Share 11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

Emma Volk is a summer intern at Touchstone, a imprint of Simon & Schuster. She studies English at Columbia University and is the Design Editor for the Columbia Daily Spectator. While classics like THE GREAT GATSBY and THE HOUSE OF MIRTH will always hold a special place in her heart and on her shelf, she also enjoys a range of modern and literary fiction.

Food nourishes the body, books nourish the mind, and as far as I’m concerned, that’s about all you need. It’s only natural to merge life’s two necessities into one tasty genre: foodie fiction. Whether you’re craving espionage, romance, or lemon cake, whet your appetite on one of these eleven novels where food takes a starring role.


Delicious!
by Ruth Reichl

From food critic, chef, and bestselling memoirist Ruth Reichl comes a delectable fiction debut about a young woman who moves to New York to write for a food magazine that folds unexpectedly almost the moment she arrives. Staying on as the magazine’s sole employee to staff the subscriber-complaint hotline, she finds that the lonely job soon becomes a gateway to discovery.

Delicious!
Ruth Reichl

From food critic, chef, and bestselling memoirist Ruth Reichl comes a delectable fiction debut about a young woman who moves to New York to write for a food magazine that folds unexpectedly almost the moment she arrives. Staying on as the magazine’s sole employee to staff the subscriber-complaint hotline, she finds that the lonely job soon becomes a gateway to discovery.

MENTIONED IN:

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

Close

Kitchens of the Great Midwest
by J. Ryan Stradal

A young woman with a once-in-a-generation palate finds her solace and salvation in the flavors of her native Minnesota. From Scandinavian lutefisk to hydroponic chocolate habaneros, each ingredient represents one part of her journey as she becomes the star chef behind a legendary and secretive pop-up supper club, culminating in an opulent and emotional feast that’s a testament to her sprit and resilience.

Kitchens of the Great Midwest
J. Ryan Stradal

A young woman with a once-in-a-generation palate finds her solace and salvation in the flavors of her native Minnesota. From Scandinavian lutefisk to hydroponic chocolate habaneros, each ingredient represents one part of her journey as she becomes the star chef behind a legendary and secretive pop-up supper club, culminating in an opulent and emotional feast that’s a testament to her sprit and resilience.

MENTIONED IN:

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

Close

Like Water for Chocolate
by Laura Esquivel
By turns tragic, witty, and romantic, this is magical realism at its finest. Set in turn-of-the-century Mexico, youngest daughter Tita is forbidden by tradition to marry, so when she falls in love, she expresses her passion the only way she knows how: through cooking. Blessed with a truly magical touch in the kitchen, the food Tita prepares is imbued with the emotion she feels as she cooks, leaving those who eat it overcome by tears or overwhelmed with longing.
Like Water for Chocolate
Laura Esquivel

Food and rampant emotion are melded together in this magical realist romance in which each of the twelve sections begin with a Mexican recipe, all of which are cleverly incorporated into the plot of the book itself.

MENTIONED IN:

10 Books to Celebrate Día de los Muertos

By Amy Hendricks | October 30, 2017

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

A Woman’s Guide to Latin America in 7 Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 11, 2014

15 Delicious Books For Fans of Eating and Reading

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 30, 2014

Close

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake
by Amy E. Reichert

A chance meeting between talented chef Luella and British transplant Al leads to a budding romance. But when Luella discovers her new paramour is the writer behind the anonymous food column whose scathing review of her cooking left her restaurant facing closure, can their relationship survive? A charming tale of mistaken identity and unlikely love, this delightful tale will surely satisfy your sweet tooth.

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake
Amy E. Reichert

A chance meeting between talented chef Luella and British transplant Al leads to a budding romance. But when Luella discovers her new paramour is the writer behind the anonymous food column whose scathing review of her cooking left her restaurant facing closure, can their relationship survive? A charming tale of mistaken identity and unlikely love, this delightful tale will surely satisfy your sweet tooth.

MENTIONED IN:

14 Books You Need in Your Summer Beach Bag

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 7, 2016

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

Close

Red Sparrow
by Jason Matthews
Two young spies—one Russian, one American—engage in a high-stakes game of deception, control, and forbidden lust. But just who is manipulating who? Featuring a recipe at the end of each chapter, Jason Matthews’s debut is a tense and intriguing spy thriller that will leave you hungry for more.
Red Sparrow
Jason Matthews

Read with a Classic Martini

In this incredible first novel in the RED SPARROW trilogy set against the backdrop of modern-day Russia, Dominika Egorova is drafted to become a “Sparrow” for the Russian state intelligence. Her complex journey has all the makings of the perfect espionage tale: Moles, double lives, betrayals, and yes... even love. The only pairing that makes any sense with this book should be shaken—not stirred.

