Share A Boozy Reading List: 5 Books as Classic Cocktails

A Boozy Reading List: 5 Books as Classic Cocktails

Maddie Ehrenreich is an over-caffeinated book hoarder also known as the Studio4 production assistant at Simon & Schuster. Growing up Maddie was fed a steady diet of fantasy, mystery, horror, paranormal and science fiction stories that allowed her to grow into the content creator she is today. When she is not reading, writing, or binge-watching television from the early 2000’s she can be found wandering the streets of NYC searching for the best baked goods and getting easily distracted by dogs and shiny objects.

I like my cocktails the way I like my books—good. Which is to say I like books and I like cocktails and I almost always categorize both as good. I’ve recently been obsessed with finding the perfect cocktail for some of my favorite books because there is nothing like unwinding after a long day with a yummy drink and my favorite fictional people. Of course, wine pairs well with every book and has become a staple of many book clubs. But perhaps you’re like me and you’re looking to spice up that reading circle with something a little more boozy. Luckily for you, I’ve got you covered! So pick your favorite drink and find your next great read.


The Dirty Book Club
by Lisi Harrison

Blood Mary

Sometimes life, books, or alcohol gets you down. You need a pick-me-up, a cure for life’s hangover—or an actual hangover. You need something earthy, sweet, spicy, and maybe a little funny. THE DIRTY BOOK CLUB is the perfect book to get you back on your feet after a night of heavy uhhh . . . reading. After moving from New York to California, M.J. finds herself invited to a very secret book club, one that only reads erotic novels. Intrigued, M.J. accepts the invite and finds herself among three interesting women. They quickly form a bond of friendship and realize they have the power to take control of their own stories.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Dirty Book Club
Lisi Harrison

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

Readers’ Choice: The Top 10 Most Shelved Books in July

By Off the Shelf Staff | July 26, 2019

A Boozy Reading List: 5 Books as Classic Cocktails

By Maddie Ehrenreich | June 24, 2019

This List Is Only for True Book Lovers

By One.More.Page | December 16, 2018

Enter for a Chance to Win the Ultimate Book Lovers Prize Pack

By Off the Shelf Staff | September 10, 2018

Put Summer on Your Shelf with These 6 Books

By One.More.Page | June 8, 2018

6 Favorite Books New in Paperback This May

By Meagan Harris | May 21, 2018

Close

Flight or Fright
by Stephen King

Dark and Stormy

When I think of a dark and stormy, I think of rough weather and the warm, sharp taste of ginger. A Dark and Stormy pairs perfectly with FLIGHT OR FRIGHT, edited by Stephen King and Bev Vincent. FLIGHT OR FRIGHT is a collection of 17 harrowing tales of flying that King himself described as the perfect read for the stormy descent on your next flight.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Flight or Fright
Stephen King

#1 New York Times bestselling author and master of horror Stephen King teams up with Bev Vincent of Cemetery Dance to present a terrifying collection of sixteen short stories (and one poem) that tap into one of King’s greatest fears—air travel—featuring brand-new stories by King and Joe Hill, “an expertly compiled collection of tales that entertain and scare” (Booklist).

Stephen King hates to fly, and he and co-editor Bev Vincent would like to share their fear of flying with you.

Welcome to Flight or Fright, an anthology about all the things that can go horribly wrong when you’re suspended six miles in the air, hurtling through space at more than 500 mph, and sealed up in a metal tube (like—gulp!—a coffin) with hundreds of strangers. Here are all the ways your trip into the friendly skies can turn into a nightmare, including some we’ll bet you’ve never thought of before... but now you will the next time you walk down the jetway and place your fate in the hands of a total stranger.

Featuring brand-new “standouts” (Publishers Weekly) by Joe Hill and Stephen King, as well as fourteen classic tales and one poem from the likes of Richard Matheson, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Dan Simmons, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and many others, Flight or Fright is, as King says, “ideal airplane reading, especially on stormy descents…Even if you are safe on the ground, you might want to buckle up nice and tight.”

