Share 6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This July

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This July

Meagan Harris is the assistant director of publicity for the Gallery Books and Scout Press imprints of Simon & Schuster. Transplanted from the west coast in 2011, she always has a book in her bag and prefers reading in an armchair with her dog Pepper at her feet. Or on a beach in the sun. Or in the park. It doesn’t really matter where, actually.

July paperbacks are here! This month’s offerings include the final installment of a legendary series, a quirky debut novel, and a heartbreaking memoir. We have a book that takes us to a heist being planned on the moon—yes, you read that right—a spy-novel thriller, and the story of those crazy rich Asians you’ll be hearing all about when the blockbuster movie comes out next month. Hope you enjoy, and I’ll see you next month for our August picks!


Y is for Yesterday
by Sue Grafton
When Sue Grafton sadly passed away last year, her daughter released a statement saying that as far as they were concerned, "the alphabet now ends at Y." This paperback release will mark the end of Grafton's bestselling alphabet series of novels, in which each book starts with a letter of the alphabet. If you've never read one of the Kinsey Millhone mysteries, now is the perfect time to start. Sue Grafton is a masterful storyteller and the intricate plot of Y IS FOR YESTERDAY is no exception. Starting with a criminal who escaped the justice system in 1979, the case is back in the spotlight in 1989 when one of the other perpetrators has been released from prison. When a ransom tape and missing evidence turns up at his home, his parents call in Kinsey Millhone for help. A lively, engaging story that will have you starting back at A IS FOR ALIBI when you flip the last page.
Y is for Yesterday
Sue Grafton

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This July

By Meagan Harris | July 23, 2018

Close

Crazy Rich Asians
by Kevin Kwan
This book technically already came out in paperback, but the movie tie-in edition is out now so I'm still counting it! CRAZY RICH ASIANS is pure escapism and so much fun. You'll definitely want to read it before it hits theaters in August. The novel follows Rachel Chu, a down-to-earth woman living in New York with her boyfriend Nick when he invites her to his best friend's wedding in Singapore. In Singapore she discovers Nick has left out a few details about his family... and how he happens to be the country's most eligible bachelor from one of Singapore's wealthiest families. Rachel arrives not knowing there's already a target on her back. This is a delightfully decadent novel, dripping with humor, opulence, and heart.

Read the full review of CRAZY RICH ASIANS.

Crazy Rich Asians
Kevin Kwan

Close

Need to Know
by Karen Cleveland
What's better for a hot July day than a pulse-pounding thriller in paperback form, ready to be tossed into your beach bag? Tapping into old-school spying, contemporary digital counterintelligence, and, of course, family drama, this novel is perfect for fans of Homeland and The Americans. Vivian Miller is happily married, a mother of four, and a high-level CIA Analyst. She has the perfect husband who is a perfect father, until she makes a shocking discovery that makes her question everything. Was it all a lie? I dare you to put it down after reading the first chapter.
Need to Know
Karen Cleveland

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This July

By Meagan Harris | July 23, 2018

Close

George and Lizzie
by Nancy Pearl
One of my favorite places to find new book recommendations is my local library. I trust librarians' recommendations more than anyone's, and so, when I found GEORGE & LIZZIE, written by "America's librarian" Nancy Pearl, I knew I'd love it. At its heart, this is a book about a marriage. George and Lizzie married fairly young and have been together for a long time, but no one who knows them would necessarily describe them as being soul mates. While George is happy, Lizzie remains unfulfilled and begins looking for an old boyfriend. When George finds out, Lizzie is forced to think about what love really means to her and whether George is the one she wants. The prose is written with heart and humor, the characters sketched with love and quirk, and I'm sure your local librarian would love it.
George and Lizzie
Nancy Pearl

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This July

By Meagan Harris | July 23, 2018

15 Favorites Your Book Club Must Read This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2017

Close

Artemis
by Andy Weir
I'm a sucker for a good heist story. Andy Weir, bestselling author of THE MARTIAN, takes this one up a notch and sets it on the moon. Jasmine Bashara—Jazz—lives in Artemis, humanity's first and only lunar colony, and she just wants to get rich. It doesn't need to be billionaire money-she just wants to get rich enough to move out of her tiny apartment and pay off a debt that's lingering over her head. When she engineers the perfect crime to pull off a heist, she doesn't know she's about to land herself in the middle of a conspiracy for control of Artemis itself. She's no hero, but she's a great criminal with intellect, swagger, and a wicked sense of humor. ARTEMIS bubbles over with Weir's characteristic scientific problem-solving, geeky references, and funny one-liners.

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This July

By Meagan Harris | July 23, 2018

The 11 Books on Our Nightstands Right Now

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 8, 2018

Close

Reckless Years
by Heather Chaplin
I'm not a writer, but I can imagine that penning a memoir must be one of the most difficult types of books to write. In her debut, Heather Chaplin is sharply honest as she recounts some of the most raw, painful moments of her life. In her thirties she has to face the facts: her marriage is over and her career is stalling. When she gets the courage to leave her relationship behind, she is thrust into an emotional roller coaster, dating a cast of characters in New York until she meets a magnetic man on an impulsive trip to Ireland. Just when she thinks she's fighting her way back to finding herself, a series of setbacks send her spiraling again. Chaplin's heartbreaking story is a stunning account told with dry wit in a uniquely provocative voice.
Reckless Years
Heather Chaplin

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This July

By Meagan Harris | July 23, 2018

Close

For more great paperbacks, try these 6 Favorite Novels New in Paperback This June.

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.