Share A Story of Love and Loss Set Against The Backdrop of 1950s Iran That Will Send You on An Emotional Journey

A Story of Love and Loss Set Against The Backdrop of 1950s Iran That Will Send You on An Emotional Journey

Abby Zidle is the associate director of marketing and a senior editor at Gallery Books. She loves to read women’s fiction, romance, suspense/thrillers, historical fiction, narrative nonfiction, and pop culture books. When she’s not at work, she loves horseback riding, reality TV, and Instagramming her cat, Intern Ty.

They say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but in the case of Marjan Kamali’s The Stationery Shop, the stunning package was quick to catch my eye, so I did! Fortunately, the jacket ably represents the beautiful story within—a star-crossed love story set against the backdrop of the Iranian revolution in 1953, with a present-day framing narrative that’s as moving as the romance. It’s the perfect read for fans of The Kite Runner or The Beekeeper of Aleppo, but the emotional heart of this novel will satisfy readers who loved more contemporary stories like Ask Again, Yes or The Dearly Beloved.

The stationery shop of the title is more than just a store for paper and books—it’s the literary hub of the neighborhood, run by the kindly Mr. Fakhri. He keeps an eye out for his special customers, customers who include Roya, a teenaged girl who loves spending time browsing the shelves, and Bahman, a handsome young activist with a taste for Rumi’s poetry. Roya and Bahman soon fall for one another, and as their relationship deepens, Mr. Fakhri helps them communicate in secret, all while tensions throughout Tehran are bubbling to the surface.

Roya and Bahman pledge to run away together and plan to meet at the town square—but on the day of their meeting, the city erupts in violence, and Roya can’t find Bahman. In the weeks that follow, Roya writes him letters, leaves word with Mr. Fakhri, and looks everywhere, but to no avail—Bahman is gone. Eventually, Roya moves on with her life, a journey that takes her from Iran to the U.S. and a comfortable new existence in a Boston suburb…until a chance meeting, sixty years later, throws everything she thought she knew into turmoil. This novel, by the author of Together Tea, ticks so many boxes for me right now: It’s a passionate but bittersweet love story, a dual-timeline historical novel that taught me new things, and the unusual-to-me setting is beautifully observed by an author who brings her own cultural experience to bear in the telling. The “reveal” of why Bahman disappeared hurts in the best way, and you’ll be mulling over the book’s events long after you’ve finished, imagining what could have been if only a single moment had gone differently. Don’t pick this one up when you’re in a hurry—give yourself the time and space to savor the world-building here (especially the descriptions of amazing Persian food!) and really luxuriate in the emotional journey Kamali creates for the reader. You won’t be sorry!


The Stationery Shop
Marjan Kamali

A poignant, heartfelt new novel by the award-nominated author of Together Tea—extolled by the Wall Street Journal as a “moving tale of lost love” and by Shelf Awareness as “a powerful, heartbreaking story”—explores loss, reconciliation, and the quirks of fate.

Roya, a dreamy, idealistic teenager living amid the political upheaval of 1953 Tehran, finds a literary oasis in kindly Mr. Fakhri’s neighborhood stationery shop, stocked with books and pens and bottles of jewel-colored ink.

Then Mr. Fakhri, with a keen instinct for a budding romance, introduces Roya to his other favorite customer—handsome Bahman, who has a burning passion for justice and a love for Rumi’s poetry—and she loses her heart at once. Their romance blossoms, and the little stationery shop remains their favorite place in all of Tehran.

A few short months later, on the eve of their marriage, Roya agrees to meet Bahman at the town square when violence erupts—a result of the coup d’etat that forever changes their country’s future. In the chaos, Bahman never shows. For weeks, Roya tries desperately to contact him, but her efforts are fruitless. With a sorrowful heart, she moves on—to college in California, to another man, to a life in New England—until, more than sixty years later, an accident of fate leads her back to Bahman and offers her a chance to ask him the questions that have haunted her for more than half a century: Why did you leave? Where did you go? How is it that you were able to forget me?

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Simon & Shuster logo
Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.