MENTIONED IN:

Best Beach Reads: 9 Books to Read While Sipping Your Favorite Beach Cocktails

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 6, 2017

15 Edgar-Winning Mystery and True Crime Books

By Sarah Jane Abbott | April 27, 2017

13 Books Bird Lovers Will Flock To

By Amy Hendricks | September 20, 2016

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

Celebrate Summer With Off the Shelf!

By Off the Shelf Staff | June 25, 2015

Close

Chocolat
by Joanne Harris
The basis of the Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp, this book explores what happens when a beautiful newcomer and her exquisite chocolate shop arrive in a tiny, old-fashioned town during Lent, accidentally sparking a dramatic face-off between Easter solemnity and the pagan gaiety of a chocolate festival. A delightful, hedonistic romp from start to finish, it is a sweet treat full of charm, wonder, and, of course, truffles.
Chocolat
Joanne Harris

The trials and triumphs of chocolatier Vianne Rocher unfold in prose as sweet as the described French confections. It doesn’t hurt to keep in mind that the main love interest is played by the swoon-worthy Johnny Depp in the eponymous movie adaption.

MENTIONED IN:

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

15 Delicious Books For Fans of Eating and Reading

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 30, 2014

Close

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
by Fannie Flagg

This fresh and folksy classic is brimming with good barbeque and Southern charm while tackling heavy subjects with grace and subtlety. In 1930s Alabama, two women run a small-town cafe with love and integrity, surviving visits from the local sheriff, the terror of the Ku Klux Klan, and the rigors of the Great Depression.

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
Fannie Flagg

This fresh and folksy classic is brimming with good barbeque and Southern charm while tackling heavy subjects with grace and subtlety. In 1930s Alabama, two women run a small-town cafe with love and integrity, surviving visits from the local sheriff, the terror of the Ku Klux Klan, and the rigors of the Great Depression.

MENTIONED IN:

I Heart the 80s: 12 Radical Reads About Everyone’s Favorite Decade

By Julianna Haubner | October 27, 2016

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

Close

The School of Essential Ingredients
by Erica Bauermeister

The healing power of food is revealed in all its glory in this spellbinding novel set in a master chef’s kitchen. Eight students sign up for weekly cooking lessons with Chef Lillian, but what she ends up teaching them is something far greater than any recipe.

The School of Essential Ingredients
Erica Bauermeister

The healing power of food is revealed in all its glory in this spellbinding novel set in a master chef’s kitchen. Eight students sign up for weekly cooking lessons with Chef Lillian, but what she ends up teaching them is something far greater than any recipe.

MENTIONED IN:

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

Close

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
Aimee Bender

MENTIONED IN:

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

A Whimsical and Imaginative Novel that Trusts in the Magically Real

By Laura McBride | June 1, 2015

Close

The Color of Tea
by Hannah Tunnicliffe

A recent and wary transplant to the bustling island of Macau, Grace’s marriage is on the rocks and she is struggling with the devastating news of her infertility. Finding solace in her love of baking, she opens a café where she begins to learn that family can be found even in the most unfamiliar of places. This delicious, melt-in-your-mouth novel is an evocative journey through love, friendship, and macarons.

The Color of Tea
Hannah Tunnicliffe

A recent and wary transplant to the bustling island of Macau, Grace’s marriage is on the rocks and she is struggling with the devastating news of her infertility. Finding solace in her love of baking, she opens a café where she begins to learn that family can be found even in the most unfamiliar of places. This delicious, melt-in-your-mouth novel is an evocative journey through love, friendship, and macarons.

MENTIONED IN:

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

Close

The Love Goddess' Cooking School
by Melissa Senate

When recently heartbroken Holly inherits her grandmother’s Italian cooking school, she takes on the challenge of teaching her mouth-watering family recipes to a new set of students, despite the fact that she cannot cook. Garnishing recipes with her grandmother’s essential ingredients of memories and wishes, a determined Holly soon comes to learn a thing or two about her own recipe for happiness.

The Love Goddess' Cooking School
Melissa Senate

When recently heartbroken Holly inherits her grandmother’s Italian cooking school, she takes on the challenge of teaching her mouth-watering family recipes to a new set of students, despite the fact that she cannot cook. Garnishing recipes with her grandmother’s essential ingredients of memories and wishes, a determined Holly soon comes to learn a thing or two about her own recipe for happiness.

MENTIONED IN:

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create and Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.