Share 7 Books to Read If You Love Elena Ferrante

7 Books to Read If You Love Elena Ferrante

Glommable is the bookish pop culture blog for bibliophiles who also love podcasts, reality TV, abusing snapchat filters, and discussing it all over a marg. We’re here to investigate all of your burning questions at the intersection of literary and pop culture: What books are our favorite TV characters reading in their spare time? From whence did #socksunday originate? How long do we actually spend coming up with tweets for bookish hashtags? It’s the kind of book blog we want to read, and we hope you’ll love it as much as we do.

It’s been more than a year since the release of the tremendously satisfying finale to the Neapolitan Quartet, THE STORY OF THE LOST CHILD, and Elena Ferrante’s name is still on everyone’s lips.

Simply put, the quartet was unlike any writing I’d encountered: an unsparing look at the frenzied, sometimes ugly interior lives of two women and how complicated, yet deep and giving, a love/hate friendship can be. It didn’t shy away, it didn’t beautify, and it propelled you forward with such ferocity that putting down the book felt like hitting the brakes and sitting, dizzied, for however many moments you needed to gather yourself.

Who wouldn’t want more of that? Here’s where to turn when everything else pales in comparison.

This post, written by Elizabeth Ireland, originally appeared on Glommable.


Frantumaglia
by Elena Ferrante

If you don’t know, now you know. Elena Ferrante’s most recent work is a nonfiction glimpse into her private writing workshop. We are truly blessed and that’s all there is to say. If you haven’t already, go read everything she’s ever written. Amen.

Frantumaglia
Elena Ferrante

If you don’t know, now you know. Elena Ferrante’s most recent work is a nonfiction glimpse into her private writing workshop. We are truly blessed and that’s all there is to say. If you haven’t already, go read everything she’s ever written. Amen.

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books to Read If You Love Elena Ferrante

By Glommable | April 6, 2017

Close

The Years That Followed
by Catherine Dunne

This thrilling novel from bestselling Irish novelist Catherine Dunne is like if you took the Neapolitan Quartet, condensed it into one novel, and separated the lives of the two leading women (who nonetheless influence one another’s lives, without even realizing it). Truly a must-read for Ferrante fans.

The Years That Followed
Catherine Dunne

This thrilling novel from bestselling Irish novelist Catherine Dunne is like if you took the Neapolitan Quartet, condensed it into one novel, and separated the lives of the two leading women (who nonetheless influence one another’s lives, without even realizing it). Truly a must-read for Ferrante fans.

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books to Read If You Love Elena Ferrante

By Glommable | April 6, 2017

Close

Nada
by Carmen Laforet

Decades before Elena Ferrante gifted us with Lenù and Lila in her Neapolitan novels, Carmen Laforet gave us Andrea in NADA. he works have a great deal in common: in both, passionate young women try to wrench themselves from the poverty and close-mindedness of their society. The specter of World War II looms over both books, along with the reality that for many that war never ended but continued on in broken hearts and crooked streets all across Europe.

Read the full review of NADA here.

Nada
Carmen Laforet

Decades before Elena Ferrante gifted us with Lenù and Lila in her Neapolitan novels, Carmen Laforet gave us Andrea in NADA. he works have a great deal in common: in both, passionate young women try to wrench themselves from the poverty and close-mindedness of their society. The specter of World War II looms over both books, along with the reality that for many that war never ended but continued on in broken hearts and crooked streets all across Europe.

Read the full review of NADA here.

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books to Read If You Love Elena Ferrante

By Glommable | April 6, 2017

A Beautiful Spanish Novel for Fans of Elena Ferrante

By Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes | October 21, 2016

Close

A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing
by Eimear McBride

Frenzied and unforgiving, this gorgeous, dark, difficult book is worth sinking into (and you will need to let yourself sink in). Just like with Ferrante’s work, I found myself not breathing for long passages at a time. Maybe not great for your physical health, but unbeatable mentally.

Read the full review of A GIRL IS A HALF-FORMED THING here.

A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing
Eimear McBride

Frenzied and unforgiving, this gorgeous, dark, difficult book is worth sinking into (and you will need to let yourself sink in). Just like with Ferrante’s work, I found myself not breathing for long passages at a time. Maybe not great for your physical health, but unbeatable mentally.

Read the full review of A GIRL IS A HALF-FORMED THING here.

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books to Read If You Love Elena Ferrante

By Glommable | April 6, 2017

A Haunting Portrait of Girlhood

By Ruby Rose Lee | November 2, 2016

Close

Housekeeping
by Marilynne Robinson

You might mistake this book for a quiet pastoral, but it’s so much bigger than that. The internal lives of the women passing through and lingering in the house near Fingerbone are by turns haunting, exhilarating, and, ultimately, profound. It’s also just a teensy bit mystical, as if the house is constantly surrounded by fog.

Housekeeping
Marilynne Robinson

You might mistake this book for a quiet pastoral, but it’s so much bigger than that. The internal lives of the women passing through and lingering in the house near Fingerbone are by turns haunting, exhilarating, and, ultimately, profound. It’s also just a teensy bit mystical, as if the house is constantly surrounded by fog.

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books to Read If You Love Elena Ferrante

By Glommable | April 6, 2017

15 Books from Ann Patchett’s Very Long List of Favorites

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 4, 2016

Close

The Art of Waiting
by Belle Boggs

I’m obsessed with books that combine memoir with cultural studies, and this one is at the top of my TBR list. In THE ART OF WAITING, Belle Boggs contemplates her own story of infertility alongside a story that unfolds through pop culture, nature, history, and more.

The Art of Waiting
Belle Boggs

I’m obsessed with books that combine memoir with cultural studies, and this one is at the top of my TBR list. In THE ART OF WAITING, Belle Boggs contemplates her own story of infertility alongside a story that unfolds through pop culture, nature, history, and more.

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books to Read If You Love Elena Ferrante

By Glommable | April 6, 2017

Close

Men Explain Things To Me
by Rebecca Solnit

Everyone felt some quiet justified rage when they finished reading Elena Ferrante’s quartet, right? Reading this essay collection was gratifying and restorative. The genius Rebecca Solnit recognizes and deconstructs scenarios that far too many women have experienced (in the titular essay, she recounts how a man once explained the plot of her own book to her). It’s funny and sad and smart and stokes a righteous anger in all the right ways.

Men Explain Things To Me
Rebecca Solnit

Everyone felt some quiet justified rage when they finished reading Elena Ferrante’s quartet, right? Reading this essay collection was gratifying and restorative. The genius Rebecca Solnit recognizes and deconstructs scenarios that far too many women have experienced (in the titular essay, she recounts how a man once explained the plot of her own book to her). It’s funny and sad and smart and stokes a righteous anger in all the right ways.

MENTIONED IN:

A Game of Books: What Would Your Favorite Game of Thrones Character Read?

By Will Rhino | July 11, 2017

7 Books to Read If You Love Elena Ferrante

By Glommable | April 6, 2017

12 Engaging Reads for Students in Life’s Classroom

By Kerry Fiallo | September 6, 2016

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create and Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.