Share Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

Taylor Noel is a corporate marketing manager at Simon and Schuster. She loves literary fiction and memoirs, but will read any book put in her hands. Taylor shares her book obsessions on Instagram @books_with_taylor.

Ah, wedding season. It’s suddenly upon us. Your summer calendar is probably already packed with wedding ceremonies, bridal showers, engagement parties, and various celebrations for any number of happy couples. Here are 10 books to get you in the wedding spirit—whether you’re a bride-to-be, in the wedding party, a reluctant bystander, or sitting this season out.


The Wedding Date
by Jasmine Guillory
Finding a plus-one at the last minute can be super stressful. Relax with Jasmine Guillory's novel about a woman who agrees to go to a wedding with a man she just met in an elevator during a power outage. After an incredibly fun weekend together, Alexa and Drew head home to their separate lives. But they can't stop thinking about each other and embark on a collision course toward the long-distance dating disaster of the century.
The Wedding Date
Jasmine Guillory

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

Close

The People We Hate at the Wedding
by Grant Ginder
I absolutely love the title of this book about a less-than-perfect family forced to reunite for perfect, gorgeous, cultured Eloise's wedding in London. There will be fancy hotels and dinner parties at trendy restaurants and, of course, a reception at a fabulous country estate. Eloise's half siblings— whose lives didn't pan out as they expected—couldn't hate it more. This one's for anyone who loved WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE or THE NEST.
The People We Hate at the Wedding
Grant Ginder

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

11 LGBTQ Stories to Celebrate Pride Month

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 27, 2017

Close

I Take You
by Eliza Kennedy
If you loved the movie Bridesmaids, you'll love this humorous novel about a woman who has no business getting married. Lily is a brilliant lawyer, but also sassy, impulsive, fond of a good drink, and incapable of being faithful to one man. Lily's fiancé, Will, is a handsome, straightlaced archaeologist. As their wedding date approaches, Lily beings to realize that the happiest day of her life could be the worst mistake of her life.
I Take You
Eliza Kennedy

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

Close

Girls in White Dresses
by Jennifer Close
Feel like everyone you know is getting married? Isabella, Mary, and Lauren can relate. Amid the many, many bridal showers and celebrations taking over their Sundays, they have their own lives to deal with: dead-end jobs and dating horror stories. This novel perfectly captures the wild frustrations and soaring joys of early adulthood.
Girls in White Dresses
Jennifer Close

Three friends cope with career changes, heartbreak, and family pressures while enduring a seemingly endless stream of weddings and bridal showers. Wry and recognizable, this novel perfectly captures the wild frustrations and soaring joys of early adulthood.

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

9 Novels That Celebrate the Joys of Friendship

By Emma Volk | September 3, 2015

Close

Seating Arrangements
by Maggie Shipstead
We all know how complicated a seating plan can be…When the Van Meters gather at their retreat to celebrate the marriage of their daughter Daphne to the very appropriate Greyson Duff, complex relationships, long-buried discontent, and simmering lust stir beneath the surface. Old resentments, a beached whale, and an escaped lobster threaten to upend the expertly planned wedding.
Seating Arrangements
Maggie Shipstead

The Van Meters have gathered at their family retreat near Nantucket to celebrate the marriage of their daughter to the impeccably appropriate Greyson Duff. The weekend is full of champagne and practiced bonhomie, but when old resentments, a beached whale and an escaped lobster are added to the mix, the wedding that should have gone off with military precision threatens to become a spectacle of misbehavior, marital infidelity, and a monumental loss of faith in the rituals of American life.

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

10 Beachy Reads to Fight the Winter Blues

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 19, 2015

Close

A French Wedding
by Hannah Tunnicliffe
What sounds more romantic than a wedding in the French countryside? Well, things aren't quite what they seem in this delicious novel. A washed-up rock star about to turn 40 invites his five college friends to his house for a weekend of reminiscing—and to declare his love to his best friend, Helen, in hopes of settling down. With sumptuous food and plenty of wine, the table is set for tricky romantic entanglements, fiery outbursts, and a range of secrets—culminating in a wedding none of them expected.
A French Wedding
Hannah Tunnicliffe

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

Close

The Wedding Sisters
by Jamie Brenner
As one of three daughters, I'm horrified by the idea of a triple wedding. And I completely understand why Meryl Becker's daughters need a little convincing to go along with her plan—but it's all they can afford when Meg and Jo and Amy all get engaged at the same time. In the weeks leading up to the nuptials, passions ignite, patience is tested, and secrets are revealed. You're invited to the most unpredictable wedding of the year.
The Wedding Sisters
Jamie Brenner

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

Close

The Young Wives Club
by Julie Pennell
In Toulouse, Louisiana, finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you're lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four young wives are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side, and things only get more complicated once you say "I do." Fans of THE DIVINE SECRETS OF THE YA-YA SISTERHOOD and Desperate Housewives will love this one!
The Young Wives Club
Julie Pennell

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

Close

The Wedding
by Nicholas Sparks
There shouldn't be a wedding list without a Nicholas Sparks novel. In this stunning follow-up to THE NOTEBOOK, Wilson Lewis is forced to realize that romance has left his marriage. Despite 50 years of marriage and the textbook example of his in-laws, Noah and Allie Calhoun, Wilson has trouble expressing his true feelings. But he is prepared to do everything he can to save his marriage and make his wife fall in love with him all over again.
The Wedding
Nicholas Sparks

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

Close

A Wedding in Provence
by Ellen Sussman
Finding the perfect venue is a hard enough task on its own. But in this novel, Olivia and Brody have an idyllic spot squared away—it's their guests who are the trouble. Olivia's oldest daughter invited a complete stranger (and an alluring and dangerous one at that) and her youngest daughter feels the need to cut loose while away from her demanding job and relationship. Brody's best man is a playboy and his mother is dealing with the fallout of her own marriage. A highly entertaining, enchanting read!
A Wedding in Provence
Ellen Sussman

MENTIONED IN:

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.