Share Hannah Horvath is My Best Friend: Books to Read When Not Watching HBO’s GIRLS

Hannah Horvath is My Best Friend: Books to Read When Not Watching HBO’s GIRLS

We are passionate readers who love nothing more than discovering fantastic books and sharing them with friends. We recommend books that move us to laughter and tears—and everything in between. Trust us when we say, "You've got to read this!"

These books are perfect for fans of Lena Dunham’s popular HBO series GIRLS. From Mindy Kaling’s quirky tales of trying to “make it” in New York and Chelsea Handler’s ridiculous sex-capades, twenty-somethings in Brooklyn and beyond will get a good laugh from any of the books in this list!


I Was Told There'd Be Cake
by Sloane Crosley

Sloane Crosley is different from Abbi and Ilana in a lot of ways. She can uphold a professional career, for one. She calls Manhattan home, whereas the Broad City stars reside in grungier Gowanus. But even when she’s being a bridesmaid or volunteering at the American Museum of Natural History, Crosley’s experiences always have an amusing twist and usually end in disaster. She’s also really funny.

I Was Told There'd Be Cake
Sloane Crosley

Sloane Crosley is different from Abbi and Ilana in a lot of ways. She can uphold a professional career, for one. She calls Manhattan home, whereas the Broad City stars reside in grungier Gowanus. But even when she’s being a bridesmaid or volunteering at the American Museum of Natural History, Crosley’s experiences always have an amusing twist and usually end in disaster. She’s also really funny.

Close

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?
by Mindy Kaling
Mindy Kaling has lived many lives: the obedient child of immigrant professionals, a timid chubster afraid of her own bike, a Ben Affleck–impersonating Off-Broadway performer and playwright, and, finally, a comedy writer and actress prone to starting fights with her friends and coworkers with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it?”
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?
Mindy Kaling

This humorous memoir is a look at moments throughout Mindy Kaling’s life—from her career as an actress to her interesting dating life to having immigrant parents, she tells stories that many can relate to. She’s hilarious and this book reads like a page out of your friend’s diary.

MENTIONED IN:

8 Favorite Memoirs from Instagram’s @BooksandPolkaDots’s Bookshelf

By Megan Gardner | January 6, 2017

Reading Nora: 12 Essential Books for Every Nora Ephron Fan

By Julianna Haubner | July 5, 2016

13 Hilarious Memoirs From Our Favorite Comedians

By Leora Bernstein | March 1, 2016

7 Books for Fans of Broad City

By Meg Miller | March 19, 2015

The Funniest Books By Women In Comedy

By Off the Shelf Staff | May 29, 2014

Hannah Horvath is My Best Friend: Books to Read When Not Watching HBO’s GIRLS

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 26, 2014

Close

The Adults
Alison Espach

MENTIONED IN:

Hannah Horvath is My Best Friend: Books to Read When Not Watching HBO’s GIRLS

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 26, 2014

Close

My Horizontal Life
Chelsea Handler

MENTIONED IN:

Hannah Horvath is My Best Friend: Books to Read When Not Watching HBO’s GIRLS

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 26, 2014

Close

No One Belongs Here More Than You
by Miranda July

In Broad City’s interview with Sleater-Kinney on NPR Music, Carrie Brownstein recommended Miranda July’s new novel, The First Bad Man. We’d like to draw attention to July’s acclaimed short story collection, No One Belongs Here More Than You. July’s stories and films are known for their whimsy and awkwardness, and Broad City’s colorful, chaotic, absurd version of New York has a degree of that as well.

No One Belongs Here More Than You
Miranda July

In Broad City’s interview with Sleater-Kinney on NPR Music, Carrie Brownstein recommended Miranda July’s new novel, The First Bad Man. We’d like to draw attention to July’s acclaimed short story collection, No One Belongs Here More Than You. July’s stories and films are known for their whimsy and awkwardness, and Broad City’s colorful, chaotic, absurd version of New York has a degree of that as well.

MENTIONED IN:

7 Books for Fans of Broad City

By Meg Miller | March 19, 2015

Enter a World Where Belief is Suspended

By Hilary Krutt | September 19, 2014

Hannah Horvath is My Best Friend: Books to Read When Not Watching HBO’s GIRLS

By Off the Shelf Staff | February 26, 2014

Close

Thank you for joining our email list!

If you create and Off the Shelf account, you'll be able to save books to your personal bookshelf, and be eligible for free books and other good stuff.

Click here to create your free account.

You must be logged in to add books to your shelf.

Please log in or sign up now.