Share Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

Kerry Fiallo is a New York native and copywriter at Simon & Schuster. A lifelong voracious reader, she has a particular fondness for ghost stories, history, and anything to do with Mary Shelley, Ada Lovelace, and the Brontë sisters. The only thing she may love more than books is black tea, but they do often go well together. You can find her as she navigates through literature and history on Twitter @ReadingInNYC and on Tumblr.

Happy Singles Awareness Day! For all of us singletons, this is a day to celebrate love in all its forms: between friends, between family, with our pets, and with ourselves. We here at Off the Shelf especially love books so we’ve decided to celebrate by sharing 9 of our favorites that share titles with this very important holiday.


A Single Man
by Christopher Isherwood
Told over the course of one day, A SINGLE MAN follows a gay middle-aged man mourning the death of his partner. Can he find the will to continue his suddenly lonely life or will his grief overwhelm him? Starkly written, heartbreaking, and moving, Christopher Isherwood’s classic novel is a haunting exploration of love, life, and death.
A Single Man
Christopher Isherwood

Delicately wrenching, mourning and memory, the story of a spouse, newly alone, and the uncertain life now before him. - Scott O'Connor

MENTIONED IN:

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

By Kerry Fiallo | February 15, 2018

17 of Our Favorite First Lines to Start 2017

By Kerry Fiallo | January 3, 2017

12 LGBTQIA+ Novels to Celebrate Pride Month

By Erica Nelson | June 23, 2016

Complicated Arrangements: Five Intimate Novels About Marriage

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 5, 2014

Close

All the Single Ladies
by Rebecca Traister
The New York Times bestseller that started a conversation about modern womanhood, ALL THE SINGLE LADIES is an eye-opening and thought-provoking investigation into the American single woman. With more women eschewing marriage or waiting until they’re older to marry, Rebecca Traister explores the social, economic, and political reasons and effects this has on today’s America.
All the Single Ladies
Rebecca Traister

For your feminist friends

Rebecca Traister offers a comprehensive study of the power of independent women in America through the fascinating history of unmarried women and their lasting, radical effect on the nation.

MENTIONED IN:

6 Essay Collections on Why We Should All Be Feminists

By Nikki Barnhart | November 23, 2018

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

By Kerry Fiallo | February 15, 2018

15 Favorites Your Book Club Must Read This Winter

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 21, 2017

The 13 Books You Need to Read to Understand Modern Relationships

By Julianna Haubner | November 9, 2017

Ear Candy: 14 Favorite Podcasts, 14 Terrific Reads

By Julianna Haubner | August 28, 2017

A Game of Books: What Would Your Favorite Game of Thrones Character Read?

By Will Rhino | July 11, 2017

Close

The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance
by Elna Baker
Finding love in a big city is a familiar story, but you may not have read a story like this one. Elna Baker is a young Mormon woman searching for love and struggling to stay true to her faith in this hilarious and poignant memoir that will appeal to you no matter your faith or background.
The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance
Elna Baker

Comedian and former Mormon Elna Baker writes about her attempt to find love in a city full of strangers and see if she can steer clear of temptation and just get by on God. This heartfelt and unabashedly funny debut is loaded with the same charm we adore in her Moth stories.

MENTIONED IN:

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

By Kerry Fiallo | February 15, 2018

13 Thought-Provoking Books from The Moth Podcast Storytellers

By Tolani Osan | January 19, 2016

Close

A Single Spy
by William Christie
A pulse-pounding and whip-smart thriller, A SINGLE SPY follows a Russian orphan who is hired to work as a double agent in Nazi Germany. But what happens when he is chosen to infiltrate a conference between Stalin, Churchill, and Roosevelt? Filled with twists and turns, A SINGLE SPY demonstrates the horrifying consequences when the fate of the entire world is in one person’s hands.
A Single Spy
William Christie

MENTIONED IN:

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

By Kerry Fiallo | February 15, 2018

Close

Single State of Mind
by Andi Dorfman
Fan-favorite of The Bachelorette Andi Dorfman reveals her adventures (and misadventures) as a single woman in New York City. From bad dates to apartment mishaps, Dorfman doesn’t hide anything in this witty, charming, and relatable memoir that is perfect for fans of Candace Bushnell and Helen Fielding’s fun and sassy writing.
Single State of Mind
Andi Dorfman

MENTIONED IN:

6 Fantastic Books New in Paperback This October

By Meagan Harris | October 22, 2018

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

By Kerry Fiallo | February 15, 2018

Close

A Single Pebble
by John Hersey
This adventure follows an American engineer as he inspects the wild Yangtze and discovers his surprising connection with the people who live along the unruly river. Evocative, richly imagined, and thought-provoking, A SINGLE PEBBLE is a classic novel that will completely move you.
A Single Pebble
John Hersey

MENTIONED IN:

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

By Kerry Fiallo | February 15, 2018

Close

The Singles Game
by Lauren Weisberger
A story of high stakes in the world of professional tennis, THE SINGLES GAME follows a good girl tennis player who agrees to work with a brutal coach. She is quickly in over her head between the intense practices and her newfound fame—but will she lose sight of her dreams? Witty and sizzling, this is a fun and frothy read.
The Singles Game
Lauren Weisberger

Read with a Cosmo

THE SINGLES GAME is a dishy tell-all novel about Charlotte, a beautiful tennis prodigy who is suddenly thrust into a very glamorous world—one where copious cosmos are surely available. But as she starts to make headlines in her new life of celebrity stylists, private parties, mega-yachts, and secret dates with Hollywood royalty, Charlotte has to decide how much she is willing to change in order to reach her goals on the court.

MENTIONED IN:

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

By Kerry Fiallo | February 15, 2018

12 Sports Novels for Readers Who Hate Sports

By Taylor Noel | February 2, 2018

Win or Lose, You’ll Love These 10 Books About Games

By Erin Flaaen | November 6, 2017

Best Beach Reads: 9 Books to Read While Sipping Your Favorite Beach Cocktails

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 6, 2017

Close

All the Single Ladies
by Dorothea Benton Frank
Three women’s lives are drawn together by tragedy in this poignant, moving, and genuine beach read. Taking place in the Lowcountry of South Carolina, ALL THE SINGLE LADIES is an exploration of the power of women’s friendship and how the people we encounter can change our fates.
All the Single Ladies
Dorothea Benton Frank

This charming, soul-touching novel takes us deep into the heart of South Carolina’s Lowcountry, where three middle-aged women are bonded by a friend’s death. Poignant and witty, this emotionally resonant novel illuminates the sustaining power of friendship.

MENTIONED IN:

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

By Kerry Fiallo | February 15, 2018

7 Perfect Summer Picks from a Fabulous Manhattanite

By Kelly Killoren Bensimon | June 9, 2016

Close

The Universe in a Single Atom
by Dalai Lama
From one of the most beloved spiritual leaders in our world, THE UNIVERSE IN A SINGLE ATOM explores the various ways we may search for answers and how our different philosophies may not be that different after all. Combining the spiritual with the scientific, this is an eye-opening book for anyone who is interested in how these two trains of thought can converge.
The Universe in a Single Atom
Dalai Lama

MENTIONED IN:

Singletons, Meet Your Match with These 9 Books

By Kerry Fiallo | February 15, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.