Share 14 Books You Need in Your Summer Beach Bag

14 Books You Need in Your Summer Beach Bag

Summer’s here and at Off the Shelf our perfect summer day is spent at the beach with warm sand between our toes, an umbrella-adorned drink in hand, and a good book to keep us company. We’re packing our beach bags with these summertime reads and we’re giving one lucky winner a bookish beach bag of their own. Enter for your chance to win all fourteen of the fabulous books below!

THIS SWEEPSTAKES HAS ENDED.

Summer Beach Bag Sweeps


The Coincidence of Coconut Cake
by Amy E. Reichert
"You've Got Mail" meets HOW TO EAT A CUPCAKE in this delightful novel about a talented chef, the food critic who brings down her restaurant, and their delectable romance of mistaken identities. Delish!

Telex from Cuba
by Rachel Kushner
Visit the American community in Cuba during the years leading up to Castro’s revolution—which was a paradise for a time and for a few—through the eyes of two American children on the cusp of adolescence. Fans of Lily King’s EUPHORIA will love this haunting and compelling novel.

Eight Hundred Grapes
by Laura Dave
What if your beloved fiancé had kept a life-changing secret from you? And what if, just a week before your dream wedding, you discovered it? Georgia Ford, the bride-to-be, finds herself running away from said fiancé and back to the bosom of her family in California’s wine country. Best read while sipping a chilled rosé.

The Shipping News
by Annie Proulx
If the summer heat is getting to you, this Pulitzer Prize-winner will cool you down. THE SHIPPING NEWS is a vigorous, darkly comic, and magical portrait of a contemporary family that moves to Newfoundland where they must face their personal demons as a long winter closes in.

In a Dark, Dark Wood
by Ruth Ware
What should be a cozy and fun-filled weekend deep in the English countryside takes a sinister turn in Ruth Ware’s suspenseful, compulsive, and darkly twisted psychological thriller. Reading this alone in the dark is not recommended—but it's perfect to read on a warm, sunny day!

I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without You
by Courtney Maum
Is it possible to fall back in love with your spouse? Richard Haddon is a failed monogamist attempting to woo his wife back after realizing how deeply in love they once were. With biting wit and a deep emotional undercurrent, this reverse love story (in Paris!) is the perfect picture of an imperfect family.

The White Tiger
by Aravind Adiga
Winner of the Man Booker Prize, THE WHITE TIGER follows Balram Halwai, a poor Indian villager, on a journey through the poverty and corruption of modern India’s caste society that leads him to the zenith of Indian business culture in Bangalore.

The Truth and Other Lies
by Sascha Arango

Did you binge read LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE and THE SILENT WIFE? Well, cancel your Saturday plans because you’ll need to read this book in one sitting. Henry Hayden is a bestselling author whose wife is the brains behind his success. When she dies rather suspiciously, his carefully constructed façade begins to crumble.


The Canterbury Sisters
by Kim Wright

After her mother dies, Che reluctantly honors her last wishes and undertakes a pilgrimage to the Canterbury Cathedral. Along the trail, she finds herself opening up to new possibilities by sharing life lessons—in the best Chaucer tradition—with eight other women along the way.


Maybe in Another Life
by Taylor Jenkins Reid

This one's for everyone who has ever wanted a do-over. Pushing 30, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with her life. When she bumps into an old flame at a bar, she starts to wonder about the one that got away. In alternating chapters, we see two possible scenarios unfold—with stunningly different results.


The Witch of Painted Sorrows
by M. J. Rose

We are living for the drama of possession, power, and passion as they play out against the lavish spectacle of 1890s Belle Époque Paris in this novel. When Sandrine Salome flees New York for Paris to escape her dangerous husband, a family curse illuminates the fine line between explosive desire and complete ruination.


Wildflower Hill
by Kimberley Freeman

Fans of Santa Montefiore and Kate Morton will feel right at home with WILDFLOWER HILL, a compelling and atmospheric journey about starting over which spans three generations. Emma is a prima ballerina in London at a crossroads after an injured knee ruins her career. Her life takes an unexpected turn when she receives a strange inheritance.


The Summer Girls
by Mary Alice Monroe
Take a vacation to Sullivan’s Island in South Carolina, where three estranged half-sisters summered as girls. Determined to help them rediscover their family bonds, their grandmother brings them back together for one more Lowcountry Summer.

The Accidental Empress
by Allison Pataki
THE ACCIDENTAL EMPRESS has all the romance and court intrigue of OUTLANDER, sans the time travel. When fiften-year-old Sisi inadvertently falls for Emperor Franz Joseph (previously betrothed to her sister), she’s suddenly thrust onto the throne of Europe’s most treacherous imperial court.

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create and Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.