A Twisty and Satisfying Mystery

June 16 2017
Share A Twisty and Satisfying Mystery

How well do we really know the people we call our friends? Megan Miranda, author of ALL THE MISSING GIRLS, delves into this question, chillingly examining the notion that a seemingly intimate friendship can mask dark secrets in her novel, THE PERFECT STRANGER.

Just when Leah Stevens, a disgraced journalist who has been ousted from her job, needs a fresh start, she runs into an old roommate she hasn’t seen in years. Emmy Grey has just had a bad breakup and is planning on starting fresh in small-town Pennsylvania; she convinces Leah to join her. But things start to unravel when a local woman with a notable resemblance to Leah is found bludgeoned nearly to death.

Then Emmy goes missing. Has something bad happened to her? Could her disappearance have something to do with the assault? As the police dig into both cases, the anonymity Leah sought in this new town starts to crumble and she is forced to face the questions the police have begun to ask: Who is Emmy Grey? Did she ever exist at all?

This novel is full of layers, pieces that may or may not fit together. Being a journalist, Leah approaches her personal investigation as if she’s researching an article; she tries to get sources to open up to her, analyzes their motivations and biases, questions what she thinks she knows, and looks for a paper trail.

But Emmy seems to be a woman who has no paper trail. Is it because she was trying to get away from a bad boyfriend? Or could there be another reason? The tension is palpable as Leah and the reader realize that the police may think Leah fabricated Emmy—and that Leah has no real way to prove that she exists.

As Leah chases the mystery of Emmy’s identity, she must face her own—the reason she lost her career as a journalist and was forced to leave behind her old life. She’s a person who will relentlessly pursue an investigation—and is willing to do questionable things to make sure that the truth comes out. Moral and ethical questions abound as more details arise about Leah’s past and present investigations, making for a satisfying and twisty mystery.

Fans of GONE GIRL and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN looking for another mystery about women with dark and secret pasts will find lots to love in THE PERFECT STRANGER.



Notice: Undefined index: bk_isbn_default in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-modal.php on line 31

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-modal.php on line 31
|+| Add to Your Shelf
The Perfect Stranger
Megan Miranda

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

Notice: Undefined index: bk_isbn_default in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-modal.php on line 61

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /home/offtheshelf/public_html/web/app/themes/ots/_inc/template-parts/books/book-modal.php on line 61

MENTIONED IN:

6 Books to Preorder Now for a Perfectly Timed Arrival

By Emily Lewis | January 14, 2022

8 Book Clubs We Admire for Their Excellent Taste in Reading

By Book Club Favorites | January 13, 2022

Rediscovered Reviews: 5 Time-Tested Memoirs to Inspire a New You

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 12, 2022

New in Paperback: 10 January Reads to Start the Year Off Right

By Alice Martin | January 11, 2022

7 Lyrical Stories That’ll Take Your Breath Away

By Holly Claytor | January 10, 2022

January eBook Deals: 15 Superb Reads for Your Digital Library

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 7, 2022

Close

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.