Book of the Week)

NO ONE EVER SUSPECTS THE GOOD ONE.

Brett and Kelly have always toed the line between supportive sisters and bitter rivals. Growing up, Brett was the problem child, in the shadow of the brilliant and beautiful Kelly. In adulthood, all that has changed. Kelly is a struggling single mother and Brett has skyrocketed to such meteoric success, which has been chronicled on a reality TV show called Goal Diggers.

When Kelly manipulates herself onto the show and into Brett’s world, Brett is right to be threatened. Kelly, and only Kelly, knows her younger sister's appalling secret, and it could ruin her.

Still, when the truth comes out in the explosive final weekend of filming, neither of them ever expected that the season would end in murder.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Simon & Shuster logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Novels New in Paperback This April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2019

Close

Warlight
by Michael Ondaatje

On former President Barack Obama’s 2018 summer reading list, WARLIGHT is a meditation on the lingering effects of Word War II on a family. After the war, when their parents move to Singapore, 14-year-old Nathaniel and his older sister, Rachel, are left behind in London in the care of a mysterious figure known as The Moth and his eccentric crew of friends. After months of silence, the siblings’ mother returns without their father or much of an explanation of his whereabouts. Years later, Nathaniel finally begins to piece together the mysteries of that time.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Warlight
Michael Ondaatje

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Novels New in Paperback This April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2019

Close

The Death of Mrs. Westaway
by Ruth Ware

While waiting for Ware’s new novel, THE TURN OF THE KEY, to hit the shelves late this summer, we’ll gladly dive into this white-knuckling thriller. Hal receives a mysterious letter bequeathing her a substantial inheritance, but is she the intended recipient? Full of spellbinding menace and told in Ruth Ware’s signature suspenseful style, this is an unforgettable thriller from the Agatha Christie of our time.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Death of Mrs. Westaway
Ruth Ware

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of In a Dark, Dark Wood, The Woman in Cabin 10, and The Lying Game comes Ruth Ware’s fourth novel, “her best yet” (Library Journal, starred review).

On a day that begins like any other, Hal receives a mysterious letter bequeathing her a substantial inheritance. She realizes very quickly that the letter was sent to the wrong person—but also that the cold-reading skills she’s honed as a tarot card reader might help her claim the money.

Soon, Hal finds herself at the funeral of the deceased…where it dawns on her that there is something very, very wrong about this strange situation and the inheritance at the center of it.

Full of spellbinding menace and told in Ruth Ware’s signature suspenseful style, this is an unputdownable thriller from the Agatha Christie of our time.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Novels New in Paperback This April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2019

Close

Tin Man
by Sarah Winman

Fans of A MAN CALLED OVE and A LITTLE LIFE have to read this stunning novel from internationally bestselling author Sarah Winman. TIN MAN is the intimate, heartbreaking story of a working-class man and all the loves and small kindnesses that make a life.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Tin Man
Sarah Winman

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Novels New in Paperback This April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2019

Close

All We Ever Wanted
by Emily Giffin

One photo snapped in a drunken moment at a party changes the lives of Nina, one of Nashville’s elite, and Tom, a single dad struggling to make ends meet. At the heart of this scandal, Nina; Tom; and his daughter, Lyla, try to make sense of it all—questioning their closest relationships, asking themselves who they really are, and searching for the courage to live a life of true meaning.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
All We Ever Wanted
Emily Giffin

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Novels New in Paperback This April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2019

Close

Desolation Mountain
by William Kent Krueger

If you’re not familiar with William Kent Krueger’s Cork O’Connor mysteries, his latest installment might be what reels you into this award-winning series. In DESOLATION MOUNTAIN, Krueger takes readers back to the Tamarack County, the atmospheric Minnesotan setting of his earlier works. Cork O’Connor and his son, Stephen, work together to uncover the truth behind the tragic plane crash of a senator on Desolation Mountain and the mysterious disappearances of first responders, the scope and consequences of which go far beyond what father or son could ever have imagined.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Desolation Mountain
William Kent Krueger

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Edgar Award-winning author William Kent Krueger delivers another heart-pounding thriller filled with “dynamic action scenes” (The New York Times) as Cork O’Connor and his son Stephen work together to uncover the truth behind the death of a senator on Desolation Mountain and the mysterious disappearances of several first responders.

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy.

To Stephen O’Connor, Hamlet’s dour observation is more than just words. All his life, he has had visions of tragedies to come. When he experiences the vision of a great bird shot from the sky, he knows something terrible is about to happen. The crash of a private plane on Desolation Mountain in a remote part of the Iron Lake Reservation, which kills a United States senator and most of her family, confirms Stephen’s worst fears.

Stephen joins his father, Cork O’Connor and a few Ojibwe men from the nearby Iron Lake reservation to sift through the smoldering wreckage when the FBI arrives and quickly assumes control of the situation. As he initiates his own probe, Cork stumbles upon a familiar face in Bo Thorson, a private security consultant whose unnamed clients have hired him to look quietly into the cause of the crash. The men agree to join forces in their investigation, but soon Cork begins to wonder if Thorson’s loyalties lie elsewhere.

Roadblocked by lies from the highest levels of government, uncertain who to trust, and facing growing threats the deeper they dig for answers, Cork, Stephen, and Bo finally understand that to get to the truth, they will have to face the great menace, a beast of true evil lurking in the woods—a beast with a murderous intent of unimaginable scale. Krueger delivers yet another “punch-to-the-gut blend of detective story and investigative fiction” (Booklist, starred review).

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Novels New in Paperback This April

By Off the Shelf Staff | April 15, 2019

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.