Share Celebrate Summer With Off the Shelf!

Celebrate Summer With Off the Shelf!

The weekend is approaching, the sun is shining, and Off the Shelf is heading to the beach. We are excited to set up our umbrellas, dig our toes in the sand, and while away the hours with our favorite beach reads. Each of our staff members has selected a favorite beach read, and one lucky reader will win a beach bag stuffed full of books to keep you reading throughout the summer!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This is some text!NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER/WIN. Sweepstakes begins 6/24/15 and ends 7/2/15. Open to legal residents of any 1 of the 50 US or DC who are at least 18 years old. Void where prohibited by law. Subject to full Official Rules in Terms and Conditions above. Total ARV of all prizes: $159. Odds of winning depends on the # of eligible entries received. Sponsor: Simon & Schuster, 1230 Avenue of the Americas, NY, NY 10020.


The Forgotten Garden
by Kate Morton
With Kate Morton’s latest hitting bookstores this fall, now is the time to discover this enchanting Australian author. Sweeping from the poverty-stricken alleys of Edwardian London to the shores of colonial Australia and back to Cornwall’s windswept coast, this intricately plotted tale of physical and emotional journeys is a tribute to the power of storytelling.

The Girls At the Kingfisher Club
by Genevieve Valentine

This dazzling story of love, sisterhood, and freedom reimagines the fairy tale of the Twelve Dancing Princesses as Jazz Age flappers who escape their father’s Manhattan town house each night to dance in the city’s underground speakeasies. If you loved Rules of Civility or The Paris Wife, be sure to tuck this bewitching novel into your beach bag.


The Rosie Project
by Graeme Simsion
Meet Don Tillman, a brilliant but socially inept genetics professor who designs “The Wife Project,” an evidence-based survey to find the perfect mate, but the art of love is never a science. Charming and unconventional, this bestselling romantic comedy is laugh-out-loud funny and overflowing with heart.

All the Light We Cannot See
by Anthony Doerr
Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize–winning mega-bestseller has already been spotted in Reese Witherspoon’s beach bag—and is destined to be everywhere this summer. Lyrical and ambitious, it is beloved for the way it illuminates how, against all odds, human beings try to be good to one another.

The Shell Collector
by Anthony Doerr

If you’ve already read and loved All the Light We Cannot See and are hungry for more of Anthony Doerr, his debut story collection does not disappoint. These exquisite stories take readers from the African coast to the pine forests of Montana to the moors of Finland, and explore the vast emotional landscape of the human condition.


I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without You
by Courtney Maum

Travel to Paris and London with a failed monogamist who attempts to answer the question: Is it really possible to fall back in love with your spouse? Skillfully balancing wit with a deep emotional undercurrent, this funny and touching read is perfect for fans of The Vacationers or Where’d You Go, Bernadette.


Brain on Fire
by Susannah Cahalan
This gripping memoir and medical suspense story about a young reporter’s struggle with a rare and terrifying disease is an unforgettable exploration of memory and identity, and a profoundly compelling tale of survival and perseverance.

The Flamethrowers
by Rachel Kushner
This ambitious literary novel set in Rome, New York, and the desert of the American West in the late 1970s captures the idealism and hypocrisy of art, politics, and violence—and established Rachel Kushner as a writer of spectacular talent and imagination. Fans of Jennifer Egan and Lorrie Moore will delight in this fearless and electric novel.

We Are Called to Rise
by Laura McBride
Far from the casinos and lights, the Las Vegas suburbs sprawl out into the desert. In this desolate boomtown, three desperate souls—a woman attempting to revive her marriage, a veteran just returned from Iraq, and a brave eight-year-old immigrant boy—must decide whether to give into despair or to find the courage and resilience to rise.

Red Sparrow
by Jason Matthews
Written with the insider details that only a real-life veteran CIA operative would know, this bestselling espionage thriller is sophisticated, stylish, and impossible to put down.

The Summer Girls
by Mary Alice Monroe

Three sisters reunite on Sullivan’s Island off the coast of South Carolina after years of separation in this first installment of the Lowcountry Summer trilogy. Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Dorothea Benton Frank will be charmed by this heartwarming series that explores the depths and complexities of sisterhood, friendship, and forgiveness.


Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create and Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.