Share 7 Captivating Historical Fiction Novels About Real And Iconic Women

7 Captivating Historical Fiction Novels About Real And Iconic Women

Danielle Bucco joined Simon & Schuster in 2018 as a copy coordinator after completing the NYU Publishing Institute. A lifelong reader with a compulsive book buying addiction has led her to owning more books than she could possibly read but she enjoys everything from fantasy to romance to historical fiction, and basically anything with a character-driven story. Aside from reading, she spends her time hiking, learning photography, traveling, and wishing she had a dog. You can follow her adventures on Instagram @DanielleBucco.

From queens to activists to wives to mothers, there is no shortage of strong, tenacious women throughout history. These inspiring and powerful historical fiction novels about real women offer the perfect glance at women facing challenging circumstances head-on while remaining true to who they are. If you’re interested in learning a thing or two about women in history during Women’s History Month or just want to be entertained by some great books, I highly recommend these captivating novels.   


The Last Tudor
by Philippa Gregory

Set in the mid-1500s, this historical fiction novel follows the life of Lady Jane Grey, who was the queen of England for only nine short days. Her father and his allies crowned her queen instead of the Catholic Mary Tudor, who quickly gathered an army and conquered the throne before locking Jane in the Tower of London. Anyone who has read Philippa Gregory knows that her books are extremely well researched, and THE LAST TUDOR is no exception!

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Last Tudor
Philippa Gregory

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

The 10 Most Popular Reads of March

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 31, 2020

7 Captivating Historical Fiction Novels About Real And Iconic Women

By Danielle Bucco | March 2, 2020

Secrets, Love, and Betrayal: Philippa Gregory’s Historical Tudor Novels in Reading Order

By Hannah Schaffer | August 8, 2019

Join Our Book Club and You Could Win 14 of Our Favorite Reads

By Something to Read About | September 5, 2017

Close

The Marriage of Opposites
by Alice Hoffman

This book tells the extraordinary story of Rachel, the mother of the famous painter Camille Pissarro. As she grows up in a Jewish refugee community in St. Thomas in the early 1800s, Rachel’s life has never been her own. To save her father’s business, Rachel is forced to marry an old widower with three children, even though she doesn’t love him. But when her husband suddenly dies and Rachel meets the young and handsome Frédérick, Rachel seizes her own life and begins a defiant and passionate love affair that sparks a scandal affecting her whole family—even her favorite son, who will become one of the greatest artists in France.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Marriage of Opposites
Alice Hoffman

Wendy’s Fictional Dinner Party Guest: Rachel Pomié Petit Pizzarro

Rachel Pomié Petit Pizzarro is a woman full of fire and life. A businesswoman, a romantic, a renegade, she’s quite the nineteenth-century badass, not taking anyone else’s advice on how to live her life. I respect and admire her passion, vulnerability, and fearlessness in the face of the judgment of her insular St. Thomas community. She followed her heart, suffered for it, and lived the life she wanted—with a great love and many children, one of whom was the artist Camille Pissarro, father of Impressionism. No doubt, she would command the room.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

The 10 Most Popular Reads of March

By Off the Shelf Staff | March 31, 2020

7 Captivating Historical Fiction Novels About Real And Iconic Women

By Danielle Bucco | March 2, 2020

13 Wonderful Novels Based on Real People

By Julianna Haubner | April 30, 2018

15 Fictional Characters We Want to Invite to Our Next Dinner Party

By Off the Shelf Staff | January 10, 2017

12 Essential Alice Hoffman Books

By Julianna Haubner | November 18, 2016

9 Novels By Contemporary Jewish Writers for a Sweet New Year

By Wendy Sheanin | September 27, 2016

Close

Victoria
by Daisy Goodwin

Following the life of my favorite royals and the companion novel to the TV show on PBS Masterpiece, this book takes you back to the early years of Queen Victoria’s reign. From the timid, sheltered eighteen-year-old girl to the woman who will rule an empire, Victoria’s transformation is an inspiring tale of perseverance and tenacity. Touching on the very real romance between Victoria and her husband, Albert, this impeccably researched and vividly imagined book offers readers a glance at Queen Victoria as they’ve never seen her before. 

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Indiebound logo
Victoria
Daisy Goodwin

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Indiebound logo
Close

America's First Daughter
by Stephanie Dray

Taking us back to the days of the American Revolution, America’s First Daughter tells the inspiring tale of Thomas Jefferson’s daughter Martha “Patsy” Jefferson Randolph. As Jefferson’s eldest daughter, Patsy becomes his helper, protector, and constant companion following her mother’s death. Traveling back and forth between France and Virginia, Patsy falls in love with her father’s protégé, William Short. Torn between her love for William and being a devoted daughter, Patsy must decide how much she is willing to sacrifice to protect her family.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
America's First Daughter
Stephanie Dray

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

7 Captivating Historical Fiction Novels About Real And Iconic Women

By Danielle Bucco | March 2, 2020

Close

I, Eliza Hamilton
by Susan Holloway Scott

Another story set during the American Revolution, this one follows Eliza Hamilton, wife of Alexander Hamilton and a strong-willed heroine in her own right. After marrying Alexander, Eliza becomes an adored member of society and is respected for her fierce devotion to her husband as well as her own social work. Faced with public scandal, betrayal, personal heartbreak, and tragedy, Eliza is tested over and over again. But despite all the many hardships that come her way, she remains Alexander’s—and America’s—most loyal advocate.  

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
I, Eliza Hamilton
Susan Holloway Scott

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

7 Captivating Historical Fiction Novels About Real And Iconic Women

By Danielle Bucco | March 2, 2020

Close

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
by Therese Anne Fowler

This book, which inspired an Amazon series, tells the story of how Zelda Sayre became Zelda Fitzgerald despite F. Scott Fitzgerald’s unsuitability. This novel will transport you to the glamorous Jazz Age and chronicles Zelda’s life of parties, novels, scandals, and ultimately, tragedy, taking you around the globe. This alluring book reveals the real and complicated woman behind the scandals and gives readers a glimpse into one of the most famous wives in literary history.

 

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
Therese Anne Fowler

When beautiful, reckless Southern belle Zelda Sayre meets F. Scott Fitzgerald in 1918, the “ungettable” Zelda falls for him despite his unsuitability: Scott isn’t wealthy or even a Southerner, and he keeps insisting that his writing will bring him both fortune and fame. What comes next, here at the dawn of the Jazz Age, is unimagined success and celebrity that will make Scott and Zelda legends in their own time.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Close

Josephine Baker's Last Dance
by Sherry Jones

Based on the legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, this book brings to life Josephine’s early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. Josephine’s life is encouraging and devastating and portrays both the triumph of fame as well as the losses suffered along the way. This impeccably researched book is a joyous celebration of a powerful woman who continues to inspire people today.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Josephine Baker's Last Dance
Sherry Jones

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker—actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world—in Josephine Baker’s Last Dance.

In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.

With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.