Nan Graham

Nan Graham

Nan Graham, Publisher of Scribner, edited the memoirs DAYBOOK by Anne Truitt, THE LIARS’ CLUB by Mary Karr, THE GLASS CASTLE by Jeannette Walls, LIVING HISTORY by Hillary Rodham Clinton, and BORN STANDING UP by Steve Martin, as well as Frank McCourt’s ANGELA’S ASHES, ’TIS, and TEACHER MAN.

Posts by Nan Graham

A Miserable Childhood, A Transcendent Tale

One day in the spring of 1995, when Frank McCourt was sixty-four years old, I received a box from literary agent Molly Friedrich, containing the first 159 pages of the memoir ANGELA’S ASHES. Several of us read the pages, as Frank would say, with alacrity. And loved them, swiftly seduced by the opening sentences: “When I look back on my childhood I wonder how I survived it all. It was, of course, a miserable childhood; the happy childhood is hardly worth your while.”

Get Book