Share 12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

Taylor Noel is a corporate marketing manager at Simon and Schuster. She loves literary fiction and memoirs, but will read any book put in her hands. Taylor shares her book obsessions on Instagram @books_with_taylor.

I always get homesick for my North Carolina hometown at this time of year. There’s nothing like a Southern summer with long lake days, surprise thunderstorms, lightning bugs, homemade Butterfinger ice cream, country music concerts, and nights at the drive-in theater. Here are the 12 books I’m reading for a dash of Southern comfort until my next trip home.


The Life and Times of Persimmon Wilson
by Nancy Peacock
An immersive and breathtaking work of historical fiction, THE LIFE AND TIMES OF PERSIMMON WILSON follows the epic journey of a slave who travels from a brutal New Orleans sugar plantation to the Texas frontier in search of his lost love and his own identity. This novel is perfect for readers who love COLD MOUNTAIN and THE INVENTION OF WINGS.
The Life and Times of Persimmon Wilson
Nancy Peacock

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

Slightly South of Simple
by Kristy Woodson Harvey
Despite swearing to never set foot back in the small Southern town of Peachtree Bluff, Caroline Murphy returns home after her marriage falls apart. Caroline's sisters soon join her in their childhood home and their mother, Ansley, begins to feel overwhelmed by her adult children. Then someone from Ansley's past shows up and the secret she's kept from her daughters for years might finally be exposed.
Slightly South of Simple
Kristy Woodson Harvey

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

The Last Ballad
by Wiley Cash
Set in the Appalachian foothills of North Carolina in 1929 and inspired by actual events, THE LAST BALLAD chronicles an ordinary woman's struggle for her dignity and rights in a textile mill. This lyrical novel also brings to life the forgotten struggle of the labor movement in early twentieth-century America, and pays tribute to the thousands of heroic women and men who risked their lives to win basic rights for all workers.
The Last Ballad
Wiley Cash

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

Southernmost
by Silas House
And the winner of most fitting title goes to SOUTHERNMOST—a stunning novel about judgment, courage, heartbreak, and chance. After a flood washes away a small Tennessee town, an evangelical preacher offers shelter to two gay men and risks losing everything: his religiously prejudiced wife, his unaccepting congregation, and his young son caught in the middle of a custody battle.
Southernmost
Silas House

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

The Twelve-Mile Straight
by Eleanor Henderson
Grab a glass of sweet tea and hunker down with this gorgeous novel set in rural Georgia during the Depression and Prohibition eras. After two babies-one with light brown skin, the other dark-are born to Elma, a white sharecropper's daughter, a black field hand is accused of having raped her and is murdered. In the years that follow, as Elma begins the difficult task of raising her babies, everyone on the farm is forced to contend with the actions that led to this man's death.
The Twelve-Mile Straight
Eleanor Henderson

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

9 Historical Novels That Offer New Perspectives of Our World

By Erin Flaaen | April 2, 2018

Close

The Summer Girls
by Mary Alice Monroe
In this enchanting story set on Sullivan's Island, South Carolina, New York Times bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe captures the complex relationships between Dora, Carson, and Harper, three half-sisters scattered across the country—and a grandmother determined to help them rediscover their family bonds. Truths are revealed, mistakes are forgiven, and precious connections are made that will endure long beyond one summer.
The Summer Girls
Mary Alice Monroe

Three sisters reunite on Sullivan’s Island off the coast of South Carolina after years of separation in this first installment of the Lowcountry Summer trilogy. Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Dorothea Benton Frank will be charmed by this heartwarming series that explores the depths and complexities of sisterhood, friendship, and forgiveness.

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

13 Oceanfront Books to Tide You Over Until Your Next Beach Vacation

By Erin Flaaen | June 8, 2017

14 Books You Need in Your Summer Beach Bag

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 7, 2016

Girl Crazy: 15 Literary Ladies You’ll Want to Know

By Aimee Boyer | March 29, 2016

Celebrate Summer With Off the Shelf!

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 25, 2015

Close

Treeborne
by Caleb Johnson
I've always loved the idea of living on an orchard. It seems so romantic to me. But life isn't that simple for Janie, the keeper of an orchard in Elberta, Alabama. As the world closes in on Elberta and threatens to destroy it, Janie tells the story of its people: her granddaddy who was determined to preserve the town's legacy at any cost, his wife whose sudden death throws everything into chaos, the black orchardist harvesting in a white locality where he is not welcome.
Treeborne
Caleb Johnson

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

Song Yet Sung
by James McBride
I'll read anything James McBride writes, and SONG YET SUNG is no exception. It's a rich, deeply affecting story about a runaway slave whose escape sets loose a chain of dramatic events among slave catchers, plantation owners, watermen, other runaway slaves, and free blacks. This is a novel about tragic triumph, violent decisions, and unexpected kindness.
Song Yet Sung
James McBride

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate
In 1939 Memphis, Rill Foss and her four sisters are wrenched from their happy family life and thrown into a cruel orphanage. In present-day South Carolina, Avery Stafford's perfect life is disrupted when a chance encounter compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. This is Southern historical fiction at its finest, and is actually based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals.
Before We Were Yours
Lisa Wingate

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

Soil
by Jamie Kornegay
SOIL is a darkly comic novel about an ambitious environmental scientist who moves his family to Mississippi to pursue his dream of cultivating new and progressive agriculture. But things don't pan out as Jay expects and he suffers financial ruin within a year. Then, a dead body appears on his farm and Jay is convinced he's being framed for murder. Drawing on elements of classic Southern noir, dark comedy, and modern dysfunction, SOIL is about the gravitational pull of one man's apocalypse and the hope that maybe, just maybe, he can be reeled in from the brink.

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

The Underground River
by Martha Conway
Set aboard a nineteenth century riverboat theater, this is the moving, page-turning story of a charmingly frank and naive seamstress who is blackmailed into saving runaways on the Underground Railroad, jeopardizing her freedom, her livelihood, and a new love.
The Underground River
Martha Conway

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

Flying Shoes
by Lisa Howorth
FLYING SHOES is the stunning debut novel from Lisa Howorth, the cofounder of Square Books in Oxford Mississippi. It's based on the unsolved case of Howorth's stepbrother. An honest and luminous portrait of a particular time and place in the South, FLYING SHOES is the story of a reluctant woman forced to revisit her stepbrother's murder when a detective calls her 30 years later.
Flying Shoes
Lisa Howorth

MENTIONED IN:

12 Southern Novels That Will Knock Your Boots Off

By Taylor Noel | July 17, 2018

Close

Want more Southern Lit? Here are 12 Overlooked Novels with Southern Roots

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create an Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.