Share 6 Magical Reads for People Who Love Mermaids and Mysterious Sea Creatures

6 Magical Reads for People Who Love Mermaids and Mysterious Sea Creatures

Hannah Schaffer is the Senior Digital Content Manager for Off the Shelf & Book Club Favorites. When she’s not watching melodramatic television or reading magical realism, she’s reading memoir, watching The Great British Bake Off, or eating her way around New York.

It may be a little early to start talking about things we normally associate with the beach, but mermaids and sea creatures have existed in literature and folklore for generations, in all types of climates and weather. As a massive fan of anything mystical or fantastical related to the ocean, in whatever season, I put together a list of some must-read books featuring mermaids, magical water-dwellers, and people with fin-like features.


The Museum of Extraordinary Things
by Alice Hoffman

Ok, hear me out. Yes, this book is technically historical fiction, and no, it does not include an actual magical or mystical creature, BUT— its main character has webbed fingers and swims in the Hudson river at the behest of her father, an evil man who runs a “freak show” in Coney Island. As part of his efforts to capitalize on the unusual, he bids his daughter to trick people into thinking there is a mermaid living in New York waters. It’s a beautiful and unusual novel about love and turbulent times. And if you’ve ever read Alice Hoffman, you already know she is a master of making everything seem a little more magical — with or without mystical creatures.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Museum of Extraordinary Things
Alice Hoffman

Coralie Sardie’s father runs a Coney Island freak show where she appears as “the Mermaid,” alongside performers like the Wolfman, the Butterfly Girl, and a one-hundred-year-old turtle. When she meets Eddie Cohen, a Russian immigrant photographer, they become embroiled in a moving story of young love in tumultuous times.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo

MENTIONED IN:

8 Spellbinding Books by Alice Hoffman That Will Fill You With Love and Hope

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 5, 2020

6 Magical Reads for People Who Love Mermaids and Mysterious Sea Creatures

By Hannah Schaffer | February 6, 2020

9 Book Club Picks to Enjoy at the Beach This Summer

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 21, 2019

New York, New York!: 10 Historical Novels Set in the Big Apple

By Hannah Schaffer | May 29, 2019

12 Essential Alice Hoffman Books

By Julianna Haubner | November 18, 2016

10 Books That Take You Inside the Strange and Wonderful World of Carnivals

By Sarah Jane Abbott | July 26, 2016

Close

Things in Jars
by Jess Kidd

Gothic storytelling set in seedy Victorian London, written by Jess Kidd? I’m in! Her newest novel follows Bridie, a female detective endeavoring to discover what happened to a young missing girl…who also seems to have unique, potentially aquatic, characteristics. Bridie doesn’t buy into the rumors about the child's origins or powers, but things begin to take quite a mysterious and extraordinary turn. Mixing historical detail with fairytale elements, it’s an absolutely riveting and completely enjoyable read.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Things in Jars
Jess Kidd

A January Book of the Month Pick

“Miraculous and thrilling…A few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written.” —Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Once Upon a River

“An impossible wonder: a book for everyone, and yet somehow a book just for you...A sumptuous tour of Victorian London, resurrected here with a vigor and vibrancy to rival The Crimson Petal and the White...Utterly magical.”—A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“A perfect mix of hilarity, the macabre, and a touch of romance, Things in Jars is ridiculously entertaining, all as it sneaks up and makes you feel things…Simply: Jess Kidd is so good it isn’t fair.” —Erika Swyler, bestselling author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars

In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery—perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.

Bridie Devine—female detective extraordinaire—is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery.

Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won’t rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she’d rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems.

Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close

The Deep
by Rivers Solomon

One of NPR’s best books of 2019, The Deep is a profound, beautiful novella. It follows a community of water-dwelling people who are descendants of pregnant African women thrown overboard from slave ships that crossed the Atlantic. Most of the community members have forgotten their traumatic past— except Yetu, the historian. In an attempt to escape the intensity of the memories and the pain, Yetu rushes to the surface, and in doing so, encounters the world above. It’s inspired by a song by Clipping, and it’s an incredibly vivid, original story.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
The Deep
Rivers Solomon

Octavia E. Butler meets Marvel’s Black Panther in The Deep, a story rich with Afrofuturism, folklore, and the power of memory, inspired by the Hugo Award–nominated song “The Deep” from Daveed Diggs’s rap group Clipping.

Yetu holds the memories for her people—water-dwelling descendants of pregnant African slave women thrown overboard by slave owners—who live idyllic lives in the deep. Their past, too traumatic to be remembered regularly is forgotten by everyone, save one—the historian. This demanding role has been bestowed on Yetu.

Yetu remembers for everyone, and the memories, painful and wonderful, traumatic and terrible and miraculous, are destroying her. And so, she flees to the surface escaping the memories, the expectations, and the responsibilities—and discovers a world her people left behind long ago.

Yetu will learn more than she ever expected about her own past—and about the future of her people. If they are all to survive, they’ll need to reclaim the memories, reclaim their identity—and own who they really are.

The Deep is “a tour de force reorientation of the storytelling gaze…a superb, multilayered work,” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and a vividly original and uniquely affecting story inspired by a song produced by the rap group Clipping.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo Bookshop logo
Close

The Pisces
by Melissa Broder

This was one of the most surprising books I read in the last few years. Lucy’s life is falling apart, so she decides to escape to Los Angeles and house-sit for her sister. One evening on the beach, she comes across a man hanging out in the water off of a jetty. He turns out to be a merman, and they begin an affair. It was an unusual and vibrant exploration of love, and how it can both reinvigorate and destroy a person.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Pisces
Melissa Broder

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

6 Magical Reads for People Who Love Mermaids and Mysterious Sea Creatures

By Hannah Schaffer | February 6, 2020

Close

The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock
by Imogen Hermes Gowar

In this mesmerizing and detailed depiction of the UK in the 1700s, Jonah Hancock finds a dead mermaid. He decides to try to profit from it, and during his travels showcasing his discovery, he encounters a courtesan with whom he ends up falling in love. However, mermaids have power — even dead ones, apparently — and that power threatens their relationship and their lives. It’s an intricately woven tale with exceptional descriptions of the period.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock
Imogen Hermes Gowar

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Close

The Essex Serpent
by Sarah Perry

Sarah Perry’s novel uses the possibility of a giant sea snake as a way to explore the struggles between science and faith, fact and folklore. A scientific woman in Victorian England ventures to a place where rumors of a Loch-ness-like monster are growing rapidly. She becomes friends with a local vicar, and together they banter and debate science and religion, as they search for the monster’s presence.  The subject matter is complex and deep, and Perry’s writing is beautiful—she’s able to lyrically bring everything together so you’re completely enchanted the entire time you’re reading.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Essex Serpent
Sarah Perry

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Close

Photo Credit: stevehullphotography/iStock

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.