Share 8 Books to Read If You Love THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY

8 Books to Read If You Love THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY

Taylor Noel is a corporate marketing manager at Simon and Schuster. She loves literary fiction and memoirs, but will read any book put in her hands. Taylor shares her book obsessions on Instagram @books_with_taylor.

I squealed with joy when I heard that Netflix was making the beloved novel THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL SOCIETY into a movie. Then I watched the trailer and realized many of these cast members also appeared in Downton Abbey. Excited doesn’t begin to cover how I felt! But it also made me yearn for more remarkable stories with spirited heroines, acts of bravery, and ordinary people in extraordinary times. So voila! Here are eight books to read if you love THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY as much as I do.


Dear Mrs. Bird
by AJ Pearce
A charming, irresistible debut set in London during World War II, DEAR MRS. BIRD is the story of plucky Emmy Lake, who dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent but fumbles her way into a job as an assistant to a ferocious advice columnist instead. Her boss is very clear-any letters containing Unpleasantness must go straight to the trash bin-but Emmy is unable to resist responding.
Dear Mrs. Bird
AJ Pearce

MENTIONED IN:

What Book Should You Read Based on Your Zodiac Sign?

By Lara Blackman | October 1, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win the Ultimate Book Lovers Prize Pack

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 10, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in August

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 31, 2018

8 Books to Read If You Love THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY

By Taylor Noel | August 13, 2018

12 Novels for a Stellar Summer Staycation

By Taylor Noel | July 31, 2018

Close

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox
by Maggie O'Farrell
Esme Lennox is a dreamy, bookish young woman when she disappears. More than 60 years later, Iris Lockhart receives a stunning phone call: her great-aunt Esme (who she never knew existed) is being released from a hospital. Esme has been labeled harmless, but she's a complete stranger. If Iris takes her in, what dangerous truths might she inherit? A beautiful novel of family secrets and lost lives, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX will long haunt readers even after they've turned the last page.
The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox
Maggie O'Farrell

Close

Major Pettigrew's Last Stand
by Helen Simonson
In a small town in the English countryside resides Major Ernest Pettigrew, the ultimate stiff-upper-lip gentleman, and Mrs. Jasmina Ali, a second-generation Pakistani shopkeeper. While on the surface MAJOR PETTIGREW'S LAST STAND is a delightful late-in-life romance, it deals with serious issues of racism, classism, complicated family dynamics, and growing old.
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand
Helen Simonson

13 Books to Read After A MAN CALLED OVE

So you’ve finished reading A MAN CALLED OVE by Fredrik Backman and fallen in love with the (secretly wonderful) Swedish curmudgeon known as Ove. And now you’re bereft. We understand. What do you read after falling under the spell of such an unexpected, surprising, charming book?

MENTIONED IN:

8 Books to Read If You Love THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY

By Taylor Noel | August 13, 2018

Off the Shelf’s 15 Favorite Book Lists from 2016

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 15, 2016

13 Books to Read After A MAN CALLED OVE

By Arielle Kane | November 25, 2016

Close

The Awakening of Miss Prim
by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera
Prudencia Prim leaves everything behind to work as a librarian in a remote French village. She hoped to find friendship in San Ireneo de Arnois, but she certainly didn't expect to find love, heartache, discovery, and life challenges. THE AWAKENING OF MISS PRIM is a delightful, entertaining novel of literature, philosophy, and the search for happiness.
The Awakening of Miss Prim
Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera

Close

Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly
An ode to the bravery and boundless determination of women, LILAC GIRLS follows three incredibly different yet equally inspiring women during World War II as they navigate the changes in their lives and surroundings. A young German doctor trapped in a field dominated by men and secrets, a Polish courier grasping for the ends of her innocence and youth as she falls further into the resistance, and an American socialite learning to prioritize duty over love are all thrust into the harrowing realm of war and its consequences.
Lilac Girls
Martha Hall Kelly

An ode to the bravery and boundless determination of women, LILAC GIRLS follows three incredibly different yet equally inspiring women during World War II as they navigate the changes in their lives and surroundings. A young German doctor trapped in a field dominated by men and secrets, a Polish courier grasping for the ends of her innocence and youth as she falls further into the resistance, and an American socialite learning to prioritize duty over love are all thrust into the harrowing realm of war and its consequences.

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in September

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 28, 2018

8 Books to Read If You Love THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY

By Taylor Noel | August 13, 2018

18 Striking First Lines to Start 2018

By Kerry Fiallo | January 1, 2018

Give Your Mom a Beautiful Book-quet for Mother’s Day

By Amy Hendricks | May 11, 2017

Close

Letters to the Lost
by Iona Grey
When Jess seeks refuge in a vacant old house on a forgotten London street, she finds a mysterious letter and is drawn into the story of two lovers from another time. In 1943 London, Stella meets a US airman named Dan and they are instantly drawn together. Dan soon has to leave on a war mission, but he and Stella hold onto each other through the letters they write. Back in the present, Jess is determined to find out what happened to them. LETTERS TO THE LOST is a stunning, emotional love story.
Letters to the Lost
Iona Grey

Close

Everyone Brave Is Forgiven
by Chris Cleave
From the beloved author of LITTLE BEE comes this masterful historical novel set in London during the blitz. Inspired by the real-life love letters between Chris Cleave’s grandparents, EVERYONE BRAVE IS FORGIVEN is a moving wartime love story. Against the great theater of world events, it is the small battles and the daily human triumphs that change us the most.

Read the full review of EVERYONE BRAVE IS FORGIVEN.
Everyone Brave Is Forgiven
Chris Cleave

From the beloved author of LITTLE BEE comes this masterful historical novel set in London during the blitz. Inspired by the real-life love letters between Chris Cleave’s grandparents, EVERYONE BRAVE IS FORGIVEN is a moving wartime love story. Against the great theater of world events, it is the small battles and the daily human triumphs that change us the most.

Read a review of EVERYONE BRAVE IS FORGIVEN here.

MENTIONED IN:

8 Books to Read If You Love THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY

By Taylor Noel | August 13, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 25 Shelved Books of 2017

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 29, 2017

The 10 Most Popular Reviews on Off the Shelf in 2017

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 18, 2017

13 Authors We Love on National Author’s Day

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 1, 2017

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Books on Off the Shelf Right Now

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 16, 2017

A Moving Story of WWII from the Author of LITTLE BEE

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 22, 2017

Close

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
by Mary Ann Shaffer
Of course it never hurts to revisit an old favorite. Set in post–World War II England, this is the story of a young British author and an island community that formed a book club during the German occupation. Overflowing with warmth, humor, and charm, this novel is a poignant celebration of the power of the written word.
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Mary Ann Shaffer

“I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there is some sort of secret homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect readers.” January 1946: London is emerging from the shadow of the Second World War, and writer Juliet Ashton is looking for her next book subject. Who could imagine that she would find it in a letter from a man she’s never met, a native of the island of Guernsey, who has come across her name written inside a book by Charles Lamb….

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.