Librarian Picks: 8 of My Favorite Books to Read in the Fall

Beth Mills
October 22 2020

It’s the time of year when many of us start to feel that first chill in the air, the nights start to get longer, and trees start to put on their spectacular color show. It’s a time when I start to think about cozy things like hot spiced cider, warm apple pie, fragrant baked goods—and favorite books. Below are a few titles among my favorites to read at this time of year. 

The Simplicity of Cider
by Amy E. Reichert

Talented cider-maker Sanna is struggling to keep her business and the family orchard afloat as real estate vultures hover, and help comes from an unexpected quarter. Guaranteed to make you want to run out in search of some really good cider!  

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Simplicity of Cider
Amy E. Reichert

Fall in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.

Don’t miss Amy’s newest work of women’s fiction: The Optimist’s Guide to Letting Go!

Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land.

Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance—or fate—led them straight to Sanna’s orchard.

Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places—friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac—until an outside threat infiltrates the farm.

From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cider is a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

Librarian Picks: 8 of My Favorite Books to Read in the Fall

By Beth Mills | October 22, 2020

10 Novels as Colorful and Cozy as an Autumn Afternoon

By Maddie Ehrenreich | September 7, 2020

12 Gripping, Heartfelt, and Powerful Novels That Take Place in the American Midwest

By Kelsey Radomski | January 22, 2020

Close
High Country Fall
by Margaret Maron

Judge Deborah Knott is serving as a substitute judge in the court of a picturesque town in North Carolina’s Great Smoky Mountains, dodging obsessed leaf peepers and trying to determine the cause of an unexpected death. 

Amazon logo Audible logo Books a Million logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
High Country Fall
Margaret Maron

Amazon logo Audible logo Books a Million logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Librarian Picks: 8 of My Favorite Books to Read in the Fall

By Beth Mills | October 22, 2020

Close
Wicked Autumn
by G.M. Malliet

New vicar (and retired MI5 intelligence agent) Max Tudor is settling in nicely in his cozy English village when preparations for the annual Harvest Fayre lead to the death of the bossy head of the Women’s Institute. Whodunnit? 

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Wicked Autumn
G.M. Malliet

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close
Bread Alone
by Judith Ryan Hendricks

Bakers may be drawn to Judith Ryan Hendricks’s BREAD ALONE. Abandoned by her husband, 31-year-old Wynter Morrison has a chance for a fresh new start when she finds a job in a Seattle bakery. 

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Bread Alone
Judith Ryan Hendricks

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close
The Secret Ingredient of Wishes
by Susan Bishop Crispell

Pie lovers can try Susan Bishop Crispell’s SECRET INGREDIENT OF WISHES. Rachel mysteriously has the power to grant wishes. What happens when, fleeing the aftermath of an innocent mistake, she meets a woman who can bind wishes into pies? 

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Secret Ingredient of Wishes
Susan Bishop Crispell

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close
The Rules of Magic
by Alice Hoffman

For a touch of the supernatural (after all, Halloween is coming!), try Alice Hoffman’s novels centering on the Owens family of witches. MAGIC LESSONS (just released), RULES OF MAGIC, and PRACTICAL MAGIC (celebrating its twenty-fifth anniversary this yearall make for absorbing reads. 

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo
The Rules of Magic
Alice Hoffman

An instant New York Times bestseller and Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick from beloved author Alice Hoffman—the spellbinding prequel to Practical Magic.

Find your magic.

For the Owens family, love is a curse that began in 1620, when Maria Owens was charged with witchery for loving the wrong man.

Hundreds of years later, in New York City at the cusp of the sixties, when the whole world is about to change, Susanna Owens knows that her three children are dangerously unique. Difficult Franny, with skin as pale as milk and blood red hair, shy and beautiful Jet, who can read other people’s thoughts, and charismatic Vincent, who began looking for trouble on the day he could walk.

From the start Susanna sets down rules for her children: No walking in the moonlight, no red shoes, no wearing black, no cats, no crows, no candles, no books about magic. And most importantly, never, ever, fall in love. But when her children visit their Aunt Isabelle, in the small Massachusetts town where the Owens family has been blamed for everything that has ever gone wrong, they uncover family secrets and begin to understand the truth of who they are. Yet, the children cannot escape love even if they try, just as they cannot escape the pains of the human heart. The two beautiful sisters will grow up to be the memorable aunts in Practical Magic, while Vincent, their beloved brother, will leave an unexpected legacy.

Alice Hoffman delivers “fairy-tale promise with real-life struggle” (The New York Times Book Review) in a story how the only remedy for being human is to be true to yourself. Thrilling and exquisite, real and fantastical, The Rules of Magic is “irresistible…the kind of book you race through, then pause at the last forty pages, savoring your final moments with the characters” (USA TODAY, 4/4 stars).

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo Libro.fm logo
Close
The Witch of Painted Sorrows
by M. J. Rose

For even more spooky vibes, try M. J. Rose’s Daughters of La Lune series, starting with THE WITCH OF PAINTED SORROWS. Young socialite Sandrine runs to her grandmother in Belle Époque Paris, fleeing an abusive marriage, only to find that she must deal with a family curse and the possessive spirit of La Lune, a sixteenth-century courtesan and witch. 

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Witch of Painted Sorrows
M. J. Rose

We are living for the drama of possession, power, and passion as they play out against the lavish spectacle of 1890s Belle Époque Paris in this novel. When Sandrine Salome flees New York for Paris to escape her dangerous husband, a family curse illuminates the fine line between explosive desire and complete ruination.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close
The Lake House
by Kate Morton

Still looking for something to fill in Fall’s lengthening evenings? Curl up with Kate Morton’s THE LAKE HOUSEin which a young detective becomes obsessed by the mystery posed by an elegant but abandoned estate. If you enjoy this, and have somehow missed Kate Morton’s other titles, there are several of this bestselling novelist’s works available to help pass those long, dark nights! 

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Lake House
Kate Morton

Filled with mystery and spellbinding secrets, this novel is the perfect escape. Alice Edevane is only 16 years old when her 11-month-old brother vanishes from her family’s idyllic lakeside estate. Decades later, a detective stumbles upon the now crumbling estate and uncovers shocking truths about a past long gone ... yet more present than ever.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

Librarian Picks: 8 of My Favorite Books to Read in the Fall

By Beth Mills | October 22, 2020

14 Extra-Long Reads to Cure Your Winter Blues

By Sarah Jane Abbott | February 1, 2019

Excited for the Big New Books of Fall? Read These 14 Novels First!

By Taylor Noel | September 11, 2018

13 Books You Should Read Before Summer Ends

By Off the Shelf Staff | August 16, 2016

Close

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.