Share 15 Delicious Books For Fans of Eating and Reading

15 Delicious Books For Fans of Eating and Reading

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

Nothing goes together better than reading and food and this list of great food novels and memoirs are all delicious.   The editors of our sister site, XOXO After Dark (the place for Romance!) compiled this list for us.  We only tantalized with the first 5 titles but you should hop on over to XOXO After Dark for the full list – it’s a smorgasbord of delight!  Bon Appetit!
xoxo-logo


Like Water for Chocolate
by Laura Esquivel

Food and rampant emotion are melded together in this magical realist romance in which each of the twelve sections begin with a Mexican recipe, all of which are cleverly incorporated into the plot of the book itself.

Like Water for Chocolate
Laura Esquivel

Food and rampant emotion are melded together in this magical realist romance in which each of the twelve sections begin with a Mexican recipe, all of which are cleverly incorporated into the plot of the book itself.

MENTIONED IN:

10 Books to Celebrate Día de los Muertos

By Amy Hendricks | October 30, 2017

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

A Woman’s Guide to Latin America in 7 Books

By Off the Shelf Staff | November 11, 2014

15 Delicious Books For Fans of Eating and Reading

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 30, 2014

Close

Margarita Wednesdays
by Deborah Rodriguez

Forced out of a life in Afghanistan, Debbie Rodriguez recounts her subsequent jump to Mazatlán, Mexico. Trading coffee for margaritas by the warm blue waters, and her ex-boyfriend for new friends and a new lover, the tale is as vivid as the new culture Debbie learns to embrace.

Margarita Wednesdays
Deborah Rodriguez

Forced out of a life in Afghanistan, Debbie Rodriguez recounts her subsequent jump to Mazatlán, Mexico. Trading coffee for margaritas by the warm blue waters, and her ex-boyfriend for new friends and a new lover, the tale is as vivid as the new culture Debbie learns to embrace.

MENTIONED IN:

15 Delicious Books For Fans of Eating and Reading

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 30, 2014

Close

Babette's Feast and Other Stories
by Isak Dinesen

This novella focuses on the impact of a single meal—stuffed quails in puff pastry, turtle soup, Veuve Cliquot, baba au rhum—on a small Lutheran Danish village. A contrast in decadence and asceticism, the sensuality of French cooking weaves into a tale of love and respect between a refugee and the community that takes her in.

Babette's Feast and Other Stories
Isak Dinesen

This novella focuses on the impact of a single meal—stuffed quails in puff pastry, turtle soup, Veuve Cliquot, baba au rhum—on a small Lutheran Danish village. A contrast in decadence and asceticism, the sensuality of French cooking weaves into a tale of love and respect between a refugee and the community that takes her in.

MENTIONED IN:

10 Incredible Literary Parties

By Off the Shelf Staff | December 31, 2014

15 Delicious Books For Fans of Eating and Reading

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 30, 2014

Close

Chocolat
by Joanne Harris

The trials and triumphs of chocolatier Vianne Rocher unfold in prose as sweet as the described French confections. It doesn’t hurt to keep in mind that the main love interest is played by the swoon-worthy Johnny Depp in the eponymous movie adaption.

Chocolat
Joanne Harris

The trials and triumphs of chocolatier Vianne Rocher unfold in prose as sweet as the described French confections. It doesn’t hurt to keep in mind that the main love interest is played by the swoon-worthy Johnny Depp in the eponymous movie adaption.

MENTIONED IN:

11 Delicious Food Novels to Savor

By Emma Volk | October 15, 2015

15 Delicious Books For Fans of Eating and Reading

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 30, 2014

Close

Skinny Bitch In Love
by Kim Barnouin

Delicious vegan food and a scrumptious love interest? It’s just too bad for Clem, a vegan aspiring entrepreneur, that the beautiful Zach Jeffries is a carnivorous restaurateur…who hates tofu.

Skinny Bitch In Love
Kim Barnouin

Delicious vegan food and a scrumptious love interest? It’s just too bad for Clem, a vegan aspiring entrepreneur, that the beautiful Zach Jeffries is a carnivorous restaurateur…who hates tofu.

MENTIONED IN:

15 Delicious Books For Fans of Eating and Reading

By Off the Shelf Staff | October 30, 2014

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create and Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.