Share 9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

Winter is here to the disappointment of some, but for us book lovers it means cozy fireplace reading and hot cocoa to accompany our book club discussions. While you take a break from your meet-ups this holiday season, we recommend looking into these book club picks for the winter ahead! We promise you, there will be plenty of hot-button talking points to keep you warm.


The Clockmaker's Daughter
by Kate Morton

The January Book Club Favorites pick, Kate Morton’s latest novel is sure to be a hit with book clubs everywhere. Told from multiple perspectives across time, THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER is a story of murder, mystery, thievery, art, love, and loss. Flowing through its pages like a river is the voice of a woman who stands outside time, whose name has been forgotten by history but who has watched it all unfold: Birdie Bell, the clockmaker’s daughter.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Kate Morton

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win a Luxurious Reading Oasis

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 27, 2018

Close

Pretend I'm Dead
by Jen Beagin

Miranda July meets Mary Karr in this brilliant debut novel from Jen Beagin—about a cleaning lady on a quest for self-acceptance after her relationship with a loveable junkie goes awry.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Pretend I'm Dead
Jen Beagin

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

The 5 Best Books I Read in 2018

By Sarah Jane Abbott | March 13, 2019

A Novel as Delightfully Offbeat as Its Cover

By Sarah Jane Abbott | March 1, 2019

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2018

10 of the Best Books We’ve Read So Far This Year

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 16, 2018

Summer Reading Recommendations from Off the Shelf

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 21, 2018

Close

This Is How It Always Is
by Laurie Frankel

Inspired by Laurie Frankel’s own transgender child, this beautiful and often heartbreaking novel was a recent Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick. When their youngest son, Claude, expresses his love for dresses and his ultimate desire to be a girl, Rosie and Penn aren’t sure how to handle the situation. As Claude grows and becomes Poppy, they encourage her to stay true to herself, while grappling with this ever-growing secret and a multitude of hard decisions.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
This Is How It Always Is
Laurie Frankel

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2018

11 LGBTQ Books to Read During Pride Month

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 14, 2018

Close

The Wedding Date
by Jasmine Guillory

For fans of the Debra Messing film of the same name, Jasmine Guillory’s THE WEDDING DATE is a light and breezy romance that Roxane Gay lauds as a “charming, warm, sexy gem of a novel.” On the eve of his ex’s wedding festivities, Drew Nichols is stranded in an elevator with the perfect candidate for a fake girlfriend, Alexa Monroe. For Alexa, it’s a strange proposition, but there’s something about Drew that’s hard to resist.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Wedding Date
Jasmine Guillory

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Immersive Book and White Noise Pairings

By Nicholas Rooney | April 8, 2019

10 Prolific Black Writers You Need to Read This Year

By Tolani Osan | February 7, 2019

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2018

9 Audiobooks That’ll Bring Cheer to Your Holiday Travels

By Tolani Osan | November 21, 2018

Plan Your Summer Activities with These 15 Fabulous Books

By Sarah Woodruff | July 11, 2018

Say “I Do” to These 10 Books to Read During Wedding Season

By Taylor Noel | June 4, 2018

Close

The Thirteenth Tale
by Diane Setterfield

Before you jump into Diane Setterfield’s new novel, ONCE UPON A RIVER, make sure you’ve read and discussed this beloved book club read. Biographer Margaret Lea is approached by a well-loved but gravely ill author who has a surprising request: she wants Margaret to capture her life’s story before it’s too late. Although Margaret’s never read the author’s work, she’s intrigued and soon gets immersed in her strange and troubling history.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Thirteenth Tale
Diane Setterfield

Read a Book About Books

In this novel, biographer Margaret Lea is approached by a well-loved but gravely ill author with a surprising request: she wants Margaret to capture her life story before it’s too late. Although Margaret has never read the author’s work, she’s intrigued, and soon gets immersed in her strange and troubling history. Now both women will have to confront their pasts—and grapple with the ghosts that still haunt them.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2018

Excited for the Big New Books of Fall? Read These 14 Novels First!

By Taylor Noel | September 11, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win the Ultimate Book Lovers Prize Pack

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 10, 2018

5 Second Summaries: THE THIRTEENTH TALE

By Stu Smith | June 30, 2018

7 Books That Give Us Library Envy

By Elizabeth Breeden | March 16, 2017

What We’re Reading for Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge

By Sarah Jane Abbott | February 28, 2017

Close

My Sister, the Serial Killer
by Oyinkan Braithwaite

A delightful mix of thrilling and darkly funny, this witty debut follows two Nigerian sisters, Korede and Ayoola, who have a dark secret—Ayoola is a sociopath whose boyfriends keep turning up dead. When Korede’s crush—a handsome doctor at the hospital where she works—asks for Ayoola’s phone number, Korede must reckon with what her sister has become and how far she’s willing to go to protect her.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
My Sister, the Serial Killer
Oyinkan Braithwaite

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

8 Books We Can’t Stop Thinking About

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 7, 2019

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2018

Close

The Storm
by Arif Anwar

Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar’s history, in a vil¬lage on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. For book clubs that loved Khaled Hosseini’s THE KITE RUNNER, THE STORM explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Storm
Arif Anwar

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2018

Close

The Room on Rue Amélie
by Kristin Harmel

For fans of ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE and LILAC GIRLS, Kristin Harmel’s rich and emotional novel was the November Book Club Favorites pick. THE ROOM ON RUE AMÉLIE follows three characters—Ruby, a newlywed who arrives in Paris just as the Nazis are about to invade; Charlotte, a young Jewish girl who watches her life fall apart when the deportations begin; and Thomas, a British Royal Air Force pilot who finds himself forever changed by what he encounters in the City of Light—as fate brings them together under the shadow of the occupation. Together, they must learn to survive, and open themselves to the possibility of a future.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Room on Rue Amélie
Kristin Harmel

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2018

6 Favorite Books New in Paperback This November

By Meagan Harris | November 19, 2018

How to Find the Perfect Book Genre For You

By Taylor Noel | September 19, 2018

Travel the World Without Leaving Your Couch

By One.More.Page | July 21, 2018

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in May

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 25, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win 15 Vacation Reads and Summer Essentials to Kick Off the Season!

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 24, 2018

Close

The Fishermen
by Chigozie Obioma

THE FISHERMEN is the Cain and Abel–esque story of an unforgettable childhood in 1990s Nigeria. When their strict father has to travel to a distant city for work, the four brothers skip school and go fishing. At the ominous nearby river, they meet a dangerous local madman who persuades the oldest of the boys that he is destined to be killed by one of his siblings. If your book club couldn’t stop talking about BEHOLD THE DREAMERS, make THE FISHERMEN your next pick ahead of the release of Chigozie Obioma’s second novel, AN ORCHESTRA OF MINORITIES.

Read the full review of THE FISHERMEN.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Fishermen
Chigozie Obioma

When their strict father has to travel for work, four brothers skip school and go fishing. At the ominous nearby river, they meet a dangerous local madman who persuades the oldest of the boys that he is destined to be killed by one of his siblings. THE FISHERMEN is the Cain and Abel-esque story of an unforgettable childhood in 1990s Nigeria.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Off the Shelf’s Favorite Books from the Last 5 Years

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 27, 2019

9 Book Club Picks to Cozy Up with This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2018

5 Nigerian Authors You Need to Read

By Tolani Osan | September 28, 2017

Here’s What Happens When Things Fall Apart

By Tolani Osan | July 20, 2016

14 Must-Read Books Set Under the African Sun

By Emma Volk | January 12, 2016

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.