Each story is introduced by Stephen King and all will have you thinking twice about how you want to reach your final destination.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Boozy Reading List: 5 Books as Classic Cocktails

By Maddie Ehrenreich | June 24, 2019

Close

Vegas Girls
by Heather Skyler

Margarita

There is something about margaritas and hot summer nights that remind me of sitting around a kitchen table, or on the back patio, crying and laughing with my best friends as we spill our darkest secrets and our wildest hopes. Maybe it’s the salty, sour, sweet sensation that brings us closer together, or maybe something else. Sure, a margarita is a fun summer drink, but it’s so much more than that, just like VEGAS GIRLS by Heather Skyler. VEGAS GIRLS tells the story of three high school best friends who reunite in their hometown, Las Vegas, for a week of celebration. But the reunion isn’t just about spending time in the sun; each of these friends is on a private quest of self-discovery and longing. This novel is about best friends, love, and the importance of embracing your past in order to move on.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Vegas Girls
Heather Skyler

For Fans of Julia Glass and Ann Hood, a Novel about How the Choices We Make Last a Lifetime

Vegas Girls begins when three former high school friends, now in their mid-thirties, reunite in their hometown of Las Vegas—a city they vowed to escape as soon as they could—to celebrate their new lives and revisit old haunts. But what starts out as a week-long, sun-kissed reunion takes a strange turn as mysterious gifts appear, familiar faces pop up in unexpected places, and each woman reveals a secret, private quest.

Ramona is searching for a son she gave up for adoption before their high-school graduation. Jane is trying to leave her husband of eleven years, even with her two kids in tow. And Ivy, who has a new baby, is haunted by the memory of her mother abandoning her twenty years ago—and she has begun spotting her everywhere. Add to this a darkly charismatic ex-boyfriend of Ivy’s who won’t give up hope of rekindling their romance, and a strange, new friend of Jane’s in need of help, and the week quickly begins to unravel.

Set against desert heat, swimming pools, and casino lights, and told masterfully through five different points of view, Vegas Girls is about how we navigate the present while carrying the ghosts of our past; about growing up with one eye glued to the rearview mirror; and about what happens when the past you thought you left behind turns out to have been with you all along.

Amazon logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Boozy Reading List: 5 Books as Classic Cocktails

By Maddie Ehrenreich | June 24, 2019

Close

Trouble Brewing
by Suzanne Baltsar

Moscow Mule

TROUBLE BREWING might be about a sassy, independent female beer brewer, but it is as light and refreshing as a Moscow Mule. TROUBLE BREWING follows Piper Williams, a determined craft beer brewer, who makes a pact with a charming new gastropub owner. Piper agrees to go on a date with Blake, but only if two more pubs agree to start selling her beer. However, when Piper gets the opportunity of a lifetime, the deal might be off the table despite the electric chemistry between the two. It’s fun, flirty, and charming, just like this delicious summer drink served in a quirky copper mug.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
Trouble Brewing
Suzanne Baltsar

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Boozy Reading List: 5 Books as Classic Cocktails

By Maddie Ehrenreich | June 24, 2019

10 Refreshing Book Recommendations Based on Our Go-To Café Order

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 20, 2019

These 4 Books Make a Day in the Life

By One.More.Page | September 29, 2018

Close

The Great Gatsby
by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Manhattan

The Manhattan is a classic cocktail that is a favorite among many. So, of course, a classic cocktail deserves a classic book, and what better book than THE GREAT GATSBY. THE GREAT GATSBY is full of rich flavors, enduring love, death, recklessness, and a little bit of glitz. You can find all of those things in a Manhattan as well. It’s bittersweet, but there’s nothing like reading THE GREAT GATSBY and drinking a Manhattan in the corner of your favorite bar.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo
The Great Gatsby
F. Scott Fitzgerald

Some consider it “the great American novel.” The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his powerful love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan is an exquisitely crafted tale that has been essential reading since it was published.

Read the full review here.

Amazon logo Audible logo Barnes & Noble logo Books a Million logo Google Play logo iBooks logo Indiebound logo

MENTIONED IN:

A Boozy Reading List: 5 Books as Classic Cocktails

By Maddie Ehrenreich | June 24, 2019

7 Books That Are Completely Different Than Their Adaptations

By Leora Bernstein | May 22, 2019

8 Scandalous Books About Cons, Scammers, and Frauds

By Carrie Cabral | April 19, 2019

17 Amazing Books Featured in the “Fahrenheit 451” Movie

By Sarah Jane Abbott | July 19, 2018

Party Planning Tips from the Scenes of Your Favorite Novels

By Sarah Woodruff | July 2, 2018

The Mother-Load: 14 Books Our Moms Love and Recommend

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 8, 2018

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.